We offer in person one-on-one computer training sessions, an in-person computer training lab, and workshops on Microsoft Word, Excel, and Powerpoint. You can register online or at the library. For more information on these and other programs, please visit:
http://acfpl.libguides.com/adulteducation
You can also view the calendar of upcoming classes and events, http://acfpl.org/events-menu/library-event-calendar-menu.html.

Besides the free virtual ESL classes at the Atlantic City Free Public library, classes are also offered at Atlantic Cape Community College: https://www.atlantic.edu/academics/esl.php.

Atlantic Cape Community College (ACCC) provides HiSET testing and test prep classes. All testing takes place on the computer. To find out more information, visit their website: www.atlanticcountyonestop.com
Or visit their office:
2 S. Main St
Pleasantville, NJ 08232
609-485-0052 x4832

Atlantic Cape Community College (ACCC) provides GED testing and test prep classes. To find out more information, visit their website: www.atlantic.edu
Students can visit the Atlantic City Campus:
1535 Bacharach Blvd, Room 252
Atlantic City, NJ 08401
(609) 343-4884

I need money for college. Where do I start?
Complete an online FASFA form and use these government sites:
https://studentaid.gov/
https://studentaid.gov/h/apply-for-aid/fafsa

ACFPL offers a language learning computer-based resource, Rosetta Stone, as part of our Premium eResources; available to library card members 24/7 from anywhere you have a computer or smart phone connection.
Please also refer to our ESL and Language Learning LibGuide, http://acfpl.libguides.com/esl.

Atlantic Cape Community College provides online proctoring services. For more information, visit:
https://www.atlantic.edu/academics/online/online-proctoring.php
Students can also call the Atlantic City Campus:
(609) 343-4800
The Mays Landing (Main) Campus:
(609) 625-1111
Or the Cape May County Campus:
(609) 463-4774

The library does not offer FAX service at this time.
Items can be faxed at the following locations in Atlantic City:

Oceanside Family Success Center I (free)
Address: 201 Melrose Ave. Unit 3, Atlantic City NJ 08401
Phone: 609-236-8800

Oceanside Family Success Center II (free)
Address: 3201 Atlantic Ave, Atlantic City NJ 08401
Phone: (609) 594-4990

Atlantic City Check Cashing (paid)
Address: 1226 Atlantic Ave, Atlantic City NJ 08401
Phone: 609-348-9493

Free Faxing and Phone Calls for job related or e-government issues available at SJ Aids Alliance (Oasis) on 19 S Presbyterian Ave.

You can get documents notarized at the following locations:
Miss Audrey's Tailor & Thrift
1641 Atlantic Avenue
Atlantic City, NJ 08401

Do you have a list of local hotels?
Yes, please consult the following websites:
https://www.atlanticcitynj.com/stay/
https://maps.google.com
https://kayak.com

Access to Atlantic City newspapers is available online and can be accessed on-site when the library is open, or 24/7 to library cardholders. To locate the date of an article from 1984 to the present, researchers are encouraged to use the Online Local News Index.
The library has The Press of Atlantic City from 1895 (with a few exceptions) on microfilm that can be viewed by appointment only. There are also other area newspapers available on microfilm. The Library also has Newsbank, a full-text searchable database of The Press, from 1988 to the present, and this is available on-site only.
If you are not able to visit on-site, limited research assistance is available for a fee ($15 fee for up to 3 names or events if dates are known; $30.00 for Historical Information Search up to an hour). Appropriate fees must be pre-paid and sent along with an Archival Materials Research Request. Any requests and related information can be submitted to the Library Archivist, Jacqueline Silver-Morillo at 609-345-2269 ext. 3066.

What are this month’s Salat Prayer Times for Atlantic City?
Please consult the following websites:
www.islamicity.com/prayertimes
www.islamicfinder.org.

Find information for buses and trains in NJ and obtain schedules at: www.njtransit.com
To obtain information on how to get to a specific location, use the NJ Transit Trip Planner: www.njtransit.com/trip-planner-to

Credit Karma, www.creditkarma.com, provides truly free credit scores to consumers direct from the credit bureaus. Scores are retrieved securely with no hidden fees. Must create a free account with Credit Karma in order to obtain the score.

Request a free report from AnnualCreditReport.com, OR by calling 1-877-322-8228. You can request all three reports (i.e. Equifax, Experian and TransUnion) at once or get them one at a time.

How do I find low prices on specific products?
Please consult websites such as:
www.slickdeals.net
www.shopzilla.com
www.shopping.yahoo.com
Please also refer to our Consumer Information LibGuide, http://acfpl.libguides.com/consumer.

To view sample questions for the NJ Driver's License test, please consult the following website:
http://www.state.nj.us/mvc/Licenses/sample_knowledge_test.htm.

For the CDL manual in Spanish, please see:
https://driving-tests.org/wp-content/uploads/2015/06/NJ_CDL_Manual_espanol.pdf

Please consult the following website to register for the first time or to renew your registration: saltwaterregistry.nj.gov/‎. Registration is free.

How do I get identification if I don’t drive?
NJ residents 14 years of age and older, may apply for a non-driver photo identification. To obtain a non-driver ID card:
- Complete the front side of a non-driver ID application (BA-208 form)
- Pass the 6 Point ID requirements
- Pay $24 fee.
For more information, please consult the following website: https://www.state.nj.us/mvc/license/nondriverid.htm

PERS, TPAF, PFRS, or SPRS members must submit requests using the Member Benefits Online System (MBOS), at the following website: www.state.nj.us/treasury/pensions or the New Automated Information System at (609) 777-1777, available 24/7.

How I can get a copy of my Military Service Record (Form DD214)?
Obtain a mail-in application or order online at this website:
http://www.archives.gov/veterans/military-service-records/.

Paper Statements are only sent to workers age 60 and older if they are not already receiving Social Security benefits. To obtain a Social Security Statement Online, go to http://www.socialsecurity.gov/myaccount/ and create a My Social Security Account online by providing some personal information about yourself and then creating a username and password that you will use to access your online account. If you would like to receive your Social Security Statement by mail, please print and complete a "Request For Social Security Statement" (Form SSA-7004) and mail it to the address provided on the form. You should receive your paper Social Security Statement in the mail in four to six weeks.

How do I obtain a new or replace a lost Social Security Card?
We can print you an application or you can go to this website: http://www.ssa.gov/ssnumber/.

I need a Birth, Death, or Marriage Certificate. How do I get one?
In New Jersey, you can fill out a request online at the following website:https://www.nj.gov/health/vital/. For other states, contact BUREAU OF VITAL STATISTICS – (STATE NAME).

For Narcotics Anonymous:
https://www.na.org:443/meetingsearch/text-results.php?
country=USA&state=New+Jersey&city=Atlantic+City&zip=&street=&within=20&day=0&lang=&orderby=datetime

For Alcoholics Anonymous:
https://capeatlanticaa.org/meetings/?tsml-region=atlantic-city, which has a listing of AA and NA meetings.

To view a list of AA and NA organizations:
https://collaborationac.com/organizations/community-groups, which has a listing of local AA organizations.

For information on the Affordable Care Act and how it will impact you, please consult the following websites:
LSNJ LAW How Will the Affordable Care Act Impact You? http://www.lsnjlaw.org/Health-Care/Affordable-Care-Act/Pages/ACA-Impact-You.aspx
Center for Consumer Information and Insurance Oversight, www.cms.gov/CCIIO.

Charity Care is available in NJ (New Jersey Hospital Care Payment Assistance Program). Must apply at hospital in NJ where care was received. In Atlantic City, apply at the Atlanticare Healthplex:
1401 Atlantic Avenue
Atlantic City, NJ 08401
(609) 572-6000
For questions about Charity Care, please see the LSNJ publication New Jersey’s Charity Care Program at:
https://www.nj.gov/health/charitycare/documents/NJ%20Charity%20Care%20Fact%20Sheet_Feb2018%20(English).pdf

To find trusted medical information, please consult these government run websites:
http://www.nlm.nih.gov/medlineplus/
http://www.nlm.nih.gov/
http://healthfinder.gov/

How can I find an affordable apartment?
Please search the following websites:
Affordable Apartment Search for New Jersey, maintained by HUD: https://www.hud.gov/states/new_jersey/renting
New Jersey Housing Resource Center (NJHRC):
http://nj.gov/njhrc/
Atlantic City Housing:
https://www.atlanticcityha.org/

How do I apply for public housing?
You must apply online at:
https://njatlanticcity2.tenmast.com/apply/

Can you help me find resources to avoid foreclosure?
Information is available at these sites:
https://www.hud.gov/topics/avoiding_foreclosure/avoiding_foreclosure (includes information on Making Homes Affordable)
http://www.hud.gov/offices/hsg/sfh/hcc/fc/.

Where do I get divorce forms?
Obtain a packet at the Atlantic County Law Library at the Atlantic County Civil Courts Building:
1201 Bacharach Blvd, 3rd Floor
Atlantic City, NJ 08401
(609) 345-6700

To view a free divorce guide, visit:
https://proxy.lsnj.org/rcenter/GetPublicDocument/Sites/LAW/Documents/Publications/Manuals/Divorce.pdf

What if I can’t afford a lawyer?
You can apply for legal assistance at the South Jersey Legal Services website: www.lsnj.org/sjls
You can also call or visit their office:
1300 Atlantic Avenue
Mezzanine Floor
Atlantic City, NJ 08401
(609) 348-4200

Please consult the following websites:
https://www.irs.gov/filing/free-file-do-your-federal-taxes-for-free
https://www.irs.gov/forms-instructions
Also, during tax season, the AARP Tax Aide Program is available for those eligible online at: https://www.aarp.org/money/taxes/aarp_taxaide/

How do I appeal my property taxes in Atlantic City/County?
A property owner may appeal his tax assessment by filing a Petition of Appeal. The appeal must be received by the county Board of Taxation on or before April 1 of the tax year.
For more information, please consult the Atlantic County Board of Taxation website http://www.aclink.org/taxation/.

What is the current Tax Rate for Atlantic City or other Atlantic County towns?
Please consult the following website: https://www.atlantic-county.org/documents/taxation/TaxRate2022.pdf.

You can obtain a copy of your 1099-G by going to https://nj.gov/labor/myunemployment/ and going to the claim status tool.

Please apply online at this website:
https://nj.gov/labor/myunemployment/

Both Yahoo and Gmail require a phone number to set up an account; Mail.com does not require a phone number.
- Go to the following website: www.mail.com
- Go to the "Sign Up" button in the upper right hand side of the page.
- Create new account, choose a username and password that is unique to you. Passwords need to be at least six characters.
- Write down your ID and password and keep them in a safe place.
- After reading the Terms and Conditions, select "Create an email account now".

You can use the computers at ACFPL to work on job applications, resumes and job searches. ACFPL also offers a bi-weekly Walk-In Job Skills Lab on Saturdays from 9:30 AM - 12 PM where you can get help with your resume, cover letter, job search, or anything else job related.
Please also see the Jobs4jersey website, http://www.jobs4jersey.com/, which offers listings of jobs and help with resumes.

Please refer to these wesbites.
Jobs4Jersey:
http://jobs4jersey.com
Atlantic City Press:
https://www.myshorejobs.com/#trackingsource=main-nav.

Although we cannot write your resume, you can attend our bi-weekly Walk-In Job Skills Lab on Saturdays from 9:30 AM - 12 PM where you can get help with your resume, cover letter, job search, or anything else job related.
You can create a resume using guides on this website, at Jobs4jersey.com.
In addition, Job & Career Accelerator and Learnfree.org provide resume samples.

To upload your resume to an online application, you first need to download your document either a PDF file or a Microsoft Word file. The file type you download will depend on what the employer is requesting. With your resume open, click the Download button for the appropriate format--Word or PDF.
Now you should see a message "Your document is ready for download." Click the "Click Here" link.
A new window will open that asks if you'd like to Open or Save your document. Select the Save option and chose a location on your computer to save the file--e.g. the desktop to make sure it's easy to find, save it to your desktop.
Now that the document is saved to your computer, you can upload it to the application. Click the Browse button on the application's upload page to display your computer files. Then, double click on the file that you wish to upload.

Civil service jobs for Atlantic City can be located at http://www.cityofatlanticcity.org, and Civil Service jobs in New Jersey can be located at http://www.nj.gov/csc/seekers/jobs/.
Entry-Level Fire Fighter Announcement
The Entry-Level Fire Fighter announcement closed on August 31, 2015. The Fire Fighter Orientation Guide, which outlines the testing process, along with ways in which candidates can prepare for the exam, can be found here. Testing is currently planned for the Fall of 2015.

I am interested in also applying for other entry
level law enforcement titles. When will I
have the opportunity to apply for the Entry -
Level Law Enforcement examination (LEE)?
The next LEE announcement will be issued on July 1, 2016. Applications will be accepted until August 31, 2016, online only. This is the link for the Law Enforcement Entry Law Exam--http://info.csc.state.nj.us/vats/WebAnno.aspx?FileNumber=22991 . At the end of this application is the link to apply via the Online Application System, which is the only way to apply.

Usually, you can just type a phone number into Google or your favorite search engine. You can also consult the following online phone directory:
www.whitepages.com

The Atlantic Homeless Alliance offers a Single Point of Entry System, which simplifies access to services in Atlantic County. This Single Point of Entry will offer the following services:
- Benefits
- Case management
- Food and clothing
- Housing
- Mental health treatment
- Primary care service
- Etc.
Visit the office in the Atlantic County Office Building:
1333 Atlantic Avenue, 1st Floor
Monday – Friday
8:30 am – 2:00 pm
609-343-2282

How can I get a free cell phone?
Please consult the following websites:
https://www.assurancewireless.com/
https://www.safelinkwireless.com/

How Do I Apply for Head Start and Early Head Start?
You must apply to a Head Start or Early Head Start program in your community, closest to where you live. Your local program will provide the required forms and answer your questions. To apply or view more information, visit the Head Start website:
https://www.gatewaycap.org/headstart

How do I apply for Medicaid in NJ?
Medicaid is available only to certain low-income individuals and families who fit into an eligibility group that is recognized by federal and state law. Go to the following website to apply or check your eligibility: https://njfamilycare.dhs.state.nj.us/apply.aspx

How do I apply for food stamps, emergency cash and/or Medicaid in New Jersey?
You can apply for all types of assistance at the following website: https://www.mynjhelps.gov/home.

Are You Eligible for Assistance?
NJHelps can help you determine what programs and assistance you and your family may be eligible for, such as: food stamps, utility assistance, health insurance and more. To apply for assistance or check your eligibility, go to: https://www.njhelps.org/

Please consult the Small Business Development Center at Stockton College. or refer to their website at http://www.njsbdc.com/ to fill out an electronic request for counseling.

Please consult https://www.dmlp.org/legal-guide/forming-nonprofit-corporation-new-jersey

How can I get help in creating a business plan?
Please consult the following websites:
https://www.sba.gov/business-guide
http://www.bplans.com/