LibGuides: Small Business: Starting & Financing a Small Business

Premium eResources

Free with Your Library Card

Small Business Reference Center (JerseyClicks)
The Small Business Reference Center is a comprehensive resource for small business owners and those interested in starting a business, offering full-text periodicals and reports, sample business plans, U.S. tax forms, videos and reference books. It supports small business owners in all relevant areas from planning, financing and managing a business to exit strategies. Users also have the ability to search within specific ‘Business Topics’ and ‘Business Types’ relevant to their needs.
Reference Solutions (JerseyClicks)
Reference USA is a great source of information on small and local businesses, including both private and public. Good for identifying competitors for your business plan.
Business Source Elite (JerseyClicks)
This business database provides full text for over 1,000 business publications. The rich collection of titles in Business Source Elite provides information dating back to 1985. More than 10,100 substantial company profiles from Datamonitor are also included. This database is updated on a daily basis via EBSCOhost.
Regional Business News (JerseyClicks)
This database provides comprehensive full text coverage for regional business publications. Regional Business News incorporates coverage of 75 business journals, newspapers and newswires from all metropolitan and rural areas within the United States. This database is updated on a daily basis.

New Jersey Resources

NJ Business Action Center

The NJ Business Action Center provides business support and resources.

Business Helpline: 1-800-Jersey-7 (1-800-537-7397)

What they offer:

Can assist with applying for the NJSTEP grant, which helps eligible small businesses participate in internationally-focused trade shows or trade missions.
Project management services from knowledgeable business advocates to guide your company through complex projects, government incentive grant and financing programs, approvals, and grant compliance.
Connect you with expert consultants and facilitators for workforce training grants, talent recruitment, and energy efficiency programs.
Connect you with government support for businesses seeking state and local permits and regulatory approvals.
Business Help Line offers guidance on small business issues including small and minority business certifications, licensing and financing programs.
Help Line can help find resources following hurricanes, storms, and other disasters.
Redevelopment guidance and government agency coordination for municipalities and developers.

BUSINESS.NJ.GOV

Business.NJ.gov is your one-stop for learning about State and sometimes federal and local opportunities and regulations in New Jersey. Explore a rich library of content on registering, hiring, funding and more.

Offers:

Resources
One-on-one support
Navigator: Create your free, personalized guide to register and find funding for your New Jersey or out-of-state business.

Small Business Help

New Jersey Small Business Development Center at Stockton College in Atlantic City
Free, comprehensive start-up and management counseling & affordable training to the small business communities in Atlantic County. Call Carol Waites at (609) 626-3889. Located at Carnegie Library, Atlantic City, 35 S. Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd., Atlantic City, NJ
Minority Owned Businesses
SBA’s 8(a) Business Development program can help qualifying minority-owned firms develop and grow their businesses with one-to-one counseling, training, and management guidance. The following minority groups are presumed to be socially and economically disadvantaged and can qualify for the 8(a) program, including: African Americans, Hispanic Americans, Native Americans, Asian Pacific Americans and Subcontinent Asian Americans.
Women's Center for Entrepreneurship Corporation (WCEC)
The Women’s Center for Entrepreneurship helps women achieve business success through education, consulting and entrepreneurial training. The center serves women across the state by providing over 150 classes, seminars and consulting sessions each year; , including loan packaging and business plan reviews for women business owners at three levels--Start-up, Experienced businesses looking to grow, and Undeserved populations.
SBDCnet
Website for SBDC consultants contains a wealth of great business links.
NJSBDC Counseling
They offer Free one-on-one Business Counseling; Low-cost seminars and workshops; Support, assistance for existing and start up businesses. You must register to receive free counseling.
NJ Small Business Manual
This small business manual provides information and guidance on establishing, maintaining and expanding a small business.

Starting a Business

Small Business Administration: Starting a Business
Resources you need to get your business started. Whether you’re sitting down to write your business plan, wondering about your legal obligations, or researching your financing options, you’ll find the information you need here.
Business Owner's Toolkit
Offers resources for small businesses, including a detailed guidebook, business checklists and forms, human resource help, and interactive questions with a consultant.
IRS Starting a business
Links to basic federal tax information for people who are starting a business, as well as information to assist in making basic business decisions. The list should not be construed as all-inclusive. Other steps may be appropriate for your specific type of business.
My Own Business
Free online course geared toward the entrepreneur who wants to start his or her own business, and the individual who has an established small business and would like to see that business grow and expand.

Local Resources

SCORE Southeast NJ

SCORE Southeast NJ is the local chapter of the National SCORE nonprofit association dedicated to educating entrepreneurs and helping small businesses start, grow, and succeed nationwide.

SCORE offers free of charge:

One-on-one mentoring
Business workshops (virtual and in-person)
Business resources

PHONE:(732) 505-6033 EMAIL: info.southeastnj@scorevolunteer.org

Latin American Economic Development Association (LAEDA)

LAEDA is a not for profit economic development organization dedicated to assisting emerging entrepreneurs and small business owners to start and grow their businesses in Camden, Burlington, Gloucester, Atlantic and Cumberland counties in New Jersey.

Offers:

Training programs, seminars, and workshops
Business counseling
Resources

For More Information: Call 856-338-1177 or email info@laeda.com

LAEDA Women's Business Center

LAEDA Women’s Business Center was founded by the Latin American Economic Development Association, Inc. (LAEDA) in response to its experience working with women entrepreneurs and their impact on local and wider economies. The WBC recognizes that women entrepreneurs face unique barriers to starting and operating small businesses and accessing capital.

PHONE: 856-338-1177 EMAIL: wbc@laeda.com

Atlantic County Clerk's Office

File a Trade Name Certificate: All new businesses established in Atlantic County must file a Trade Name Certificate with the County Clerk’s Office.

Funding for Business

ACCION USA Loans for Small Businesses
ACCION USA offers flexible loans (up to $50,000) and provides affordable alternatives to high-cost sources of capital, such as credit cards, factoring, or predatory lenders.
Amber Grants for Women in Business
Our primary focus is helping women who are trying to start small businesses, home-based or online. The grants are small, usually $500 to $1000, and are meant to be used to upgrade equipment, pay for a web site etc - the small but essential expenses that can often make the difference between getting started or being stalled. No repayment is required, although it is hoped that you you will pass on the kindness by mentoring and helping others along the way.
Hands On Banking
Maximize your chances for success and minimize your financial risks.
Idea Cafe's Advice on Getting a Small Business Grant
You've got a great biz idea and everybody says you can get a government grant to launch the biz. However, the reality is that the government doesn't easily give grants. Yes, the federal government gives grants, but not to folks just to follow their dream; they give money to state and local agencies and nonprofit organizations to accomplish the government's goals. Get past the jargon and go direct to sources of government help we help you dig into the SBA, CFDA, SBIR STTR Grant Programs.
Ladies who Launch
Ladies Who Launch's (LWL) mission is to celebrate, elevate and empower a global community of women and non-binary small business owners and entrepreneurs to grow and sustain the businesses of their dreams. Whether based in a small town or a big city, we provide access to free, high-quality educational resources, capital opportunities, networking with peers and experts, and a close-knit community.
Minority Business Development Agency (MBDA)
The Minority Business Development Agency, a part of the U.S. Department of Commerce, and is the only federal agency created specifically to foster the establishment and growth of minority-owned businesses. MBDA does not provide loans or grants to start or expand a business. The grants MBDA provides are to organizations that operate MBDA's Minority Business Centers in the United States. These organizations provide business consulting, and financial assistance to minority-owned firms.
more...less...
New York Region Office (covers PA and NJ)

New York National Enterprise Center
26 Federal Plaza Room 3720
New York, NY 10278
Telephone: 212-264-3262 | Fax: 212-264-0725 | nyro-info@mbda.gov

Philadelphia Area Manager
Contact: Alfonso Jackson | 347-498-4832
Small Business Administration (Office of Women's Business Ownership)
The SBA is doing more than ever to help level the playing field for women entrepreneurs, who still face unique obstacles in the world of business. At every stage of developing and expanding a successful business, the Office of Women's Business Ownership is here to counsel, teach, encourage and inspire. Check out their "Hot List" of outside resources.
Small Business Fund
The NJEDA has a long history of supporting growth in New Jersey for businesses of all sizes, but support of small to mid-sized businesses has always been one of our top priorities. With the creative and versatile loan solutions available to small to mid-sized businesses through the NJEDA, now is an opportune time to contact NJEDA to determine if any of our programs may be the right fit for your small to mid-sized business needs.
Women and Minority Business
Free grants and loans for women and minority businesses

The Atlantic City Free Public Library

Small Business: Starting & Financing a Small Business