Get all the information you need to choose a career, find a job, write a resume or cover letter and so much more! This guide provides a sampling of the materials available on this subject. To view more visit the library or browse the catalog.
Last Updated: Mar 9, 2014
Are you NEW to the JOB SEARCH process? Take a look at these guides that provide comprehensive listings of job search and career information resources and services on the Web.
- Atlantic City Classified Ads
Job classified ads from the Press of Atlantic City.
- Career Builder
One of the largest employment network for employers, recruiters and job seekers. This site works with major newspaper markets to list jobs locally and nationally. Find jobs, post resumes and get advice on the job search process.
- Craig's List Job Classifieds
A good source for local job listings and "gigs" in South Jersey.
For those looking for a new job, real information about salaries and workplace environments can be nearly impossible to find. Glassdoor offers a free insiders' look at more than 28,000 companies with salary details, company reviews, and interview questions — all posted anonymously by employees and job seekers.
This job search engine includes millions of job listings from thousands of web sites, including company career pages, job boards, newspaper classifieds, and associations. Job seekers may also search for job trends and salaries, participate in discussion forums, and research companies.
LinkUp lists jobs straight from company websites and then continuously validates that they’re still posted. You can also set up job alerts, and get RSS results of a search.
Monster is now the largest online jobs database with more than 400,000 job opportunities, in the U. S. as well as internationally (now includes Hot Jobs). You can search by company name, location, discipline, industry, job title, or a combination of these.
Net-Temps is the leading job board for temporary, temp-to-perm and full time employment through the staffing industry.
Leading source for hourly and part-time jobs.Search by zip code for local jobs near you.
VetJobs is the leading Internet niche job board catering to the 10.5 million military veterans currently in the work force, as well as those transitioning from the military to the civilian workforce. VetJobs has received the WEDDLE's User's Choice Award every year since 2004, making it one of the Top 30 career sites on the Internet.
Use these resources in the library as a guest or from any internet connection with your library card.
Job & Career Accelerator will help you get your job search into high gear.
- Obtaining an eMail Address
Yahoo doesn’t require a code sent as a text message to a cell phone; Gmail does.
Go to the following website: www.yahoo.com
Go to the mail icon in the upper right hand side of the page.
Create new account.
Choose a username and password that is unique to you. Passwords need to be at least six characters.
Write down your Yahoo Ids and passwords and keep them in a safe place.
Once all of the personal information has been entered, click “Create my account.”
- How do I upload my resume to an online application?
To upload your resume to an online application, you first need to download your document as a PDF file or a Microsoft Word file. The file type you need to download will depend on what the employer is requesting.
With your resume open, click the Download button for the appropriate format--Word or PDF.
Now you should see a message "Your document is ready for download." Click the "Click Here" link.
A new window will open that asks if you'd like to Open or Save your document. Select the Save option and chose a location on your computer to save the file--e.g. the desktop so that its you want to make sure it's easy to find, save it to your desktop.
Now that the document is saved to your computer, you can upload it to the application. Click the Browse button on the application's upload page to display your computer files. Then, double click on the file that you wish to upload.
- Jobs 4 Jersey
Jobs4jersey is a quick and easy portal from the US Dept of Labor. Jobs4Jersey’s OnRamp job search tool analyzes and compares your resume to the resumes of thousands of successful job-seekers in order to bring you successful job searches, and career transitions. OnRamp also provides customized, real-time, job leads, . In a hurry? -- upload or paste an existing resume onto OnRamp and it can analyze your resume and suggest additional skills and qualifications that you may not have considered. If you don't have a resume yet, then let OnRamp help; writing is not required – instead, OnRamp interviews you and suggests skills and job function descriptions you may not have thought to include that highlight your unique skills. OnRamp also ensures that your resume includes key words and phrases that employers look for in resumes.
- Atlantic City Career Center
View available job listings for the City of Atlantic City.
- Atlantic County One Stop
2 South Main Street
Pleasantville, NJ 08232
M-F 8:30 AM-4:30PM
Public access to One-Stop computers for posting resumes and for jobs. Resource library with information on careers, many occupations, training opportunities, job search tools & appointments with Employment Interviewers.
- Atlantic County Supported Work Program
P.O. Box 1107, 1227 Drexel Ave.
Atlantic City, NJ 08404
(609) 343-2284 Atlantic City, NJ 08404
Provides a structured transitional work experience and training in basic life skills and job search techniques to help ex-offenders, recovering substance abusers, school dropouts etc. obtain employment in the private sector. This work environment provides close supervision, peer group support and graduated stress. Need A Job!
Call Vikki 609 343-2284.
- Atlantic County Women's Center (ACWC) - WomenSource Training Institute
P.O. Box 311
Northfield, NJ 08225
(609) 646-4441 or (609) 646-1177
Atlantic County Women's Center WomenSource Training Institue offers training, workshops and programs such as Child Development Associate certification, Domestic Violence Specialist training, and Parenting PLUS!, a comprehensive parenting education program.
- Atlantic County Women's Center (ACWC) Home To Work Program
1201 New Road
Cornerstone Commerce Center
Linwood, NJ 08221
Displaced Homemakers Services
Phone: (609) 601-9925
Offers services related to the loss of income due to the sudden disability of a partner, separation, divorce or widowhood. Counselors are available to guide women back into the workforce.
- NJ Civil Service Jobs
Formerly DOP, now Civil Service Commission) View state, county, and municipal government job announcements including Firefighters and Law Enforcement applications.
- New Jersey State Library Virtual Career Center
Find resources to assist you with all your educational and employment goals. Specific Employment Resources provide career information targeted for specific populations.
- American Job Center
This site provides a single access point - open 24-7 - to key federal programs and local resources to help people find a job, identify training programs, and obtain new skills in growing industries.
150 best jobs for the military-to-civilian transition
This one-of-a-kind book based on a survey of 15 million veterans helps today's returning military find the best job matches for their training, interests, personalities, and genders. With 45 best jobs lists and 150 detailed job descriptions, the book covers the best-paying and fastest-growing occupations held by recent veterans. Veterans can transition to these jobs using the skills they learned during their service.
Cracking the new job market : the 7 rules for getting hired in any economy
Cracking the New Job Market" shows how the rules for finding professional work have changed and delivers new job-hunting strategies that actually work. The key now is to sell yourself on the value you can create for an employer, rather than focusing on past accomplishments. This new approach to getting hired requires new skills, and HR insider, Holland, shows job seekers how to: get information on what a prospective employer finds important; emphasize those skills and accomplishments in tailored resumes; and use the networking power of social media.
Knock 'em dead 2013: the ultimate job search guide.
Martin Yate takes you on a journey of discovery that will change the course of your life. First the book offers proven strategies for obtaining your next job, and then provides advice on how to successfully navigate the twists and turns of your whole career.
The 2-hour job search : using technology to get the right job faster
Through a prescriptive approach, Dalton explains how to create a job-search system that relies on mainstream technology such as Excel, Google, LinkedIn, and alumni databases to create a list of target employers, contact them, and then secure an interview—with only two hours of effort. Avoiding vague tips like “leverage your contacts,” Dalton tells job-hunters exactly what to do and how to do it.
The Start-Up of You
Here, LinkedIn cofounder Reid Hoffman shows how to manage your career as if it were a start-up business: a "start-up of you". Why? Start-ups - and the people who run them - are nimble, they invest in themselves, they build their professional networks, take intelligent risks, and make uncertainty and volatility work to their advantage. These are the same skills needed by professionals to get ahead in the current competitive job market.
What color is your parachute 2013 : a practical manual for job-hunters and career-changers 2013
In order to tailor his authoritative guide to the current job- market, Bolles not only updates the book each year, but he also reconceives it, reinvents it, and rewrites it, so that one year’s edition is often vastly different from the previous year, and that is the case with the 2013 edition. Inventions in the book this year include a brand-new transferable skills grid, a novel way to discover what fields you would most like to work in, and a revamped version of his famed self-inventory instrument, the Flower Exercise. With new insights into resumes, networking, interviewing, and social media, What Color Is Your Parachute? has everything you need to dust off your motivation and find your dream job.
Are you facing UNEMPLOYMENT? Get information and instructions from the NJ Department of Labor and Workforce Development on filing a new or reopening an existing NJ Unemployment Insurance Claim. OR File for Unemployment by Phone. To file continued claim by phone for Atlantic City, call 609-441-7581, or file online.
I Lost My Job.com is an e-resource for people coping with and recovering from job loss, and provides both articles and links to job loss recovery resources. There are articles about coping with job loss, getting started with a job search, starting a resume or updating your current resume, and more.
This exam covers the following jobs:
Municipal Police Officer
County Police Officer
County Correction Officer
Closing Date: 09/04/2013
You must apply online