ACFPL is working to make your business work. Take advantage of these valuable business resources. This guide provides a sampling of the materials available on this subject. To view more visit the library or browse the catalog.
Last Updated: May 31, 2014
- Minority Owned Businesses
SBA’s 8(a) Business Development program can help qualifying minority-owned firms develop and grow their businesses with one-to-one counseling, training, and management guidance. The following minority groups are presumed to be socially and economically disadvantaged and can qualify for the 8(a) program, including: African Americans, Hispanic Americans, Native Americans, Asian Pacific Americans and Subcontinent Asian Americans.
- New Jersey Small Business Development Center at Stockton College in Atlantic City
Free, comprehensive start-up and management counseling & affordable training to the small business communities in Atlantic County. Call Joe Molineaux at
- New Jersey Women's Micro-Business Credit Program
Participants learn how to start, market, or expand their small business as well as increase their business skills via training and mentoring opportunities. Eligible participants may apply for a loans
Website for SBDC consultants contains a wealth of great business links.
- Southern New Jersey Score
They offer Free one-on-one Business Counseling; Low-cost seminars and workshops; Support, assistance for existing and start up businesses. Call to make an appointment with a Score Counselor at: (856) 457-8372 or request a mentor online.
NJ Business: Starting a Business
Find information you’ll need to select the proper business type for your circumstances, register your corporation or LLC and register your new business for tax purposes.
- Small Business Administration: Starting a Business
Resources you need to get your business started. Whether you’re sitting down to write your business plan, wondering about your legal obligations, or researching your financing options, you’ll find the information you need here.
- Business Owner's Toolkit
Offers resources for small businesses, including a detailed guidebook, business checklists and forms, human resource help, and interactive questions with a consultant.
Whether you’re sitting down to write your business plan, wondering about your legal obligations, or researching your financing options, you’ll find the information you need right here.
- IRS Starting a business
Links to basic federal tax information for people who are starting a business, as well as information to assist in making basic business decisions. The list should not be construed as all-inclusive. Other steps may be appropriate for your specific type of business.
- My Own Business
Free online course geared toward the entrepreneur who wants to start his or her own business, and the individual who has an established small business and would like to see that business grow and expand.
Small Business Resource Center: Get guidance for starting a business. This database makes finding the best entrepreneurial information available quick and easy, beginning with business plans & start-up basics.
Reality check! : There are very few grants available for starting or expanding a business unless the business involves research and development or high technology. Many grants have caveats, such as:
- They are available only for specific groups of people--e.g. Research and Development for high technology, biotechnology,energy related products, and grants for people who will locate their business in a poor area and employ the people living there.
- There is stiff competition.
- You often have to provide a personal guarantee (i.e. your house) and/or provide 10-30% of the finances from your own resources (e.g. savings, loans from relatives).
- You can explore the SBA's list of Federal Grant Resources, but you'll soon realize that most grants are not available for the typical business.
Here's what the Small Business Administration says about the pervasive idea that they give out grants to businesses: "SBA does not offer grants to start or expand small businesses. SBA's grant programs generally support non-profit organizations, intermediary lending institutions, and state and local governments in an effort to expand and enhance small business technical and financial assistance."
- ACCION USA Loans for Small Businesses
ACCION USA offers flexible loans (up to $50,000) and provides affordable alternatives to high-cost sources of capital, such as credit cards, factoring, or predatory lenders.
- Amber Grants for Women in Business
Our primary focus is helping women who are trying to start small businesses, home-based or online. The grants are small, usually $500 to $1000, and are meant to be used to upgrade equipment, pay for a web site etc - the small but essential expenses that can often make the difference between getting started or being stalled. No repayment is required, although it is hoped that you you will pass on the kindness by mentoring and helping others along the way.
- Hands On Banking
Maximize your chances for success and minimize your financial risks.
- Idea Cafe's Guide to Government Grants
You've got a great biz idea and everybody says you can get a government grant to launch the biz. However, the reality is that the government doesn't easily give grants. Yes, the federal government gives grants, but not to folks just to follow their dream; they give money to state and local agencies and nonprofit organizations to accomplish the government's goals. Get past the jargon and go direct to sources of government help we help you dig into the SBA, CFDA, SBIR STTR Grant Programs.
- Locating and Getting the Money You Need to Start a Business
Practical advice on start-up funding from Womanowned.com
- Minority Business Development Agency (MBDA)
The Minority Business Development Agency, a part of the U.S. Department of Commerce, and is the only federal agency created specifically to foster the establishment and growth of minority-owned businesses. MBDA does not provide loans or grants to start or expand a business. The grants MBDA provides are to organizations that operate MBDA's Minority Business Centers in the United States. These organizations provide business consulting, and financial assistance to minority-owned firms.
- Small Business Administration (Office of Women's Business Ownership)
The SBA is doing more than ever to help level the playing field for women entrepreneurs, who still face unique obstacles in the world of business. At every stage of developing and expanding a successful business, the Office of Women's Business Ownership is here to counsel, teach, encourage and inspire. Check out their "Hot List" of outside resources.
- Atlantic City Community Loan Program
If you are an existing Atlantic City business owner seeking to grow your business, or if you would like to open a new business, the Atlantic City Community Loan Program can help. The loan program consists of SBA-guaranteed loans structured to meet specific needs. This loan program is the first ever community lending initiative established by the City of Atlantic City to help provide access to financing and assist residents, business owners and entrepreneurs.
How to start a business in New Jersey
The second edition of this valuable guide has been completely redesigned for easier use, putting all the state-specific information in one block of chapters. Provides essential guidance to entrepreneurs, including rules, regulations, contacts, and statistics just for New Jersey.
Rich Dad's Before You Quit Your Job
Publication Date: 2012-12-18
The tenth book in the series provides firsthand accounts of the author's startup companies, what he learned from his successes and failures, and other topics a reader needs to know in order to start a company and quickly develop it.
Starting an online business for dummies
Have a computer, an Internet connection, and a dream? Then this book can help you start your very own online business. Starting an Online Business For Dummies, 7th Edition will show you how to identify a market need, choose a web hosting service, implement security and privacy measures, open up shop, and start promoting to the world. It covers the latest trends and techniques for online discoverability - from social media marketing to search engine rankings, online couponing to optimization for mobile devices, and beyond.
Walks you through the best practices of successful online businesses, including customer service, marketing, analytics, and website optimization tools
Provides advice on selecting an e-commerce platform, protecting your domain name, obtaining trademarks, working with vendors and keeping your customer's personal data safe.
The small business start-up kit
User-friendly and loaded with tips, The Small Business Start-Up Kit shows you how to launch a business quickly, and easily. It explains in plain English how to:
Select the best business structure
Write an effective business plan
File the right forms in the right place
Manage your finances
Be prepared for, and file, required taxes
Reach customers online
This edition of The Small Business Start-Up Kit has been fully updated to reflect the latest changes to the law and includes all the updated forms, business planning spreadsheets, and the instructions you need to fill them out. Plus, read expanded discussions on using technology to manage bookkeeping, how social media can be used to promote your business, and employing the latest techniques in search engine optimization to drive traffic to your website.
The complete idiot's guide to starting your own business
This Sixth Edition of "The Complete Idiot's Guide to Starting Your Own Busness" has been newly revised for the ever-changing world of business, and offers stress-free guidance for anyone who wants to turn a good idea into a good business. Provides new content on developing social media and web strategies, plus more than a 100 documents available at idiotsguides.com that offer time-saving ideas.