It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The New Jersey State Library provided a one year subscription to B&T Axis 360 ebooks with funding from the federal CARES Act. This collection will be hosted free of charge by B&T for three years, extending our subscription through October 14, 2023.
This business database provides full text for over 1,000 business publications. The rich collection of titles in Business Source Elite provides information dating back to 1985. More than 10,100 substantial company profiles from Datamonitor are also included. This database is updated on a daily basis via EBSCOhost.
Help for patrons and students to learn the fundamentals of computers, the internet and popular software applications with Computer Skills, a user-friendly e-learning platform from EBSCO LearningExpress that contains more than 100 self-paced video tutorials.
Computer Skills Training That Works
Self-paced online tutorials
Beginner to advanced levels
Easy-to-follow and learn from multimedia videos
Gain proficiency in popular software applications
Progress rapidly using self-directed videos
Anytime, anywhere online access
Computer and internet basics, including social media
Popular Microsoft software applications, including Access, Excel and Office 365
Popular Adobe graphics and illustration tools, including Photoshop
Windows Operating Systems
ERIC, the Educational Resource Information Center, is a national information system supported by the U.S. Department of Education, the National Library of Education, and the Office of Educational Research and Improvement. It provides access to information from journals included in the Current Index of Journals in Education and Resources in Education Index.
Provides scholarly, government and general-interest sources covering the environmental effects of individuals, corporations and governments and what can be done at each level to minimize negative impacts.
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition is a trusted full-text database covering nursing and allied health topics, including pediatric nursing, critical care, mental health, nursing management, medical law and more.
Heritage Quest is a new electronic resource licensed by the State Library in 2019 that will be available to public, school and academic libraries. Heritage Quest Online is a comprehensive treasury of American genealogical resources that will help New Jersey residents find their ancestors.
The Image Collection database consists of more than 1 million total images in the following categories: photographs; images from Canadian Press, Getty Images, and UPI; maps from Antenna Audio; and photographs from public domain sources.
The images consist of a wide array of photos and maps, with an emphasis on world news and events. Other areas of coverage include contemporary and historical photos of people, places, and the natural kingdom.
Tools and resources for students and adult learners to improve the skills required for academic and career success. LearningExpress provides a comprehensive selection of educational resources—including interactive tutorials, practice exams, flashcards, articles and e-books—for basic skills mastery, academic success, job preparation, and career advancement.
Providing exclusive online full text for many of the top consumer legal reference books, Legal Information Reference Center contains more than 225 full-text publications and thousands of legal forms, with more content being added on a regular basis. A majority of the full-text legal reference books are provided through Nolo, the nation’s oldest and most-respected provider of legal information for consumers and small businesses.
Literary Reference Center is a comprehensive database that provides users with a broad spectrum of information on thousands of authors and their works across literary disciplines and timeframes.
Literary Reference Center features an extensive collection of author biographies, plot summaries and full-text essays from leading publishers. It also includes literature reference books and monographs, and book reviews from the most prestigious publications. It also includes poems from hundreds of sources, short stories, classic texts, and much more.
MasterFILE Elite is a general database created for a public library audience that provides full text for over 1,000 journals and general magazines covering nearly all subjects including general reference, business, health, education, general science, multicultural issues, and more. Also contains full text for more than 50 reference books and an Image Collection of over 500,000 photos, maps and flags.
Middle Search Plus contains full text for more than 150 popular, middle school magazines. In addition to the full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for nearly 200 magazines. All full text articles are assigned a reading level indicator (Lexiles). Full text is also available for thousands of biographies, historical essays and student pamphlets.
Designed to offer current news pertaining to all branches of the military and government, this database offers a thorough collection of periodicals, academic journals, and other content pertinent to the increasing needs of those sites. The Military & Government Collection provides cover-to-cover full text for nearly 300 journals and periodicals and indexing and abstracts for more than 400 titles.
Explore and stay informed on local, national and global topics, people, and events in areas such as business, health, education, jobs & careers, political & social issues and more. Features a wide variety of credible, vetted news sources from across NJ, the US and around the globe. Available remotely 24/7 on any device with your library card.
Explore Atlantic City history through local news, events and people with the *Press of Atlantic City Collection.* Search current and archived issues with full-color newspaper pages, full-text articles and content only published online. Available remotely 24/7 on any device.
Newspaper Source Plus provides a full-text digital collection of the world’s major news content. It includes millions of articles from newspapers, newswires and news magazines. In addition, it offers television and radio transcripts and ongoing daily updates from popular news sources.
An index to local newspapers, including the Press of Atlantic City, from 1984 to the present.
OLNI is published by the Atlantic City Free Public Library and is continuously updated. Full-text of the articles is NOT available through the index. If you would like to see the full-text of an article, please visit the Library to use the microfilm collections, print resources, or NewsBank.
Peterson's Test and Career Prep helps students and adults be better prepared down the road for both college and their career. Discover comprehensive test prep and career solutions from Peterson's, a world-leading educational provider.
Points of View Reference Center is a full-text database designed to provide students with a series of essays that present multiple sides of a current issue. The database provides 200 topics, each with an overview (objective background/description), point (argument) and counterpoint (opposing argument).
Primary Search, designed specifically for elementary school libraries and public library children’s rooms, contains full text for more than 60 popular, elementary school magazines. All full text articles are assigned a reading level indicator (Lexiles)
Reference Solutions is a powerful online reference and research tool providing instant, real-time access to accurate, in-depth information on U.S. businesses (59 million) and U.S. residents (310 milliion).
Reference Solutions makes it faster and easier to find new business opportunities, research executives and companies, find news articles, conduct job searches, research papers, locate addresses and phone numbers, conduct market research and much more
This database provides comprehensive full text coverage for regional business publications. Regional Business News incorporates coverage of 75 business journals, newspapers and newswires from all metropolitan and rural areas within the United States. This database is updated on a daily basis.
An e-Learning solution that helps build language skills and provides immediate feedback to guide pronunciation based on innovative speech-recognition technology. Offers 30 languages, including English as a Second Language. Key features include: 50 hours of instruction; core lessons to build reading, writing, speaking, and listening skills; focused activities to refine grammar, vocabulary, pronunciation, and more. Mobile app is also available.
Languages include: Arabic, Chinese (Mandarin), Dutch, English (American and British), Filipino (Tagalog), French, German, Greek, Hebrew, Hindi, Indonesian, Italian, Japanese, Korean, Latin, Pashto, Persian (Farsi), Polish, Portuguese (Brazil), Russian, Spanish (Latin America and Spain), Swahili, Swedish, Turkish, Urdu, and Vietnamese.
The Small Business Reference Center is a comprehensive resource for small business owners and those interested in starting a business, offering full-text periodicals and reports, sample business plans, U.S. tax forms, videos and reference books. It supports small business owners in all relevant areas from planning, financing and managing a business to exit strategies. Users also have the ability to search within specific ‘Business Topics’ and ‘Business Types’ relevant to their needs.
Teacher Reference Center provides indexing and abstracts for hundreds of periodicals. In addition, 96% of journals indexed in TRC are peer-reviewed. Topics include: Assessment, Best Practices, Continuing Education, Current Pedagogical Research, Curriculum Development, Elementary Education, Higher Education, Instructional Media, Language Arts, Literacy Standards, School Administration, Science & Mathematics, and Teacher Education.
Teens and adults will find easy to understand, comprehensive information, curricular support and self-help tools on topics including diseases, drugs, alcohol, nutrition, fitness, mental health, diversity, family life, and more.
TumbleBooks are animated, talking picture books that teach kids the joy of reading in a format they’ll love. TumbleBook Library takes existing picture books, adding animation, sound, music and narration to produce an electronic picture book. You can choose to read story books, or have them read to you. Features include read along, non-fiction, videos, and language learning; create your playlists; and puzzles and games.
Tutor.com is for everyone, students k-12, college students and adults. You can get live help from a tutor or use the many study guides available. The Adult Career Center offers help with resumes, citizenship classes, GED preparation, back to school resources and more!
Tutoring is available from 3 to 10 p.m. every day, including Sundays. This program provides online tutors from Tutor.com that connects students to expert tutors via the Internet. Spanish-speaking tutors are available to help students in math and science from 4 to 9 p.m. Sunday through Thursday.