Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The Atlantic City Free Public Library
Urgent Care Centers
AtlantiCare - Urgent Care Centers
AtlantiCare Urgent Care
3830 Atlantic Avenue
Atlantic City, NJ 08401
Hours: M – F: 8:30 AM – 4 PM
AtlantiCare Health Park
2500 English Creek Avenue
Building 1000 - Suite 1002
Egg Harbor Township, NJ 08234
Hours: M – W: 7 AM - 6 PM
Thursday & Friday: 7 AM - 5 PM
AtlantiCare Urgent Care Egg Harbor Township
2500 English Creek Ave.
Building 900, Suite 908
Egg Harbor Township, New Jersey 08234
7 Days/Week: 8:30 AM - 8 PM
Mon, Thur, Fri: 4:30 PM - 8 PM
Sat & Sun: 10 AM - 8 PM
For other locations, please see their website.
HealthMed Urgent Care - Atlantic City
24 S South Carolina Ave, Atlantic City, NJ 08401
Hours: Monday – Friday: 8:30 AM – 7 PM
Saturday: 9 AM – 3 PM
Sunday: 9 AM – 2 PM
Phone: (609) 345-8000
Shore Urgent Care
Operated by Shore Memorial Hospital
2605 Shore Road, Northfield, NJ
Hours: Monday – Friday: 8 AM - 8 PM
Saturday & Sunday: 9 AM - 5 PM
Drug screenings available: Monday – Friday: 9 AM – 5 PM
Effective, Efficient Episodic Care
Most Insurance Plans Accepted
No Appointment Necessary
Find a Hospital or Nursing Home
American Hospital Directory
Hospitals with location, clinical services, accreditation and inpatient utilization statistics by medical service.
Atlantic Regional Medical Center
Atlantic City Campus
1925 Pacific Avenue
Atlantic City, NJ 08401
This site from the U. S. Department of Health and Human Services provides data about the quality of care at more than 4,700 hospitals around the country. Search by zip code or city and state to access information such as how well local hospitals handle conditions like heart attacks and diabetes.
Nursing Home Compare
Provides detailed information about every Medicare and Medicaid-certified nursing home in the US. Search by name, city, county, state, or zip code; Compare Quality using the Five-Star Quality Ratings, health inspection results, and nursing home staff data.
Shore Memorial Hospital
100 Medical Center Way
SomersPoint, NJ 08244
ER (609) 653-3515.
U.S. News & World Report Hospital Rankings
Hospital rankings from U.S. News & World Report, in adult and pediatric specialties, using both numeric data and physician review.
Find a Doctor
AtlantiCare Find a Doctor
Find an AtlantiCare-affiliated physician; search by name or specialty. After selecting a doctor, you can call the AtlantiCare Access Center at 1-888-569-1000 to schedule a visit.
Medicare Physician Compare
Search by location, name, or specialty. In addition, if you only want to see providers who accept the Medicare-approved amount as payment in full, click on the button that says Yes, only show providers who accept the Medicare-approved amount as payment in full.
NJ Medicaid--Provider Directory
In 1995, New Jersey began moving Medicaid beneficiaries from a traditional fee-for-service health coverage program, where providers bill Medicaid directly, to managed care. Under managed care, beneficiaries enroll in a health plan or managed care organization (MCO) which coordinates their members' healthcare and offers special services in addition to the regular NJ FamilyCare Medicaid benefits enrollees receive.
Five health plans (also known as MCOs) participate in New Jersey's NJ FamilyCare Medicaid program. They are:
• AMERIGROUP NJ
• Horizon NJ Health
• UnitedHealthcare Community Plan
Shore Memorial Hospital Find a Doctor
Search by name of doctor or specialty. To speak with an advisor, please call 1-609-653-4600.
WebMD Physician Directory - Find a Doctor in Your Area
The WebMD Physician Directory is compiled by The Little Blue Book, a printed physician directory that has been used by physicians themselves to contact other doctors. The data on each physician that WebMD presents is confirmed with each physician's office twice a year.
Find a Specialist
America's Top Doctors
This site from Castle Connolly Medical provides a listing of top doctors who are peer- nominated, and then screened by a physician-led research team. Those doctors who are among the very best in their specialties and in their communities are selected for inclusion, and doctors cannot pay to be included in this directory.
DoctorFinder, a resource available through the American Medical Association (AMA), which provides patients and the general public with basic professional information on most licensed doctors in the United States
Is Your Doctor Certified
This site, from the American Board of Medical Specialties, allows you to find out if your doctor is board certified. Search by location and specialty or by doctor's name.
EbscoHost provides full text for more than 3,600 peer-reviewed journals, including such nursing and health related titles as Nursing Standard, British Journal of Nursing, and Primary Health Care plus many more.
Data Axle Find U.S. doctors and dentists by name, address, phone number, years of practice, medical school attended, primary speciality, and board certification.
Hotlines and Helplines
This is just a selection of some important helplines and hotlines. For more NJ Helplines, go to NJHelps, https://www.nj.gov/dcf/families/hotlines/
Child Abuse Hotline
Child Abuse Hotline (State Central Registry)
877-NJ Abuse (652-2873)
Domestic Violence Hotlines and Shelters
National Domestic Violence Hotline: 1−800−799−SAFE (7233), or get help on their website:
NJ Statewide Domestic Violence Helpline: 1-800-572-SAFE (7233)
Atlantic County Women’s Shelter: (609)-646-6767
For a safe place to stay in the U.S.: visit WomensLaw.org for a state-by-state directory of domestic violence shelters in the U.S.
To report suspected elder abuse, neglect, or exploitation in New Jersey: call 1-877-582-6995 (For suspected elder mistreatment in long-term care facilities).
National Sexual Assault Hotline
When a caller calls 1-800-656-HOPE, a computer notes the area code and first three digits of the caller's phone number. The call is then immediately connected to the nearest center.
National Suicide Prevention Lifeline
Are you feeling desperate, alone or hopeless? Call the National Suicide Prevention Lifeline at 988 or 1-800-273-TALK (8255), a free, 24/7 hotline available to anyone in suicidal crisis or emotional distress. Your call will be routed to the nearest crisis center to you.
New Jersey Coalition to End Domestic Violence
NJ Statewide Domestic Violence Helpline: 1-800-572-SAFE (7233)
National Domestic Violence Videophone for Deaf survivors:
Call 1-855-812-1001, or Text LOVEIS to 22522
New Jersey Poison Information --Poison Help Hotline
NJPIES provides free poison consultation and drug information through its Poison Help Hotline at 1-800-222-1222, which is available 24/7. The hotline is staffed with specially trained health care professionals—nurses, pharmacists, and doctors—who can provide help with poison emergencies or answer questions relating to drugs and medication use.
New Jersey Self-Help Group Clearinghouse
To find or form a community support group call 1-800-367-6274.
NJ 2-1-1--Need Help, Start Here
Click this link to search the database, or dial 211 on your phone to get information and referrals on available help in Atlantic County.
NJ AIDS Hotline
Teen Pregnancy Hotline
Trusted Health Websites
This website from the Department of Health and Human Services, offers an encyclopedia of more than 1,600 health topics. Also allows you to Find a doctor, health center or organization, and to sign up for health news e-mails. Information also in Español.
HealthyNJ - Health in New Jersey
Offers a collection of health-related Web sites specifically for New Jersey. It includes state and county level health resources as well as NJ health insurance topics. There are also links to hospitals and other health care facilities in all NJ counties.
The Mayo Clinic provides a wealth of easy-to-understand health and medical information. In addition to diseases and conditions, the site offers healthy living guides and helpful resources such as Health Tools, Treatment Decision Guides, blogs and pod casts, and Ask a Specialist feature.
"MedlinePlus has extensive information from the National Institutes of Health and other trusted sources on over 700 diseases and conditions. There are also lists of hospitals and physicians, a medical encyclopedia and a medical dictionary, health, plus surgery videos.
National Institutes of Health: Health Information
This site is the main access point to consumer health information from the National Institutes of Health (NIH). Users can choose a specific health topic, browse categories, or search all topics to obtain information about specific diseases.
The Office on Women’s Health (OWH) offers award-winning comprehensive websites that provide reliable and accurate information on the health of women. They cover more than 800 topics, on issues ranging from adolescent health to reproductive health to healthy aging. OWH also offers free assistance by phone though its information referral center, 1- 800-994-9662, with trained information specialists available to answer questions in either English or Spanish.
Drugs & Pharmaceuticals
Consumer Reports: Best Buy Drugs
This is a free public education service from the nonprofit Consumers Union that will help you talk to your doctor about prescription drugs, and find the most effective and safe drugs that also give you the best value for your money.
One of the best Internet sites for information on pharmaceuticals, drug interactions and herbal supplements. Includes images of drugs and information for patients.
Drugs.com - Drug Information Online
Comprehensive drug information database provided by Micromedex. Provides information about prescription and non-prescription drugs, including a drug interaction checker, a pill identifier, an image search, as well as the latest news about medications.
Drugs.com Pill Identifier
Unsure what your pill is? Enter one or more fields, e.g. imprint, shape, and color to identify it.
Drugs Information Portal - NLM
This is the drug information resource from the National Library of Medicine; offers links to information for consumers, along with references to toxicological and scientific journals, manufacturer's drug labels, chemical structures, and synonyms of a drug name.
A peer-reviewed resource for family physicians. Includes medication prescribing information, and patient handouts with facts on over four hundred illnesses.
U.S. Food and Drug Administration: Center for Drug Evaluation and Research (CDER)
Information from the FDA including drug approvals, consumer drug information sheets, over-the-counter drugs, and drug news.
Flu Shots Atlantic County
Free Flu Shots Available
CVS and Walgreens pharmacy offer free flu shots to children, teenagers, and adults. Appointments are preferred and can be scheduled online at a site near you. For additional information, you can visit https://www.atlantic-county.org/flu/
Finding Free or Low Cost Insurance in NJ
Atlantic County Prescription Discount Card
The Atlantic County Prescription Discount Card is available to everyone who lives in Atlantic County; there are No income requirements; No age requirements, and there is Unlimited use for the whole family. The card can either be printed out online, or picked up from any Atlantic County Library system branch.
Charity Care - NJ Hospital Care Payment Assistance Program
Hospital care payment help is available to NJ residents who: have no health coverage or have coverage that pays for only part of the bill, are ineligible for Medicaid, and meet both the income and assets eligibility criteria. See the this LSNJ handbook for more information, https://www.lsnj.org/PDFs/HCAPbrochure.pdf
Find a Federally Funded Health Center
Federally-funded health centers care for you, even if you have no health insurance. You pay what you can afford, based on your income. Health centers provide the following services: Checkups when you're well; Treatment when you're sick; Complete care when you're pregnant; Checkups and immunizations for children; Dental care and prescription drugs for your family; Mental health and substance abuse care. Search by state and county to locate a health center near you.
Medicare and You 2023 Handbook
Official U.S. government Medicare handbook with key information about Medicare, including What's new, Costs, What's covered by Medicare, Health and prescription drug plans and how to get Extra Help paying Medicare prescription drug costs.
Medicare makes it easy for you to get information. You can find answers to general questions about eligibility, coverage, compare health and drug plans, and on Medigap policies on this Web site. You can also apply online for Medicare at this site.
NJ Family Care
NJ FamilyCare is federal and state funded health insurance program created to help qualified New Jersey residents of any age get access to affordable health insurance. NJ FamilyCare is for people who do not have employer insurance. Applications are taken online, but you can call 1-800-701-0710 if you need assistance.
Hours of Operation: Monday & Thursday 8 AM – 8 PM
Tuesday, Wednesday, Friday 8 AM – 5 PM
To be eligible for New Jersey Medicaid, a person must meet these requirements: resident of New Jersey, U.S. Citizen or qualified alien, and meet income standards. In addition, an individual must fall into one of the following categories: families with children up to age 18, people who are aged, blind or permanently disabled, pregnant women, or children.
U.S. Health Care Law & You
The Affordable Care Act implements strong consumer protections, provides new coverage options and gives you the tools you need to make informed choices about your health. Contains full text of the Affordable Care Act; Key features of the law; The Health Care Law and a Timeline-what's changing and when.
Health Classes and Support Groups
Classes (including CPR & First Aid), support groups, and screenings for healthy living are offered here.
Listing of all classes and support groups; most are free. Registration is encouraged; for more information call 1-888-569-1000 (Mon-Fri 8:30 AM - 5:00 PM) or register online.
Shore Memorial Hospital
Search for a variety of wellness classes at a reasonable cost. Some free health screenings and support groups are also offered.
Library Website | Library Catalog | Contact the Library | Call the Library: 609.345.2269