Local and NJ Resources on Diseases/Conditions
- AIDS/HIV and Sexually Transmitted Disease ScreeningsThe Atlantic County Division of Public Health offers free, confidential screenings for AIDS/HIV. Counseling and treatment for gonorrhea, syphilis and chlamydia is also available at no cost. No appointment is necessary. The clinic is scheduled every Monday, except holidays, from 2:30 p.m. to 4:00 p.m. at 201 Shore Road (Stillwater Building) in Northfield. For more information on AIDS/HIV, contact the expert nurses in our Community Health/Clinical Services Unit (609-645-5933).
- Alzheimer's Association--Greater New Jersey ChapterOffers a Helpline-- 888-280-6055 --available 24/7. Also a listing of support groups throughout NJ, respite care for caregivers, and a resource library, and much more.
- Atlantic County Communicable Disease ControlThe Atlantic County Division of Public Health controls the spread of contagious diseases via education, screening and immunizations. Immunizations are essential for adults as well as children, as many adults in NJ die from diseases for which immunizations are available. See the website for an Immunization Schedule. Tuberculosis Screening and treatment are also available at no cost; Call 645-5933 for an appointment.
- Health Screenings and Clinics--Atlantic CountyResidents age 18 and older can schedule a free health screening which includes: Blood Pressure, Cholesterol, Colorectal and Diabetes screenings as well as Health Counseling. By appointment, call 645-5933.
- NJ Department of Health - Diseases and ConditionsThis Web site from the New Jersey Department of Health provides an A-Z listing of diseases and conditions. It also includes NJ resources, as well as general descriptions.
- Home Care ServicesThe Office of Home Care provides case management and outreach services to eligible individuals seeking to remain in the community rather than live in a long-term care facility through the use of specific home and community based services and informal supports. For more information on any of these services or other questions simply dial: 1 (888) 426-9243 (in-county) or (609) 645-5965 (out-of-county).
- AtlantiCare HospiceEnhances quality of life for people dying and their loved ones. Consultation can be scheduled by calling 609-407-2020 or toll free 1-888-744-0523.
For questions or information about AtlantiCare Hospice and Palliative Care and grief support services, please contact us at:
6550 Delilah Road
Suite 210
Egg Harbor Township, NJ 08234
Phone: 609-407-2020 or 1-888-744-0523
Fax: 609-407-2021 - Holy Redeemer Hospice/Visiting Nurse Agency (NJ)6550 Delilah Road Suite 501 Egg Harbor Township
Phone: (888) 678-8678
Home health care and hospice.
Mental Health Resources--Atlantic County
This information is compiled from a database maintained by the Atlantic County Division of Intergenerational Services; contact them at 1 (888) 426-9243. Knowledgeable staff are available 8:30 am to 4:30 pm, Monday through Friday.
Ancora Psychiatric Hospital
Ancora , (609) 561-1700
Atlantic County Family Center - Uptown Complex
Atlantic City , (609) 345-1994
Family center with a comprehensive, community human services delivery system.
Atlantic County Juvenile/Family Crisis Unit
Northfield City , (609) 645-5862
Assist families experiencing difficulty managing the behavior of child 10-17.
AtlantiCare Behavioral Health
Atlantic City , (609) 646-9159. The ABH Access Center is the single point of contact for Behavioral Health. When you call the access center, you will speak with a clinically trained staff person who will help you access the care you need, quickly and efficiently. Please call the above number to schedule a first time appointment.
Atlanticare Psychiatric Intervention Program
Atlantic City , (609) 344-1118. 24 hour emergency mental health services.
Mental Health Association in Atlantic County The Mental Health Association is an organization dedicated to improving the mental health of people in our community through advocacy, education and support and they offer a variety of programs such as Peer Outreach Support Team, which utilizes trained staff to provide outreach services to those unwilling, unable, or unmotivated to leave their homes. They also offer ICE Wellness Programs, including support groups for anxiety and depression.Their contact information in Atlantic County is as follows: 4 East Jimmie Leeds Road, Suite 8Galloway NJ 08205 609-652-3800
NJMentalHealthCares1-866-202-HELP (4357)--New Jersey's free confidential statewide mental health information and referral helpline, staffed with mental health professionals; request help by phone, email njmentalhealthcares@mhanj.org.
New Jersey Hope Line 1-855-654-6735. New Jersey's 24/7 Peer Support & Suicide Prevention Hotline.
Peer Recovery Warm Line The PRW (1-877-292-5588) is open 365 days a year, including holidays; 8-10pm M-F, Sa-Su, 5 p.m. to 10 p.m. It is staffed 100% by trained “peers, people who, themselves, are in recovery for their mental health. The Peer Recovery WarmLine represents a growing national movement of peers applying their lived experience to help transform the traditional mental health system. The PRW staff helps callers develop social connections and coping skills, avoid restrictive environments, and ultimately, experience successful community living.
Diseases/Conditions
Look up medical conditions, diseases, and symptoms at the following web sites:
- MedlinePlusMore than 18,000 links, evaluated by the National Library of Medicine, are provided to current medical information. Brief information is available in the Medical Encyclopedia with more in depth information on over 750 Health Topics. Other features include drug information, an illustrated medical dictionary, the latest health news, and directories of doctors, dentists and hospitals, plus surgery videos.
- Merck Manual of Diagnosis and TherapyOnline version of one of the most widely used medical texts in the world. Covers symptoms and treatments for an extremely broad range of diseases, and other medical conditions. Emphasis and tone is aimed at medical professionals, but consumers will also find much of use here as well.
- National Institutes of Health: Health Information.This site is the primary access point to consumer health information from the National Institutes of Health (NIH). Users can choose a specific health topic, browse categories, or search all topics to access information about specific diseases.
- AIDS.govCurrent information on AIDS. Provided by the Department of Health and Human Services.
- Alzheimer's Disease information from the National Institute on AgingProvides information on symptoms, clinical trials, diagnosis & treatment. The AD Lib, which contains over 8, 500 publications about Alzheimer's disease, can now be easily searched by clicking the Literature Search button on the right. A new feature being offered is Live Support/Chat or Call 800-438-4380.
- Alzheimers.govThis is the federal government's free information resource about Alzheimer's disease and related dementias. Here are links to authoritative, up-to-date information from agencies and organizations with expertise in these areas.
- American Diabetes AssociationOffers diabetes assessment tools, recipes, weight-loss and exercise advice, information on the latest diabetes research. Also includes a message board, an email newsletter and information in Spanish.
- American Heart AssociationThe American Heart Association is a national voluntary health organization whose mission is: "Building healthier lives, free of cardiovascular diseases and stroke." The site includes resources on diseases and conditions; advocacy; lifestyle; and information for adults as well as children.
- American Lung AssociationAn attractive, easy to use site that offers information on lung diseases, tobacco control, and air quality. It also provides special sections on asthma, allergy, treatment, how the lung functions and "Diseases A-Z" on lung disorders. There is a search by zip code for local chapter information, as well as a sub-section in Spanish.
- Arthritis FoundationResources about arthritis and related conditions, including disease descriptions and treatments, news, research, and other resources.
- Mental Health: The Cornerstone of HealthCome here to find articles on many different disorders including Autism, ADHD, Depression, Obsessive Compulsive Disorder and Schizophrenia. Select Mental Disorders in the search box.
- Centers for Disease Control and PreventionThe CDC, part of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, offers information on "Diseases and Conditions" including AIDS, bird flu, common childhood diseases like measles, as well as more exotic diseases like Ebola.
- National Heart, Lung, Blood InstituteThe NHLBI site provides extensive information on conditions involving the heart, blood vessels, lungs and blood, as well as sleep disorders. Useful additional information including Health assessment tools, educational tutorials and recipes is also available, as are full text data fact sheets (in color).
- National Institute of Neurological Disorders and Stroke (NINDS)Extensive information on neurological disorders and stroke is provided at this website. The Disorders Index provides an alphabetic list of hundreds of neurological conditions, their treatments, prognosis, clinical research and contact information on organizations concerned with the condition. Clicking on the link to research literature for each condition leads to a PubMed search on the condition.
Books and DVDs Not to Miss
Covid-19 by ISBN: 9780306924248Publication Date: 2020-07-14A Comprehensive Metabolic & Lifestyle Approach
A diagnosis of Alzheimer’s disease in 2016 is startlingly similar to a half-century ago. Despite decades of research and millions of dollars invested in uncovering the causes and developing treatments for this devastating illness, progress has been slow, with each new “blockbuster” drug proving to be as big a disappointment as the ones that went before it. Today, an Alzheimer’s diagnosis is a death sentence.
Diabetes-How to Help by ISBN: 9781580406635Publication Date: 2018-08-28Now updated and revised, the definitive book on surviving prostate cancer from the world's leading authority on the prostate. Each year, more than 230,000 men are diagnosed with prostate cancer, and 30-40% of patients who are diagnosed will eventually relapse. But the good news is that more men are being cured of this disease than ever before. Now in a revised fourth edition, this lifesaving guide by Dr. Patrick Walsh and award-winning science writer Janet Farrar Worthington offers a message of hope to every man facing this illness. Prostate cancer is a different disease in every man--which means that the right treatment varies for each person. Public awareness for this disease has transformed treatment and opened up new avenues of research; rapid advances in knowledge are being translated in new recommendations for management. In this book, Dr. Walsh will address questions such as: What causes prostate cancer? Your risk factors, including heredity, diet, and environment. Can I prevent prostate cancer? How some simple changes in your diet and lifestyle can help prevent or delay the disease. Does prostate cancer need to be treated at all? This hot-button issue is vital for men to understand. How do I know if I have prostate cancer? An explanation of the recently refined and expanded recommendations. How can my prostate cancer be treated? The pros and cons of new technologies and new information on focal therapy.
Mayo Clinic Family Health Book 5th Edition by ISBN: 9781945564024Publication Date: 2018-05-29More often than not people have several negative thinking patterns that go unnoticed. These thoughts can simply pop up in your mind without giving any prior notification. And these unhealthy thinking practices lead to problems like depression, panic attacks, anxiety, rage or even guilt.
Cardiovascular Health by ISBN: 9781442275126Publication Date: 2017-05-05What causes heart attacks, strokes and other cardiovascular illnesses? -- Myocardial infarction or heart attack -- Blood pressure -- Cholesterol -- Blood clots -- Obesity -- Diabetes -- Smoking -- Diet -- Inflammation -- Statistics vs. biology -- Detection of early disease -- Secondary prevention -- A community approach -- A future free of symptomatic cardiovascular disease.
Blood Sugar Rising [videorecording]. by ISBN: 9781531705961Publication Date: Pbs, 2020The critical story of the scientific insights and innovations offering new hope in the fight against diabetes.
Complete Diabetes Guide by ISBN: 9780778806530Publication Date: 2020-09-10A new edition of Karen Graham's diabetes guide is a companion to Diabetes Essentials and Diabetes Meals for Good Health Cookbook. Recent CDC reports indicate that over 30 million Americans have diabetes and another 84 million have prediabetes. This new edition of one of the most highly-respected resources on the subject offers new easy-to-understand content based on the latest medical expertise on diabetes from Registered Dietitian and Certified Diabetes Educator Karen Graham and MD and Endocrinologist Mansur Shomali.
Cancer
- American Cancer SocietyProvides information on a wide range of cancer types, cancer statistics, cancer facts and news. The section on Finding Treatment Centers is helpful for locating doctors and hospitals for cancer treatment, including pediatric cancer centers.
- Cancer Institute of New JerseyRecommended web sites from the Cancer Institute of New Jersey Resource & Learning Center. This comprehensive listing includes specific cancer types and general cancer-related information on topics like cancer prevention, nutrition, fertility and advanced directives.
- Clinical Trials - New Jersey Cancer Trial ConnectThe Cancer Institute of New Jersey maintains this useful site to help people in NJ locate clinical trials in the state that could help them. In addition to clinical trial information, this site has links to other cancer care organizations as well as general information about cancer treatments and coping with cancer.
- Find an oncologist through American Society of Clinical OncologyThis section offers assistance when you need to find a cancer doctor (called an oncologist). Cancer.Net is the patient information website of the American Society of Clinical Oncology (ASCO), the world’s leading professional organization representing physicians of all oncology subspecialties caring for people with cancer. To find cancer doctors by location or by specialty, search the ASCO database here.
- National Cancer InstituteIncludes information on cancer topics for patients and their families, as well as for the general public . Also provides information on clinical trials and new research, and a directory of NCI-Designated Cancer Centers and Community Cancer Centers.
- New Jersey Office of Cancer Control and PreventionFind cancer resources by county, as well as information on different types of cancers, cancer screening, and statistics, from the N.J. Department of Health and Senior Services.
Diagnostic Tests
- Diagnostic Imaging from Medline PlusDiagnostic imaging lets doctors look inside your body for clues about a medical condition. A variety of machines and techniques can create pictures of the structures and activities inside your body. The type of imaging your doctor uses depends on your symptoms and the part of your body being examined. They include:
X-rays
CT scans
Nuclear medicine scans
MRI scans
Ultrasound - Lab Tests OnlineThis site, from the American Association for Clinical Chemistry, is designed to help patients better understand the many clinical lab tests that are now part of routine care as well as diagnosis and treatment of a wide range of conditions and diseases. Search by test and condition/or disease.