This guide is a select list of reference and research resources covering Veterans' Resources.
Last Updated: Apr 14, 2014
The Presidential Proclamation says in part "This year, in marking the 60th anniversary of the Korean War Armistice, we resolved that in the United States of America, no war should be forgotten, and no veteran should be overlooked. Let us always remember our wounded, our missing, our fallen, and their families. And as we continue our responsible drawdown from the war in Afghanistan, let us welcome our returning heroes with the supportand opportunities they deserve"
- Veterans Crisis Hotline--1-800-273-8255
This hotline connects Veterans and their families in crisis, with qualified, caring Department of Veterans Affairs responders via a confidential toll-free hotline, online chat, or text. Please call 1-800-273-8255, Press 1 for chat online, or send a text message to 838255 to receive confidential support 24 hours a day, 7 days a week, 365 days a year.
- Community Based Outpatient Clinic--Northfield
The Veterans Affairs Outpatient Clinic is now open in Northfield at 1909 New Road
1-800-461-8262, ext. 2800
Parent Facility: Wilmington VAMC
Phone: (302) 994-2511 or (800) 461-8262
For transportation assistance,
call (609) 645-5910
- VA Outpatient Clinic Camden NJ
The Community Based Outpatient Clinic located in Camden, NJ provides primary care and behavioral health services for Veterans in Camden, NJ and surrounding areas by highly qualified primary care providers, with specialty care referrals to the Philadelphia VA Medical Center. 300 Broadway, Suite 103
Camden, NJ 08104
- Philadelphia VA Medical Center
The Philadelphia VA Medical Center provides health care to Veterans living in America’s fifth-largest metropolitan area, including Southern New Jersey. This facility serves as an acute referral center for VA health care facilities in eastern Pennsylvania, Delaware and Southern New Jersey. The location is as follows:
3900 Woodland Avenue
Philadelphia , PA 19104
215-823-5800 | 800-949-1001
- DoD/VA Suicide Outreach
DoD/VA Suicide Outreach: Resources for Suicide Prevention: You will find ready access to hotlines, treatments, professional resources, forums and multiple media designed to link you to others. This site supports all Service Branches, the National Guard and the Reserves,Veterans, families and providers.
- Defense Centers of Excellence for Psychological Health and Traumatic Brain Injury (DCoE
DCoE provides a trusted source of information on psychological health and traumatic brain injury issues and resources, plus responses to specific questions and needs. Get help 24/7 by calling 866-966-1020, by emailing firstname.lastname@example.org or clicking on the site for live chat.
- Guide to VA Mental Health Services for Veterans & Families
This guide to VA Mental Health Services explains how to find mental health care and the different treatment settings where care is offered, including hospitals clinics (outpatient care) or via telemedicine. Also provides information on the types of treatments available for depression, substance abuse, and posttraumatic stress disorder, and describes special programs offered for women Veterans, homeless Veterans or older Veterans.
My HealtheVet is VA’s award–winning e–health Website, which offers Veterans, active duty service members, their dependents and caregivers anywhere, anytime Internet access to VA health care information and services.
- VA Mental Health
Information about the VA Mental Health programs including PTSD and Suicide Prevention.
- Women Veterans Health Care
Women Veterans Health Care deals with the health care needs of women Veterans and helps ensure that timely, high-quality, comprehensive health care services are provided in a sensitive and safe environment at VA health facilities nationwide. As part of the realignment of the Veterans Health Administration, Women's Health became part of the Office of Patient Care Services and the program office name was changed to Women's Health Services in August 2012.
Health Source Consumer covers topics of interest to Veterans and theri families and friends, such as post traumatic stress disorder, and veterans' health in general.
MasterFile Premier covers many topics of interest to Veterans, their families and friends, including employment, health, and transitioning to civilian life.
- Iraq and Afghanistan Veterans of America
IAVA is the country's first and largest nonprofit, nonpartisan organization for veterans of the wars in Iraq and Afghanistan. With more than 200,000 members, IAVA is building the next greatest generation with a three-pronged model based on advocacy, awareness, and assistance. IAVA programs include Smart Job Fairs,a New GI Bill calculator and Community of Veterans, a veterans only social network.
- eBenefits: the gateway to benefits information
The simplest way to apply for most benefits is online at eBenefits.va.gov. If you apply through eBenefits, you can also track the status of your claim.
- Department of Veterans Affairs Forms web site
This site provides access to all VA forms and allows you to easily search for the correct form.
- GI-Bill Post 9/11
This is the official government web site for the post 9/11 GI Bill. All active duty military or veterans with an honorable discharge who had 90 days aggregated service on or after September 11, 2001 or were discharged after 30 days with a service-connect disability qualify are eligible for 36 months of approved education/training. One major change with the Post 9/11 GI Bill from the Montgomery GI Bill is that it is transferable to spouse and dependents.
- National Resource Directory
Provides information on, and access to, services and resources for wounded, ill and injured service members and veterans, their families and those who support them from recovery and rehabilitation to community reintegration.
- VA Center for Minority Veterans
The Center for Minority Veterans is part of the Office of the Secretary. The Center helps eligible veterans to obtain benefits and services from VA. The Center acts only as a mediator and facilitator -- the Center does not process claims, handle equal employment complaints, or employee relation problems. The Center is dedicated to ensuring that all veterans are aware of benefits, services, and programs offered by VA.
- Center for Veterans Enterprise
Dedicated to assisting Veterans start and build their businesses. CVE maintains a web site that serves as the Federal government portal for Veteran-Owned businesses known as VetBiz.gov.
- G.I. Jobs
Features list of 20 hot jobs for veterans for 2014 from the nation's largest military friendly employers. This list ranks the Top 20 Hot Jobs for Veterans according to demand with a brief description of each, their average national salary, why they’re “hot” and what you need to land the job.
- Hero 2 Hired
H2H.jobs is a FREE powerful tool for job seekers, with many innovative resources to help vets find jobs. The site offers easy-to-use search features, a military skills translator, a resume builder, a career assessment survey, tips and advice, and professional networking opportunities, plus virtual and local job fairs.
- Hiring Our Heroes
Hiring Our Heroes and the Institute for Veterans and Military Families at Syracuse University created Fast Track to show the critical paths to meaningful careers and guide veterans and transitioning servicemembers to make informed decisions about education and employment opportunities. Here you can map careers by industry/sector to 100 metropolitan statistical areas (MSAs) that are forecasted to have the fastest growing job markets; identify the qualifications needed for employment opportunities within the MSAs; and find out how to use the GI Bill for community colleges, colleges, vocational schools, and apprenticeships. Hiring Our Heroes will partner with major employers that hire veterans who successfully meet the criteria of a pre-determined Fast Track in each of the identified MSAs.
- Joining Forces
Joining Forces is a comprehensive national initiative to mobilize all sectors of society to give our service members and their families the opportunities and support they have earned.
- Veterans Job Bank
The Veterans Job Bank is moving to the Veterans Employment Center on eBenefits. It offers Veterans a central source for identifying Veteran-committed employment opportunities and helps employers to identify qualified Veterans. Powered by a Google search, jobs are taken from various job boards that have posted jobs for Veterans.
- Veterans Reemployment Portal on CareerOneStop
Veterans Reemployment Portal on CareerOneStop (www.CareerOneStop.org/Vets) assists veterans with employment, training, career planning, financial and emotional help after military service. The site links veterans to local resources as well as offering a military-to-civilian job search based on military job title or military occupation code.
- Veterans Retraining Assistance Program (VRAP)
Looking for work? VA is accepting applications from eligible Vets between 35 and 60 for a new program that can offers money towards job training. It’s called VRAP which stands for Veterans Retraining Assistance Program. See if you are eligible and apply. The program is limited to 99,000 Vets and will end on March 31, 2014.
The Veterans' Employment and Training Service (VETS)
VetJobs is available to help ALL members of "The United States Military Family". As of April 6, 2014, 67,072 REAL jobs are posted, up 22.77% over same day last year.! There is also an online Career Fair.
- We Hire Heroes New Jersey
Local job board by veterans, for veterans. Full time, part time, temporary, and seasonal positions available - FREE, no signup required.
- Getting Social Security Disability Benefits as a Wounded Warrior
Expediting Disability Applications for Wounded Warriors Military service members can receive expedited processing of disability claims from Social Security. Benefits available through Social Security are different than those from the Department of Veterans Affairs and require a separate application. The expedited process is used for military service members who become disabled while on active military duty on or after October 1, 2001, regardless of where the disability occurs.
- VA Disability Benefits
VA Disability Benefits Discusses a wide range of special cash benefits, medical services, vocational, employment and other programs available for Veterans of the U.S. Armed Forces who experience disabilities.
- Wounded Warrior Project Resource Center
WWP Resource Center provides warriors and their families/ caregivers with information on available programs and services to meet their needs. The Center is equipped to help warriors and caregivers identify resources to meet a range of needs. Call 888.997.2586 today!
- Wounded Warrior Support from Military One Source
The Wounded Warrior Wounded Warrior Programs offer wounded, ill, or injured service members, as well as their families and caregivers, a single point of contact for assistance with obtaining health care services, receiving benefits information, and any other difficulties encountered while supporting wounded warriors.
Consultants provide personal, ongoing assistance related to: Financial resources
Education, training, and job placement; Information on VA benefits; Home, transportation, and workplace accommodations; Personal, couples, and family issues counseling; and Personal mobility and functioning.
150 Best Jobs for the Military-To-Civilian Transition
This book helps today's returning military find the best job matches for their training, interests, personalities, genders, and more. With 45 best jobs lists and 150 detailed job descriptions, the book covers the best-paying and fastest-growing occupations held by recent veterans. Veterans can transition to these jobs using the skills they learned during their service; some occupations may require additional training and this is explained as well.
Down range : a transitioning veteran's career guide to life's next phase
Written by veterans who have successfully made the transition, Down Range offers career planning guidance to U.S. military veterans coming off active duty. This is NOT simply a guide to transitioning from the military to the civilian world. This book IS a guide to developing a post-military career, not just for the first few days, weeks, or months after active duty, but for the rest of your employed life. This book challenges veterans to change their mind-set and understand just how different civilian employment is from military experience.
Thank you for your service
This is a profound look at life after war. No journalist has reckoned with the psychology of war as intimately as David Finkel. Now Finkel has followed many of those same men as they've returned home and struggled to reintegrate--both into their family lives and into American society at large. Where do soldiers belong after their homecoming? Is it possible, or even reasonable, to expect them to rejoin their communities as if nothing has happened? And in moments of hardship, who are soldiers expected to turn to if they feel alienated by the world they once lived in? These are the questions Finkel faces as he revisits the brave but shaken men of the 2-16.