Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The Atlantic City Free Public Library
Veterans Day 2016 Presidential Proclamation
The Presidential Proclamation says in part "On Veterans Day, we salute the women and men who have proudly worn the uniform of the United States of America and the families who have served alongside them, and we affirm our sacred duty as citizens to express our enduring gratitude, both in words and in actions, for their service.
Our country has the best-trained and best-equipped military force in the world, and we need to make sure we have the most supported and respected veterans in the world. We are a Nation that leaves no one behind, and my Administration has made historic investments to provide veterans access to the resources and education they need to share in our Nation's promise when they return home. Partnering with community leaders across America, First Lady Michelle Obama and Dr. Jill Biden's Joining Forces initiative works to ensure our country's heroes can thrive by combatting veteran homelessness, promoting their emotional well-being, and advancing employment training and placement -- and we have made great progress. Today, the unemployment rate for veterans is lower than the national average, and veteran homelessness has been nearly cut in half since 2010. We also recognize that some of these courageous men and women have faced and overcome profound challenges, both physically and emotionally, in defense of our freedom. We must continue to provide high quality health care to our veterans and make sure they have the support they have earned and deserve."
Veterans Crisis Hotline--1-800-273-8255
This hotline connects Veterans and their families in crisis, with qualified, caring Department of Veterans Affairs responders via a confidential toll-free hotline, online chat, or text. Please call 1-800-273-8255, Press 1 for chat online, or send a text message to 838255 to receive confidential support 24 hours a day, 7 days a week, 365 days a year.
Community Based Outpatient Clinic--Northfield
The Veterans Affairs Outpatient Clinic is now open in Northfield at 1909 New Road
1-800-461-8262, ext. 2800
Parent Facility: Wilmington VAMC
Phone: (302) 994-2511 or (800) 461-8262
For transportation assistance,
call (609) 645-5910
VA Outpatient Clinic Camden NJ
The Community Based Outpatient Clinic in Camden, NJ provides primary care and behavioral health services for Veterans in Camden, NJ and surrounding areas with specialty care referrals to the Philadelphia VA Medical Center.
300 Broadway, Suite 103
Camden, NJ 08104
Philadelphia VA Medical Center
The Philadelphia VA Medical Center provides health care to Veterans living in Philadelphia and Southern New Jersey. This facility serves as an acute referral center for VA health care facilities in eastern Pennsylvania, Delaware and Southern New Jersey. The location is as follows:
3900 Woodland Avenue
Philadelphia , PA 19104
215-823-5800 | 800-949-1001
Defense Centers of Excellence for Psychological Health and Traumatic Brain Injury (DCoE
DCoE provides trusted information on psychological health and traumatic brain injury issues and resources, plus responses to specific questions and needs. Get help 24/7 by calling 866-966-1020, or by emailing firstname.lastname@example.org or clicking on the site for live chat.
Guide to VA Mental Health Services for Veterans & Families
This guide to VA Mental Health Services explains how to find mental health care and the different settings where care is offered, including hospital clinics (outpatient care). Also provides information on the types of treatments available for depression, substance abuse, and post-traumatic stress disorder, and describes special programs offered for women Veterans, homeless Veterans or older Veterans.
My HealthVet is VA’s award–winning e–health Website, which offers Veterans, active duty service members, their dependents and caregivers anywhere, anytime Internet access to VA health care information and services.
VA Mental Health
Information about the VA Mental Health programs including PTSD and Suicide Prevention.
Women Veterans Health Care
Women Veterans Health Care deals with the health care needs of women Veterans and helps ensure that timely, high-quality, comprehensive health care services are provided in a sensitive and safe environment at VA health facilities nationwide.
National Resource Directory
Connecting Wounded Warriors, Service Members, Veterans, Their Families and Caregivers with organizations, both within, and outside of the government, that support them.
Iraq and Afghanistan Veterans of America
IAVA is the country's largest nonprofit, nonpartisan organization for veterans of the wars in Iraq and Afghanistan. IAVA programs include Smart Job Fairs,a New GI Bill calculator and Community of Veterans, a veterans only social network.
Vietnam Veterans of America South Jersey
Focus is a strong, united voice for resolving issues of importance to veterans and their families. The Vietnam Veterans of America is the leading advocate for recognition of health issues still affecting veterans, including Agent Orange, Post Traumatic Stress Disorder, Hepatitis C and the approximately 10,000 military personnel used as involuntary test subjects in biological and chemical warfare tests in the 1960's, known as Project SHAD (Shipboard Hazard and Defense).
Academic Search Premier covers topics of interest to Veterans and their families and friends, such as post traumatic stress disorder, and veterans' health in general.
MasterFile Premier covers many topics of interest to Veterans, their families and friends, including employment, health, and transitioning to civilian life.
eBenefits: the gateway to benefits information
The simplest way to apply for most benefits is online at eBenefits.va.gov. If you apply through eBenefits, you can also track the status of your claim.
Department of Veterans Affairs Forms web site
This site provides access to all VA forms and allows you to easily search for the correct form.
GI-Bill Post 9/11
This is the official government web site for the post 9/11 GI Bill. All active duty military or veterans with an honorable discharge who had 90 days aggregated service on or after September 11, 2001 or were discharged after 30 days with a service-connected disability are eligible for 36 months of approved education/training. One major change with the Post 9/11 GI Bill from the Montgomery GI Bill is that it is transferable to spouse and dependents.
VA Center for Minority Veterans
Part of the Office of the Secretary. The Center helps eligible veterans to obtain benefits and services from the VA. The Center acts only as a mediator and facilitator -- the Center does not process claims, handle equal employment complaints, or employee relation problems.
Military One Source
Military OneSource is a confidential Department of Defense-funded program providing comprehensive information on every aspect of military life at no cost to Veterans or active duty, personnell, and their families. Information includes deployment, re-integration, spouse employment and education, and confidential non-medical counseling. Confidential services are available 24 hours a day by telephone (800-342-9647) and online.
The Wells Fargo Veterans Scholarship Program
Wells Fargo and Scholarship America are now accepting applications (through Feb 28) for the 2017 Wells Fargo Veterans Scholarship and Wells Fargo Veterans Emergency Grant Programs, funding the program with $2 million over a four year period to help veterans and their families successfully integrate back into civilian life.
Awards will be made to honorably discharged veterans or spouses of disabled veterans who are high school or GED graduates. Renewable scholarships for up to $7,000 per year will be granted, determined by financial need and academic performance, work experience, leadership and community service, and challenges to completing a postsecondary program. Visit www.scholarsapply.org/wellsfargoveterans for more information and to apply.
Emergency grants are available on an ongoing basis for eligible veterans who are enrolled in postsecondary education and experience unexpected financial difficulties that might cause them to drop out of school. Grants will be available for a one-time distribution up to $1,000 based on the cost of the emergency need, such as rent, utilities, daycare and medical expenses. Visit www.scholarsapply.org/wellsfargoveteransemergency for more information and to apply.
Features list of 20 hot jobs for veterans for 2014 from the nation's largest military friendly employers. This list ranks the Top 20 Hot Jobs for Veterans according to demand with a brief description of each, their average national salary, why they’re “hot” and what you need to land the job.
Veterans Employment Center (VEC)
Translate Your Skills: Translate military occupational codes into civilian skill equivalents for a powerful resume and learn about related civilian career paths.
Generate a Resume : Seamlessly import results from the skills translator into an online profile that users can download or publish to employers on the VEC. Publishing your profile on the VEC instantly connects you to thousands of employers looking to hire Veterans, transitioning Service members and family members.
Search the Veterans Job Bank (VJB): The VJB allows users to search over 1.5 million jobs in addition to all federal jobs – including status positions reserved especially for Veterans.
Hiring Our Heroes
Here you can map careers by industry/sector to 100 metropolitan statistical areas (MSAs) that are forecasted to have the fastest growing job markets; identify the qualifications needed for employment opportunities within the MSAs; and find out how to use the GI Bill for community colleges, colleges, vocational schools, and apprenticeships.
Joining Forces is a comprehensive national initiative to mobilize all sectors of society to give our service members and their families the opportunities and support they have earned.
Veterans Reemployment Portal on CareerOneStop
Veterans Reemployment Portal on CareerOneStop (www.CareerOneStop.org/Vets) assists veterans with employment, training, career planning, financial and emotional help after military service. The site links veterans to local resources as well as offering a military-to-civilian job search based on military job title or military occupation code.
The Veterans' Employment and Training Service (VETS)
VetJobs is available to help ALL members of "The United States Military Family". As of April 6, 2014, 67,072 REAL jobs are posted, up 22.77% over same day last year.! There is also an online Career Fair.
We Hire Heroes New Jersey
Local job board by veterans, for veterans. Full time, part time, temporary, and seasonal positions available - FREE, no signup required.
Military Transition from Overseas
Bradley-Morris is a career development firm that provides military job placement services to job seekers who are undergoing military transition, and job seekers with military experience who have worked in the civilian sector. Bradley-Morris, delivers dedicated resources focused on assisting candidates with military transition from overseas. Their client base features companies such as Ford, IBM, Allied Signal, Sprint, General Electric and Motorola. All of their military transition advice and placement services are offered at no cost to transitioning military personnel.
Getting Social Security Disability Benefits as a Wounded Warrior
Expediting Disability Applications for Wounded Warriors Military service members can receive expedited processing of disability claims from Social Security. Benefits available through Social Security are different than those from the Department of Veterans Affairs and require a separate application. The expedited process is used for military service members who become disabled while on active military duty on or after October 1, 2001, regardless of where the disability occurs.
Wounded Warrior Project Resource Center
WWP Resource Center provides warriors and their families/ caregivers with information on available programs and services to meet their needs. The Center is equipped to help warriors and caregivers identify resources to meet a range of needs. Call 888.997.2586 today!
Books and eBooks Not to Miss
150 Best Jobs for the Military-To-Civilian Transition by
This book helps today's returning military find the best job matches for their training, interests, personalities, genders, and more. With 45 best jobs lists and 150 detailed job descriptions, the book covers the best-paying and fastest-growing occupations held by recent veterans. Veterans can transition to these jobs using the skills they learned during their service; some occupations may require additional training and this is explained as well.
Down range : a transitioning veteran's career guide to life's next phase by
Written by veterans who have successfully made the transition, Down Range offers career planning guidance to U.S. military veterans coming off active duty. his book IS a guide to developing a post-military career, not just for the first few days, weeks, or months after active duty, but for the rest of your employed life.
Library Website | Library Catalog | Contact the Library | Call the Library: 609.345.2269