This is the "Women's History Month" page of the "Women's History Month" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Women's History Month   Tags: african-american women, women, women's history  

ACFPL features an extensive collection of resources about women and their accomplishments, issues, history and more. This guide provides a sampling of the materials available on this subject to view more visit the library or browse the catalog.
Last Updated: Aug 9, 2014 URL: http://acfpl.libguides.com/women Print Guide RSS Updates
Women's History Month Print Page
  Search: 
 

National Women's History Month

WHM theme 2014

This year’s theme, Celebrating Women of Character, Courage, and Commitment, honors the extraordinary and often unrecognized determination and tenacity of women. Against social convention and often legal restraints, women have created a legacy that expands the frontiers of possibility for generations to come. They have demonstrated their character, courage and commitment as mothers, educators, institution builders, business, labor, political and community leaders, relief workers, women religious, and CEOs. Their lives and their work inspire girls and women to achieve their full potential and encourage boys and men to respect the diversity and depth of women’s experience.

These role models along with countless others demonstrate the importance of writing women back into history.

For a list and brief biographies of the 2014 Honorees, click here.

- See more at: http://www.nwhp.org/#sthash.xjs07hT5.dpuf

The Theme for Women's History Month 2014, Celebrating Women of Character, Courage, and Commitment, honors the extraordinary and often unrecognized tenacity of women. Against social conventions, women have demonstrated their character, courage and commitment as mothers, educators, institution builders, business, labor, political and community leaders, relief workers,  and CEOs. Their lives and their work inspire girls and women to achieve their full potential. For a list and brief biographies of the 2014 Honorees, please see http://www.nwhp.org/#sthash.xjs07hT5.dpuf. 

This year’s theme, Celebrating Women of Character, Courage, and Commitment, honors the extraordinary and often unrecognized determination and tenacity of women. Against social convention and often legal restraints, women have created a legacy that expands the frontiers of possibility for generations to come. They have demonstrated their character, courage and commitment as mothers, educators, institution builders, business, labor, political and community leaders, relief workers, women religious, and CEOs. Their lives and their work inspire girls and women to achieve their full potential and encourage boys and men to respect the diversity and depth of women’s experience.

These role models along with countless others demonstrate the importance of writing women back into history.

For a list and brief biographies of the 2014 Honorees, click here.

- See more at: http://www.nwhp.org/#sthash.xjs07hT5.dpuf
  • National Women's History Month
    The first steps toward celebrating women's history came in February 1980 when President Carter issued the first Presidential Proclamation declaring the Week of March 8th 1980 as National Women's History Week. By 1986, 14 states had already declared March as Women's History Month; this momentum was used to lobby Congress to declare March as National Women's History Month, and finally, in 1987, Congress declared March as National Women's History Month in perpetuity, with a special Presidential Proclamation issued each year to honor the achievements of American women.
  • Women's History Month
    Compilation of federal government resources celebrating Women's History Month, observed in March. Features exhibitions, biographies, articles and stories, lesson plans, plus additional material about women's history.
  • Infoplease Women's History Month
    Infoplease.com celebrates Women's History Month and International Women's Day (March 8) by featuring articles on the women's history movement and on women's current status in politics, business, and the arts, plus biographies of famous women, and statistics about women. Also note in the Biography section are biographies of Women Educators.
  • Women's History from About.com
    Most of the basic information on women's history appears on About.com; topics include: Biographies of Famous Women, Women's History by Place, and Time; Women's History in Pictures, Women's History Books, and Women's History Month.

International Women's Day

The official United Nations theme for International Women's Day 2014 is "Equality for women is progress for all."  Celebrated by women's rights activists across the world annually on March 8, International Women's Day (IWD) has been marked by the UN since 1975. Women's equality has made positive gains but the world is still unequal. International Women's Day celebrates the social, political and economic achievements of women while focusing world attention on areas requiring further action.

 International Women's Day  is celebrated around the world on March 8. Events occur throughout March to mark the economic, political and social achievements of women.  Organisations, governments, and women's groups may choose different themes each year to reflect global and local gender issues.

Premium eResources

Use these resources, including the ebooks in the right column, in the library as a guest or from any internet connection with your library card.

Gale Virtual Reference Library

 

March is Women’s History Month, and the 2014 theme Celebrating Women of Character, Courage, and Commitmentrecognizes the pioneering efforts of women in a variety of fields and occupations.  To find more information on these pioneering women  please look at our excellent eBooks, Celebrating Women in American History, and Dictionary of Women Worldwide: 25,000 Women Through the Ages, both of which are part of the Gale Virtual Reference Library (GVRL).

      
     

    Feminist News

    Loading Loading...
    blank padding
     

    The First Lady Honors International Women of Courage

     

    Books

    Cover Art
    Dear Abigail - Diane Jacobs
    Much has been written about the enduring marriage of President John Adams and his wife, Abigail. But few know of the equally strong bond Abigail shared with her sisters, Mary Cranch and Elizabeth Shaw Peabody, accomplished women in their own right. Now acclaimed biographer Diane Jacobs reveals their moving story, which unfolds against the stunning backdrop of America in its transformative colonial years.

    Cover Art
    Flappers : six women of a dangerous generation - Judith Mackrell
    The women who defined this age—Josephine Baker, Tallulah Bankhead, Diana Cooper, Nancy Cunard, Zelda Fitzgerald, and Tamara de Lempicka— would shape the role of women for generations to come. In Flappers, the acclaimed biographer Judith Mackrell portrays these women with all the color that marked their lives and their era. These women came from vastly different backgrounds, but all ended up passing through Paris, the mecca of the avant-garde. These flappers weren’t just dancing and carousing; they were fighting for recognition and dignity in a male-dominated world.

    Cover Art
    HRC : state secrets and the rebirth of Hillary Clinton - Jonathan Allen; Amie Parnes
    An examination of the strategy behind Hillary Clinton's political revitalization and her comeback in the US and abroad.

    Cover Art
    I am Malala: the girl who stood up for education and was shot by the Taliban - Malala Yousafzai; Christina Lamb (As told to)
    I Am Malala is the memoir of a remarkable teenage girl who risked her life for the right to go to school. Raised in a changing Pakistan by an enlightened father from a poor background and a beautiful, illiterate mother from a political family, Malala was taught to stand up for what she believes. I Am Malala tells her story of bravery and determination in the face of extremism, detailing the daily challenges of growing up in a world transformed by terror.

    Cover Art
    The scarlet sisters : sex, suffrage, and scandal in the Gilded Age - Myra MacPherson
    Describes the adventures of two sisters who tried to overcome the male-dominated social norms of the late nineteenth century and achieved a remarkable list of firsts, including the first woman-run brokerage house and the first woman to run for president.

    Cover Art
    Things I should have told my daughter : lies, lessons & love affairs - Pearl Cleage
    In this inspiring memoir, the bestselling author of What Looks Like Crazy on an Ordinary Day reminisces on the art of juggling marriage, motherhood, and politics while working to become a successful writer. In addition to being one of the most popular living playwrights in America, Pearl Cleage is a bestselling author with an Oprah Book Club pick and multiple awards to her credit. But there was a time when such stellar success seemed like a dream. In this revelatory and deeply personal work, Cleage takes readers back to the 1970s and '80s, retracing her struggles to hone her craft amidst personal and professional tumult. Lies, Lessons & Love Affairs charts not only the political fights, but also the pull she began to feel to focus on her own passions, including writing--a pull that led her away from Lomax as she grappled with ideas of feminism and self-fulfillment. This fascinating memoir follows her journey from a columnist for a local weekly (bought by LarryFlynt) to a playwright and Hollywood script writer, Cleage's self-portrait raises women's confessional writingto the level of great literature,

    Cover Art
    Women of steel and stone : 22 inspirational architects, engineers, and landscape designers - Anna M. Lewis
    Reporting on a range of historical and contemporary female builders and designers, this educational book strives to inspire a new generation of girls in the disciplines of science, technology, engineering, and math. With many of the profiles set against the backdrop of such landmark events as the women's suffrage and civil rights movements and the Industrial Revolution, this book provides inspiration and advice directly to young women by highlighting positive examples of how a strong work ethic, perseverance, and creativity can overcome life's obstacles. Each profile focuses on the strengths, passions, and interests each woman had growing up; where those traits took them; and what they achieved.

    Cover Art
    Women's rights movement - Jennifer Joline Anderson
    Discusses the history of women's rights in the United States, including the Seneca Falls Convention, the push for the Equal Rights Amendment, and the current state of women in politics.

     

    Ebooks, DVDs, and Audio Books

    Cover Art
    Celebrating women in American history [electronic resource] - Elizabeth Purdy
    Presents a diverse and panoramic view of women and their accomplishments in American history by bringing their achievements to light and helping them gain the recognition they deserve.

    Cover Art
    Dictionary of women worldwide [electronic resource] : 25,000 women through the ages
    Contains more than 20,000 brief biographical entries on women, including thousands of entries on non-U.S. figures.

    Cover Art
    Women in American society [electronic resource] - Melissa J. Doak
    Explores the lives of women in American society. Includes information on women's demographic trends, educational achievements, employment, financial status, parental responsibilities, political roles, victimization, and health issues.

    Cover Art
    Women in world history [electronic resource] : a biographical encyclopedia
    Locating information on women is difficult and the editors have done a great job assembling and publishing existing information on individual women from many nations both living and dead. Since sometimes only birth, marriage, children, and death dates are known, the 10,000 articles vary in length according to the subject.

    Makers who make America [videodisc]
    Review the story of how women have helped shape America over the last fifty years through one of the most sweeping social revolutions in American history, in pursuit of their rights to a full and fair share of political power, economic opportunity, and personal autonomy.

    Online Resources

    • Discovering American Women's History Online
      This database provides access to digital collections of primary sources (photos, letters, diaries, artifacts, etc.) that document the history of women in the United States. These diverse collections range from Ancestral Pueblo pottery to interviews with women engineers from the 1970s.
    • Distinguished Women of Past and Present
      This site has biographies of women who contributed to our culture in many different ways. There are writers, educators, scientists, heads of state, politicians, civil rights crusaders, artists, entertainers, and others. Some were alive hundreds of years ago and some are living today. We've heard of some of them, while many more have been ignored by history book writers.
    • Famous Firsts in Women's History
      This compilation from History.com includes such Famous Firsts as the First Women's Rights Convention in Seneca Falls; First Woman to Win the Pulitzer Prize (Edith Wharton, 1921); First Female Member of the President's Cabinet (Frances Perkins, Secretary of Labor, 1933); First Woman on the Supreme Court (Sandra Day O'Connor, 1981), First female Secretary of State (Madeleine Albright, 1997), and many more.
    • Internet Women's History Sourcebook
      Contains full text of a wide range of primary source materials as well as secondary texts related to women in ancient history, early European history, modern European history, Latin America, United States, Asia, Afria, and Australia.
    • New Jersey Women's History
      This website was created by the Women's Project of New Jersey (WPNJ) to be a resource for students, teachers, and anyone who wants to learn more about the history of women in New Jersey. Of particular note for 2012, since the topic is Women's Education--Women's Empowerment, is the section on education which contains biographies of women educators in New Jersey, as well as key events.

    • On Pay Gap, Millennial Women Near Parity – For Now
      According to this new Pew Research Center Report which analyzes US census data Millenial young women are the first in modern history to start their work lives at near parity with men. In 2012, among workers ages 25 to 34, women’s hourly earnings were 93% those of men.
    • Women in World History
      Fairly comprehensive site on the history of women. The site includes reviews of Web pages, curriculua, primary sources etc.
    • Women's Rights Activists
      This listing, from Biography.com, provides biographies of both present and past women's rights advocates, plus biographies of women in many other areas.
    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip