It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Women's History Month: Women's History Month
ACFPL features an extensive collection of resources about women and their accomplishments, issues, history and more. This guide provides a sampling of the materials available on this subject to view more visit the library or browse the catalog.
National Women's History Month 2020
National Women’s History Month 2020
"Valiant Women of the Vote"
The National Women's History Alliance selects and publishes the yearly theme. The 2020 Women's History Month theme is “Valiant Women of the Vote.” The theme honors "the brave women who fought to win suffrage rights for women, and for the women who continue to fight for the voting rights of others."
The first steps toward celebrating women's history came in February 1980 when President Carter issued the first Presidential Proclamation declaring the Week of March 8th 1980 as National Women's History Week. By 1986, 14 states had already declared March as Women's History Month; this momentum was used to lobby Congress to declare March as National Women's History Month, and finally, in 1987, Congress declared March as National Women's History Month in perpetuity, with a special Presidential Proclamation issued each year to honor the achievements of American women.
Compilation of federal government resources celebrating Women's History Month, observed in March. Features exhibitions, biographies, articles and stories, lesson plans, plus additional material about women's history.
Infoplease.com celebrates Women's History Month and International Women's Day (March 8) by featuring articles on the women's history movement and on women's current status in politics, business, and the arts, plus biographies of famous women, and statistics about women. Also note in the Biography section are biographies of Women Educators.
Most of the basic information on women's history appears on About.com; topics include: Biographies of Famous Women, Women's History by Place, and Time; Women's History in Pictures, Women's History Books, and Women's History Month.
Use these resources in the library as a guest or from any internet connection with your library card.
Use Ebscohost:to obtain articles on Women's History Month and other important topics in Women's history, arts and culture.
This database provides access to digital collections of primary sources (photos, letters, diaries, artifacts, etc.) that show the history of women in the United States. This database provides access to digital collections of primary sources (photos, letters, diaries, artifacts, etc.) that document the history of women in the United States. These diverse collections range from Pueblo pottery to interviews with women engineers from the 1970s.
The database offers the following features:
Detailed descriptions and links to more than 700 digital collections
Quick access to basic and advanced searches on every page
Ability to browse by subject, place, time period, and primary source type
This site has biographies of women who contributed to our culture in many different ways, including writers, educators, scientists, heads of state, politicians, civil rights crusaders, artists, entertainers, and others. Some were alive hundreds of years ago and some are still alive today. Some are famous, while many more have been ignored by history book writers.
This compilation from History.com includes such Famous Firsts as the First Women's Rights Convention in Seneca Falls; First Woman to Win the Pulitzer Prize (Edith Wharton, 1921); First Female Member of the President's Cabinet (Frances Perkins, Secretary of Labor, 1933); First Woman on the Supreme Court (Sandra Day O'Connor, 1981), First female Secretary of State (Madeleine Albright, 1997), and many more.
Contains full text of a wide range of primary source materials as well as secondary texts related to women in ancient history, early European history, modern European history, Latin America, United States, Asia, Afria, and Australia.
This website was created by the Women's Project of New Jersey (WPNJ) to be a resource for students, teachers, and anyone who wants to learn more about the history of women in New Jersey. Of particular note for 2012, since the topic is Women's Education--Women's Empowerment, is the section on education which contains biographies of women educators in New Jersey, as well as key events.
This 2017 report on the pay gap between women and men from the American Association of University Women explains what exactly the pay gap is and provides recent statistics about it. The Big Number: 80 Percent
Did you know that in 2015, women working full time in the United States typically were paid just 80 percent of what men were paid, a gap of 20 percent? While the number has gone up one percentage point from 2014, the change isn’t statistically significant — because the increase is so small, mere tenths of a percent, it doesn’t amount to perceptible change. According to the U.S. Census Bureau, the earnings ratio hasn’t had significant annual change since 2007. The gap has narrowed since the 1970s, due largely to women’s progress in education and workforce participation and to men’s wages rising at a slower rate. Still, the pay gap does not appear likely to go away on its own. At the rate of change between 1960 and 2015, women are expected to reach pay equity with men in 2059. But even that slow progress has stalled in recent years. If change continues at the slower rate seen since 2001, women will not reach pay equity with men until 2152.
Review the story of how women have helped shape America over the last fifty years through one of the most sweeping social revolutions in American history, in pursuit of their rights to a full and fair share of political power, economic opportunity, and personal autonomy.
Why did Abigail Adams urge her husband to "remember the ladies"? Why was Harriet Tubman called the "Moses" of her people? Who founded the American RedCross? these are but a few of the questions answered in this video.
Presents the history of women's suffrage in the United States through the dramatic, often turbulent friendship of Elizabeth Cady Stanton and Susan Anthony. Part 1 covers the years from their youth up to the establishment of the National Woman Suffrage Association in 1868. Part 2 spans the period from 1868 to the passage in 1919 of the 19th amendment to the Constitution which gave women the vote.
Katherine Zoepf has lived in or traveled throughout the Arab world, reporting on the lives of women, whose role has never been more in flux. Only a generation ago, female adolescence as we know it in the West scarcely existed in the Middle East. There were only children and married women. Today, young Arab women outnumber men in universities, and a few are beginning to face down religious and social tradition in order to live independently, to delay marriage, and to pursue professional goals. Hundreds of thousands of devout girls and women are attending Qur'anic schools--and using the training to argue for greater freedoms from an Islamic perspective. And, in 2011, young women helped to lead anti-government protests in the Arab Spring. But their voices have not been heard. The world changes because of wars and terrorist attacks, but it also changes because daughters make different decisions than the ones their mothers made. This is an investigation into the changing lives of this generation of Arab daughters.
In these newly collected essays, interviews, and speeches, world-renowned activist and scholar Angela Y. Davis illuminates the connections between struggles against state violence and oppression throughout history and around the world. Reflecting on the importance of black feminism, intersectionality, and prison abolitionism for today's struggles, Davis discusses the legacies of previous liberation struggles, from the Black Freedom Movement to the South African anti-Apartheid movement. She highlights connections and analyzes today's struggles against state terror, from Ferguson to Palestine. Facing a world of outrageous injustice, Davis challenges us to imagine and build the movement for human liberation. And in doing so, she reminds us that "Freedom is a constant struggle."
This memoir depicts Coretta Scott King as a leader in her own right, as a dedicated pacifist, as a persistent adherent to principles of nonviolence, as a gritty fighter for her husband’s legacy, as a mother. It's a great and inspirational read .
"Steinem spent much of her life on the road, as a journalist, organizer, activist, and speaker. In vivid stories that span an entire career, Steinem writes about her time on the campaign trail, from Bobby Kennedy to Hillary Clinton; her early exposure to social activism in India, and the decades spent organizing ground-up movements in America; the taxi drivers who were "vectors of modern myths" and the airline stewardesses who embraced the feminist revolution; and the infinite, surprising contrasts, the "surrealism in everyday life" that Steinem encountered as she traveled back and forth across the country. With the unique perspective of one of the greatest feminist icons of the 20th and 21st centuries, here is an inspiring, profound, enlightening memoir of one woman's life-long journey".
In fact, we are on the brink of what Krawcheck calls the Fourth Wave of feminism, one that will bring unprecedented opportunities for women in business. This is all being driven by the fact that the business world is evolving in ways that play to women's strengths. Because in the increasingly complex and connected world; the skills and qualities needed for success are ones that women already possess. Here, Krawcheck draws on her experiences at the highest levels of business, both as one of the few women at the top of the biggest boys' club and as an entrepreneur, to show how women can tap into this growing power : to getting raises, to new takes on networking and mentoring, to navigating career breaks, to how to avoid the biggest career mistake that most women don't know they are making. At the same time, women have the opportunity to play a more significant role in making their companies places they want to work--or to leave and start their own, forging nontraditional career paths. Lighting the path to complete the revolution started by Gloria Steinem, Krawcheck shows how each of us can ride the wave of this revolution to own our careers and our futures.
Here are Afghan women in their own words. Words that are by turns inspiring, moving, courageous, and heartbreaking. Their powerful stories create a compelling portrait of the lives, struggles, and successes of this extraordinary nation and its extraordinarily resilient women. With an introduction by Laura Bush, honorary founding co-chair of the U.S.-Afghan Women’s Council.