This is the "Legal Resources" page of the "Legal Resources" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Legal Resources  

This guide provides a sampling of the materials available on this subject. To view more visit the library or browse the catalog.
Last Updated: Mar 10, 2014 URL: http://acfpl.libguides.com/legal Print Guide RSS Updates

Legal Resources Print Page
  Search: 
 

Codes & Statutes

NJ Courts

State & Federal Courts

Opinions & Decisions

 

Premium eResources

Thomson Gale Legal Forms Provides a wide selection of New Jersey (and multi-state) legal forms across the most popular legal areas. Includes real estate contracts, wills, pre-marital agreements, bankruptcy, divorce, landlord tenant and many others. Also included is a comprehensive attorney state directory and a dictionary of legal definitions explained in laymen's language.

Domestic Violence

  • Domestic Violence Atlantic County
    Atlantic County Women's Center
    Violence Intervention Program (VIP)
    1201 New Road, Suite 240
    Linwood, NJ 08221
    Emergency Shelter
    24 Hr. Toll free Hotline: 1-800-286-4184
    Phone: (609) 646-6767
    Office: (609) 601-9925
  • NJ Coalition Against Sexual Assault
    New Jersey Coalition Against Sexual Assault (NJCASA) Hotline 1 (800) 601-7200
    NJ Coalition Against Sexual Assault
    2333 Whitehorse Mercerville Rd. , Suite J
    Trenton, NJ 08619
    Hotline: 800-601-7200
    Phone: 609-631-4450 (Office)
    NJCASA Mission is to promote the compassionate and just treatment of survivors and their loved ones; and to change attitudes as we work toward the elimination of sexual violence against all people.
  • Statewide Domestic Violence Hotline
    Provides a statewide 24-hour, seven-day-a-week domestic violence hotline, 1-800-572-SAFE (7233), to serve domestic violence victims and others seeking information about domestic violence. The Hotline provides bilingual service and is accessible to the hearing impaired.
  • WomensLaw.org
    A project of NNEDV, providing legal information and support to victims of domestic violence and sexual assault.

Find a Lawyer

The Atlantic County Bar Association offers a Lawyer Referral Service that connects clients with attorneys. If you need an attorney in Atlantic County, NJ, please call 609-345-3444 or send an email. You can get general referrals, or referrals based on ocation and specialty.

  • NJ Lawyer Referral
    Lawyer referral provided for counties in New Jersey.
  • Attorneys.com
    Attorneys.com is a professional service (part of Martindale-Hubbell) that is free of charge and specifically designed to connect people with the right lawyer for their legal need. Whether dealing with an Auto Accident, a Divorce, Child Custody, Bankruptcy, Personal Injury, DUI/DWI, or Criminal Defense, attorneys.com takes the guesswork out of finding an experienced lawyer that you can trust.

  • Lawyer Locator
    Find individual lawyers and law firms by area of practice and
    location; also find ratings by peers.

Legal Assistance & Legal Research

  • South Jersey Legal Services
    26 South Pennsylvania Avenue,
    Suite 100, 1st floor
    Atlantic City, NJ 08401
    (609) 348-4200; Free Statewide Legal Hotline:
    1-888-576-5529
    Provides free legal assistance to low-income New Jersey residents for their civil legal problems.
  • Atlantic County Law Library
    1201 Bacharach Blvd
    Atlantic City, NJ 08401
    Located on 3rd Floor-East Wing
    (609) 345-6700
    Open Monday-Friday 8:30am -4:30pm
  • New Jersey Judiciary Ombudsman Program
    Atlantic/Cape May Counties
    Kathleen Obringer
    Phone: 609-594-3346
    In the Judiciary, the ombudsman is a staff person who answers questions, addresses concerns from the public and is responsible for improving customer service in the courts.
  • NJ Find Legal Help
  • U.S. Law Library of Congress--How Do I Find
    The guides listed here can help you begin a legal research project by offering quick techniques and a selection of legal resources and tools. Guides include Administrative Law, Beginner's Guide to Legal Research, Guide to Federal Statutes, and Researching Judicial Decisions and each one is prepared by a legal specialist from the Law Library of Congress.
  • Zimmerman's Research Guide
    An Online Encyclopedia for Legal Researchers.
 

Books Not to Miss

Cover Art
Leases & rental agreements / - Marcia Stewart & Ralph Warner
Looking for a quick way to create the key documents needed for owning or managing rental property, including a legally valid lease or rental agreement?
Leases & Rental Agreements provides the practical and legal information necessary you need.


Cover Art
Guralnick's New Jersey family law annotated : with related state and federal statutes : commentary and annotations / - Mark S. Guralnick
This latest edition for 2013-2014 covers New Jersey domestic relations and family law topics. Provides full text of statutes, court rules, and procedures. Includes general domestic relations provisions, marriage, adoption, child support, divorce, alimony, children and minors, child custody, family abuse, property and contracts, and more.

Cover Art
Criminal law : a desk reference - Paul Bergman
Unravels the mysteries of criminal law with a plain-English style that includes real-life examples. Arranged from A to Z, this desk reference explains criminal law, from abuse excuse to writ of habias corpus.

Cover Art
Same-sex legal kit for dummies - Carrie Stone
A practical, plain-English guide to the legal information and guidance LGBT people, whether single or coupled, need. From making medical decisions and leaving property to loved ones, to having and raising children, this guide will show you how to protect yourself, your partner, and your family.

Cover Art
Make your own living trust - Denis Clifford
Create a living trust and avoid probate with the information and legal forms you need to create the right trust for your family, including children's subtrusts, AB trusts, and back-up wills.

 

Making a Will in New Jersey

Do I need a lawyer to make a will in New Jersey?  No. You can make your own will in New Jersey, using Nolo's do-it-yourself will software or online will programs. However, you may want to consult a lawyer in some more complex situations.

What are the requirements for signing a will in New Jersey?  To finalize your will in New Jersey:

  • you must sign your will in front of two witnesses, and
  • your witnesses must sign your will.

Do I need to have my will notarized?  No, in New Jersey, you do not need to notarize your will to make it legal. 

However, New Jersey allows you to make your will "self-proving" and you'll need to go to a notary if you want to do that.A self-proving will speeds up probate because the court can accept the will without contacting the witnesses who signed it.  To make your will self-proving you and your witnesses will go to the notary and sign an affidavit that proves who you are and that each of you knew you were signing the will.  For more information, please go to the following url:  http://www.nolo.com/legal-encyclopedia/new-jersey-make-will-31805.html. 

 

Living Will in New Jersey

In New Jersey, a Living Will is called an Advanced Directive.  Here is the form, Instructive Directive (Living Will) [pdf 28k]

Completing an Advance Directive

Question: Do I need a lawyer to complete an advance directiveNo, you can complete an advance directive on your own.

Question: Does my advance directive have to be notarized?  No.

Question: Do I need a witness when I sign my advance directive?
Answer: If you have your advance directive notarized you don't need additional witnesses. Otherwise,  you can choose to sign and date your advance directive in front of two adult witnesses who must also sign and date the document. 

Police & Correctional Facilities

NJ Resources

  • You and the Law in New Jersey
    Site from Legal Services of New Jersey. Provides practical information on popular topics such as Tenant's Rights; Disability; Family and Relationships and more. Also operates a statewide legal hotline, at 1-888-LSNJ-LAW (1-888-576-5529).
  • NJ State Library: Legal Resources
  • Rutgers Law Library
    Contains useful Quick Links under Resources for the Public to the following:
    New Jersey Case Law
    New Jersey Statutes
    New Jersey Administrative Law Decisions
    New Jersey Housing Law and Policy Digital Archive
    New Jersey Digital Legal Library
    New Jersey Internet Research Guide
  • NJ Legal Practice Forms
    Since these forms were created for lawyers, they do not include instructions. However, although the forms are intended for use by attorneys, self-represented litigants are also allowed to use them, where appropriate.
  • NJ Law Network
    A key source for New Jersey Law and Information. This award winning site is well organized collection of NJ legal information, including NJ lawyers, law firms, and information about all major legal topics.

  • NJ Office of Attorney Ethics
    The Office of Attorney Ethics handles attorney discipline and offers an Ethics/Fee Arbitration Hotline at 1-(800)-406-8594. After entering the zip code where the attorney is located, calls will be transferred to the appropriate district ethics committee Secretary to request grievance forms; forms can also be printed here.
  • Access to Public Records
    This site is the state's official OPRA website, designed to offer information about public records and to help the public access them. In order to get access to the correct public record you need to determine which state agency has the records. This site provides an alphabetical listing of state agencies, plus a listing of topics of interest and services provided.

Trusted Legal Sites

  • Legal Information Institute (LII)
    Extensive materials on the law: brief summaries of law topics, with links to key primary sources; state and federal constitutions and codes; federal and state judicial opinions; federal, state, and international law by source or jurisdiction, and more.
  • American Law Sources On-line (ALSO!)
    Provides a comprehensive and useful compilation of links to all on-line sources of American law that are available without charge. Also contains additional links to sources of commentary and practice aids that are available without charge (or at a reasonable charge from governmental and nonprofit providers).
  • Government Printing Office
    United States Government Printing Office (GPO) is an agency of the legislative branch of the United States federal government. The office prints documents produced by and for the federal government, including the Supreme Court, the Congress, the Executive Office of the President, executive departments, and independent agencies.
  • PLoL: Public Library of Law
    Brings together a virtual library of case law, regulatory and other legal information into one searchable database. Provides free access to state Supreme and Appellate Court cases from 1997 to the present; also includes statutes, constitutions and court rules for all states. Also offers all Supreme Court cases; all federal circuit court cases from 1950 on, the US Code, the Code of Federal Regulations and Federal Court Rules . Initial registration is required to view cases.
  • Thomas
    Legislative information from the Library of Congress
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip