Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Hispanic Heritage Websites
Hispanic Heritage Month
September 15 to October 15 is National Hispanic Heritage Month Don't miss this amazing resource from the Library of Congress.
Famous Hispanic Inventors
Biographies of famous Latin or Hispanic inventors from the Latin world; countries of origin include: Argentina, Cuba, Spain, United States and Venezuela.
Handbook of Latin American Studies
The Handbook is a bibliography on Latin America consisting of works selected and annotated by scholars; considered to be a major research tool for Latin American studies.
Latin American Network Information Center (LANIC)
LANIC's mission is to facilitate access to Internet-based information to, from, or on Latin America.
Notable Hispanic Americans
This site, from Infoplease, offers short biographical sketches of Hispanic-Americans from all walks of life.
PEW Hispanic Center
Pew Hispanic Center is a nonpartisan research organization that seeks to improve understanding of the U.S. Hispanic population and to chronicle Latinos' growing impact on the nation.
Smithsonian Latino Center
The Smithsonian Latino Center celebrates Latino culture, spirit, and achievement in America.
Alter Ego [sound recording] by
Latin music superstar Prince Royce brings together many different sounds on his new album, which includes the singles El Clavo and Adicto, which also features Marc Anthony.
Opus [sound recording] by
A rhythmic drive that draws on contemporary and legacy styles from Cuba and Puerto Rico, with touches of Colombia, Jamaica, Spain, jazz, gospel, and more, to create a pan-hemispheric pop style that sounds natural in any country of the Americas.
Valiente [sound recording] by
Latin music superstar Thalia releases her first new album since 2016's Latina. It includes the tracks No Me Acuerdo; Lento; and Me Oyen, Me Escuchan.
Montaner [sound recording] by
Latin pop superstar Ricardo Montaner returns with a new album that includes the tracks Vasito de Agua; Madrugada; No Me Hagas Dano; and more.
Recursos Electronicos en Espanol
Referencia Latina: Spanish-language database, which offers content encyclopedias, Spanish-English dictionary, images; and health reports.
Facts about Hispanics in the U.S.
Hispanic Culture and Heritage
What Is la Hispanidad? by
Publication Date: 2011-03-01
Natives of the Iberian Peninsula and the twenty countries of Latin America, as well as their kinsfolk who've immigrated to the United States and around the world, share a common quality or identity characterized as la hispanidad. Or do they?
Mexicanos, Third Edition by
Publication Date: 2009-08-20
From the Publisher: Newly revised and updated, Mexicanos tells the rich and vibrant story of Mexicans in the United States. Emerging from the ruins of Aztec civilization and from centuries of Spanish contact with indigenous people, Mexican culture followed the Spanish colonial frontier northward and put its distinctive mark on what became the southwestern United States. Shaped by their Indian and Spanish ancestors, deeply influenced by Catholicism, and tempered by an often difficult existence, Mexicans continue to play an important role in U.S. society, even as the dominant Anglo culture strives to assimilate them. Thorough and balanced, Mexicanos makes a valuable contribution to the understanding of the Mexican population of the United States-a growing minority who are a vital presence in 21st-century America.
The Hispanic Condition by
Publication Date: 2001-11-06
In The Hispanic Condition, Ilan Stavans offers a subtle and insightful meditation on Hispanic society in the United States. A native of Mexico, Stavans has emerged as one of the most distinguished Latin American writers of our time, an award-winning novelist and critic praised by scholars and beloved by readers. In this pioneering psycho-historical profile, he delves into the cultural differences and similarities among the five major Hispanic groups: Cubans, Puerto Ricans, Mexicans, Central and South Americans, and Spaniards.
My (Underground) American Dream by
Publication Date: 2016-09-13
For an undocumented immigrant, what is the true cost of the American dream? Julissa Arce shares her story in a riveting memoir. When she was 11 years old Julissa Arce left Mexico and came to the United States on a tourist visa to be reunited with her parents, who dreamed the journey would secure her a better life. When her visa expired at the age of 15, she became an undocumented immigrant. Thus began her underground existence, a decades long game of cat and mouse, tremendous family sacrifice, and fear of exposure. After the Texas Dream Act made a college degree possible, Julissa's top grades and leadership positions landed her an internship at Goldman Sachs, which led to a full time position--one of the most coveted jobs on Wall Street. Soon she was a vice president, a rare Hispanic woman in a sea of suits and ties, yet still guarding her 'underground' secret. In telling her personal story of separation, grief, and ultimate redemption, Arce shifts the immigrant conversation, and changes the perception of what it means to be an undocumented immigrant
Publication Date: 2017-09-26
Todo en la vida tiene su momento. Benditas sean las experiencias y el aprendizaje que nos hacen recordar y revisar el camino por donde hemos andado.Con la cancion titulada "Autobiografia" decidi contarte un poco de mi historia de inmigrante que, a traves de mi libro, conoceras con mas detalle.Compartir mi vida en estas paginas me ha llenado de satisfaccion y ha movido cada fibra en lo mas profundo de mi ser... espero que al terminar de leerlo sientas que me conoces mas, y si has pasado o estas pasando situaciones similares a las que yo vivi, sepas que no estas solo.
Mi Mundo Adorado by
Publication Date: 2014-01-07
The first Hispanic and third woman appointed to the United States Supreme Court, Sonia Sotomayor has become an American icon. Now she recounts her life from a Bronx housing project to the federal bench, a journey that provides an inspirational testament to her own extraordinary determination and the power of believing in oneself.
Becoming Maria by
Publication Date: 2015-08-25
Pura Belpre Honor winner for The Revolution of Evelyn Serrano and one of America's most influential Hispanics--'Maria' on Sesame Street--delivers a beautifully wrought coming-of-age memoir. Set in the 1950s in the Bronx, this is the story of a girl with a dream. Emmy award-winning actress and writer Sonia Manzano plunges us into the daily lives of a Latino family that is loving--and troubled. This is Sonia's own story rendered with an unforgettable narrative power. When readers meet young Sonia, she is a child living amidst the squalor of a boisterous home that is filled with noisy relatives and nosy neighbors. Each day she is glued to the TV screen that blots out the painful realities of her existence and also illuminates the possibilities that lie ahead. But--click!--when the TV goes off, Sonia is taken back to real-life--the cramped, colorful world of her neighborhood and an alcoholic father. But it is Sonia's dream of becoming an actress that keeps her afloat among the turbulence of her life and times. Spiced with culture, heartache, and humor, this memoir paints a lasting portrait of a girl's resilience as she grows up to become an inspiration to millions
Don't miss the Spanish language DVDs in the foreign language films!
7:19 La Hora Del Temblor [videorecording]
It was 7:19 a.m. when Mexico City was hit by the most devastating earthquake in the history of that country. A handful of survivors from different social classes try to stay alive while they wait to be rescued.
Gloria / [videodisc]
A story set in Santiago and centered on Gloria, a free-spirited older woman, and the realities of her whirlwind relationship with a former naval officer whom she meets out in the clubs.
Latino Authors and Literature
Aquellos años Del Boom: García Márquez, Vargas Llosa y el Grupo de Amigos Que lo Cambiaron Todo / Those Boom Years by
Publication Date: 2019-04-23
No hay placas que lo conmemoren, pero el movimiento más importante de la literatura en castellano durante el siglo XX se abrió al mundo desde Barcelona entre los años 1967 y 1976. El boom latinoamericano fue, en igual medida, un cruce de solidaridades revolucionarias y un fenómeno polifónico que se articuló en la ciudad catalana, a la luz de editores, agentes literarios y bares donde la dictadura franquista se hacía cada vez más frágil, en un proceso en el que asimismo resulta obligado viajar a Ciudad de México, Buenos Aires, La Habana, París y Nueva York.
El Mordisco de la Guayaba / the Bite of Guava by
Publication Date: 2018-06-26
With The Bite of Guava , this unique Latin American family's original sin is born. A sin in the form of a man who will drive four generations of intelligent, educated women crazy. Upon the birth of Alfonso, the great-grandmother prophesies the tragic fate of the women in his family. Four generations later, Primitiva Serapio, a shy, dull, frightened child succumbs to madness and gives free rein to Mulatona Montiel, her alter ego, a free, voluptuous, irreverent, strong woman. Both coexist in the same body, but one doesn't hesitate to overtake the other. This is their story. The tale you'd feel like losing your sanity with. A new classic."El Mordisco de la guayaba offers both a vivid, delicious irreverent story and an original and incarnated voice. This feminin and feminist saga plays with the codes of the latin-american literature with mischief and derision. You will fall in love with both Primitiva and Mulatona and will not be able to put it down. Bite the guayaba!" - Claire Do Sêrro, Editorial Director of NiL / Editions Robert Laffont Venezuela
The Routledge Concise History of Latino/a Literature by
Publication Date: 2013-01-30
Frederick Luis Aldama traces a historical path through Latino/a literature, examining both the historical and political contexts of the works, as well as their authors and the readership. He also provides an enlightening analysis of:
the differing sub-groups of Latino/a literature, including Mexican American, Cuban American, Puerto Rican American, Dominican American, and Central and South American émigré authors
established and emerging literary trends such as the postmodern, historical, chica-lit storytelling formats and the graphic novel
key literary themes, including gender and sexuality, feminist and queer voices, and migration and borderlands.
Modern Latin American Literature: a Very Short Introduction by
Publication Date: 2012-01-24
Introduction -- Poetry from romanticism to modernismo : Bello to Darío -- Nineteenth-century prose : the revelation of Latin America -- Poetry from modernismo to modernism -- Latin American fiction in the twentieth century : regionalism to modernism -- Latin American literature today -- Further reading.