Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The Atlantic City Free Public Library
AARP – Money
This section of the AARP website provides information on saving for retirement, estate planning, employment options, consumer protection, and more.
PERS, TPAF, PFRS, or SPRS members must submit loan requests using the Loan Application programs of the Member Benefits Online System (MBOS) www.state.nj.us/treasury/pensions or the New Automated Information System at (609) 777-1777, available 24/7. When using MBOS or the Automated Information System, you can determine your eligibility to borrow, the maximum amount you may borrow, and have your loan request processed.
Use these resources from USA.gov to help estimate retirement benefits, learn about factors that could affect your retirement, and more.
RetirementRevised.com is published and edited by Mark Miller, a journalist, author and editor who is a nationally-recognized expert on trends in retirement and aging. The site’s focus is the reinvention of traditional retirement–how the baby boom generation is revising its approach to careers, money and lifestyle after age 50.
Social Security Online: Retirement Planner
If you are looking for information, you can: Find your retirement age, Estimate your life expectancy, Estimate Your Retirement Benefits, using the benefit calculators to test different retirement ages; and Learn about Social Security programs. If you are near retirement age, you can: Discover your retirement options; Get information about how members of your family may qualify for benefits; Find instructions on how to apply for benefits and what supporting documents you may need to supply; and Apply for retirement benefits. If you are close to age 65, you can find out how to apply for just Medicare. You may need to sign up for Medicare close to your 65th birthday, even if you are still working. If you are getting Social Security benefits when you turn 65, your Medicare Hospital Benefits will start automatically.
Women's Institute For A Secure Retirement
The site contains a variety of consumer publications including fact sheets, booklets and other materials that explain complex financial issues in easy-to-understand language.
Volunteer Opportunities Atlantic County
For additional information about Volunteer opportunities in Atlantic County please contact Susan Worthington, our Volunteer Coordinator at(609) 343-2233 or send her an email at firstname.lastname@example.org.
AmeriCorps Senior is a network of programs--e.g. Foster Grandparents, Senior Companions, and RSVP (the Retired and Senior Volunteer Program). Please visit the website or call 1-800-424-8867 for more information.
To search for volunteer opportunities, please select a category or activity (i.e.; from archaeology to weed/invasive species control), the page will return all the opportunities for this category for every state. If you only want to see an activity in your state; you may click it on the map for opportunities just for that state.
Create the Good
Got 5 minutes? 5 hours? Find good that fits you and your community. Connect with ways to share your life experience and skills that match your schedule and interests.
VolunteerMatch strengthens communities by making it easier for good people and good causes to connect. It has become the preferred internet recruiting tool for more than 86,000 nonprofit organizations.
Peace Corps – Older Volunteers Program
Peace Corps opportunities for 50+ volunteers.
Retirement News and Commentary
Learning Express: Improve your computer skills, and study for the TASC and GED tests with courses, study guides, practice tests and more.
Tutor.com: Tutoring is available for adults too! Live tutors are onine from 3 to 10 p.m. every day. Study guides are available at all times. Look in Test Prep Resources for guides to the: GED, standardized New Jersey school tests, ASVAB, Civil Service Exams, TOEFL, Nurse Entrance Test and more.
AARP Legal Services Network
The AARP Legal Services Network is a free member benefit for AARP members and their spouses/partners and provides easy access to a large directory of attorneys. Where available these attorneys have agreed to provide specific benefits to AARP members at discounted rates. Visit their website at www.aarplsn.com.
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA)
Signed into law on July 26, 1990, the ADA is a comprehensive civil rights law. It prohibits discrimination on the basis of disability in employment, state and local government programs, public accommodations, commercial facilities, transportation, and telecommunications. For more in-depth information, visit www.ada.gov.
Elder law deals with specific legal issues faced by senior citizens including estate planning, trusts, wills, guardianships and other issues that confront older adults such as Social Security and Medicare. The National Academy of Elder Law Attorneys (NAELA) can help locate a certified elder law attorney. Visit its website at www.naela.org and click on “Public,” then “Directory,” and enter your city or Zip Code or call 520-881-4005.
Legal Services--Atlantic County
Intergenerational Services has a contract with Cape-Atlantic Legal Services to provide free legal assistance to low-income elderly and disabled residents. It can help with landlord/tenant issues, wills and living wills, food stamp appeals, domestic matters and consumer fraud issues. To schedule an appointment, call the agency directly at (609) 348-4200 or 800-870-7547.
Baby Boomers in the Workplace
WorkSearch Information Network (W.I.N.) is a great online employment guide that covers the whole job search process from start to finish. Get Started with five short steps that help you set employment goals and organize your job search:
Explore Careers to find out which job is best for you; Learn about the current Job Search Process to increase your chances of finding a job; Go Inside the Employer’s Mind and find out what employers are really looking for; Tap into social media and connect with other job seekers in the Tutorials and Tools section.
Civic Ventures, a nonprofit think tank, focuses on creating pathways to encore careers that provide continued income doing work that is personally fulfilling and helps address some of society’s biggest challenges.
Encore.org is not a job placement service, it provides free, comprehensive information that helps individuals transition to jobs in the nonprofit and public sector.
Experience Works - Formerly known as Green Thumb, Experience Works is a national, nonprofit organization that provides training and employment services for mature workers over 55 in 30 states, including NJ.
RetiredBrains is the largest independent job and information resource for boomers, retirees and people planning their retirement.
RetirementJobs.com's goal is to identify companies most-suited to older workers and match them with active, productive, conscientious, mature adults seeking a job or project that matches their lifestyle. RetirementJobs.com service is completely free for job seekers.
Senior Community Service Employment Program
SCSEP is the nation’s oldest program to help low-income, unemployed individuals aged 55+ find work. SCSEP matches eligible older adults with part-time jobs for community service organizations. The National Council on Aging manages 27 SCSEP offices, including one in Vineland, NJ.
Senior Job Bank
For more than a decade, SeniorJobBank.org has been committed to bringing together employers with qualified older job seekers. Many companies advertising are committed to hiring baby boomers and older workers as part of their hiring strategy and truly believe in the value of this talent pool. Check out the company list on the Job Seekers Page.
Workforce50.com arms the older workforce with employment resources and career information to achieve their goals. Help them to make the most of their talents.
WorkForce 55+ is a federally funded program that offers economically disadvantaged seniors, 55 years of age and older, jobs and training. This program is authorized under Title V of the Older Americans Act, and administered by the NJ Department of Labor and Workforce Development. Applicants must meet income criteria to be eligible for this program. Find out how WorkForce 55+ can help you, contact a local One-Stop Career Center for information.
Baby Boomers Connecting and Travel
Sixty and Me (formerly boomerly.com)
Sixty and Me is a free discovery and messaging service that helps older adults to make friends with people who share their interests. It’s not a dating site, forum or social network. It’s an easy-to-use messaging service that makes it easy to find and talk with people just like you.
An adventure travel company designed exclusively for ages 50 and up offers off-the-beaten-path, small-group trips in more than 100 countries.
Considerable (formerly grandparents.com)
Considerable.com is the place for today’s new generation of active, involved grandparents to find everything they need to get more fun, more smiles, and more memories out of the time they spend with their grandchildren.
Spanning health, finance and spirituality, these articles focus on getting the most out of "life after work.” The interactive site invites you to join online classes and ask questions of experts in senior-related matters.
Road Scholar (formerly Elder Hostel)
Not-for-profit Road Scholar inspires adults to learn, discover and travel. Our learning adventures engage expert instructors, provide extraordinary access, and stimulate discourse and friendship among people for whom learning is the journey of a lifetime.
Exclusively designed for singles over 50.
Third Age is focused on serving "boomer & beyond" women.
Modeled on traditional fitness clubs, these brain gyms help aging baby boomers keep their minds sharp with computer training programs that boost memory and alertness.
Seniors Love to Know
Catering to seniors, their adult children and caregivers, this site covers topics from fashion, beauty, and home décor to financial planning and shopping for antiques.
Library Website | Library Catalog | Contact the Library | Call the Library: 609.345.2269