Consumer Protection
- Senior Fraud Education and PreventionScam artists are targeting seniors and this program helps bring them to justice.
- Protect Yourself From Elder FraudProtecting New Jersey’s senior citizens is a primary goal of the Division of Consumer Affairs. The first step in protecting yourself is learning to
recognize fraudulent schemes. This brochure tells how to protect yourself from home repair and telemarketing scams. For more information, call 800-242-5846
or Visit website at www.NJConsumerAffairs.gov. - Consumer Protection for SeniorsPart of the atlantic-county.org website. Learn about rights for the elderly, detect and prevent medicare fraud, and more.
Housing
- Atlantic City Housing Authority ApplicationAll housing applications must be completed on-line. To access applications use this link.
- Medicaid Managed Long Term Services and Supports (MLTSS)Beginning July 1, 2014, participants in the Medicaid waiver programs listed below will be automatically enrolled in the Managed Long Term Services and Supports (MLTSS) program through their current Medicaid managed care organization , also known as a health plan: Global Options for Long-Term Care (GO).
- Low Rent Apartment Search from HUDThe government gives funds directly to apartment owners, who lower the rents they charge low-income tenants. This site, from HUD, allows you to search for low-rent apartments for seniors/ disabled, for those who meet the income limit. To apply, please visit the management office for the apartments that interest you.
- Making Home AffordableIf you need help paying your mortgage, you may be eligible for assistance through the Making Home Affordable program, featuring the following: Refinancing to obtain lower mortgage interest rates; Lowering mortgage payments; Getting mortgage relief for the unemployed; Getting help when more is owed than the home is worth; Avoiding foreclosure.
- Medical Foster HomesMedical Foster Homes are private homes in which a trained caregiver provides services to a few individuals, including Veterans. VA inspects and approves all Medical Foster Homes. A Medical Foster Home can be an alternative to a nursing home, for Veterans who prefer a non-institutional setting. Medical Foster Homes have a trained caregiver on duty 24 hours a day, 7 days a week, who can assist with the activities of daily living.
- NJ Housing Resource Center (HRC)The Housing Resource Center provides a statewide listing of vacant for sale and rental properties. Visit www.njhrc.gov to search thousands of affordable units.
HRC is free and anonymous, and vacancy information is updated biweekly. Foreclosue Prevention Resources are also provided. - Reverse MortgageWith a reverse mortgage you can turn the value of your home into cash without having to sell the property, move out of it, or repay a loan every month. Before entering into a reverse mortgage agreement educate yourself, consult with trusted advisors and understand the pros and cons; find more information from AARP.
Help for the Elderly and Disabled
- BenefitsCheckUpThis website, from the National Council on Aging, helps consumers find benefits programs that help them pay for prescription drugs, health care, rent, utilities, and other needs. The BenefitsCheckUp Website includes information from more than 1,650 public and private benefits programs from all 50 states and the District of Columbia.
- NJ EASENJ EASE is the easy way for seniors and their families to get information about and access senior services. NJ EASE staff members are trained to provide answers and information on a wide variety of topics, including: Healthcare, Insurance, Home Care, Long Term Care, Transportation, Nutrition, Social Activities and Volunteer Opportunities. For more information, call 1-877-222-3737 or visit http://www.seniorsresourceguide.com/directories/National/NJEASE/index.html.
- NJ HelpsNJ Helps is a website created by the New Jersey Department of Human
Services. It is a free and easy way to learn about and “pre-screen” for 28 assistance programs including SNAP, (formerly called Food Stamps), WIC, New Jersey Family Care, PAAD, Senior Gold and more. To see if you may qualify for any of these programs, please visit www.njhelps.org. - New Jersey Aging and Disability Resource Connection (ADRC)The New Jersey Aging and Disability Resource Connection (ADRC) provides information and assistance to older persons, adults with physical disabilities, caregivers and professionals looking for services or programs. Use the search feature to find an organization that can help you with your needs; just enter the search term(s) in the box--e.g. adult day care, acupuncture, or arthritis, or any other topic that you need help with. Or call toll-free at 1-877-222-3737.
- NJ Division of Disability Services (DDS)The Division of Disability Services focuses on serving people who have become disabled as adults, whether through illness or injury. However, the division serves as a single point of entry for all those with disabilities needing information and/or services, regardless of age. To learn about disability services and/or to request a comprehensive disability specific resource directory, please call the Division of Disability Services’ toll-free number at 1-888-285-3036 or visit their website.
- Statewide Benefits for Older PersonsThis on-line publication is a guide to many of the programs and services offered to older adults by the State of New Jersey.
- Tax Information for SeniorsThe NJ Division of Taxation administers a number of programs providing tax relief to seniors.
- Eldercare LocatorThe Eldercare Locator is a free, information and referral service for finding eldercare services and caregiver support in any U.S. community. You can start your search by selecting zip code OR city/state OR topic. For more information, please visit the website, or call 1-800-677-1116.
- GovBenefitsBenefits.gov is the official benefits website of the U.S. government. It tells citizens of benefits they may be eligible for; and Provides information on how to apply for assistance.
- Veterans BenefitsThe eBenefits portal is a Veterans Administration one-stop shop for benefits-related online tools and information. The portal is designed for Wounded Warriors, Veterans, Service members, their families, and those who care for them. You can also get information from the National Hotline for VA benefits at 1-800-827-1000.
- USA.gov for SeniorsUSA.gov for Seniors site helps users access all government sites that provide services for senior citizens. You can also call 1-800-FED-INFO.
- Disability.govDisability.gov is a comprehensive Federal website of disability-related government resources.
Books Audiobooks and DVDs Not to Miss
Retirement Reinvention by ISBN: 9780143131915Publication Date: 2018-03-06For twenty years, Robin Ryan has been helping clients get the most out of their careers and their lives. Now, in Retirement Reinvention, she shatters the myths of retirement. The old model of retirement is changing. The majority of retirees today are seeking fun and meaningful ways to spend their time.
Full of practical advice, this thought-provoking guide offers readers a path for reinventing their own retirements, including step-by-step instructions for:
• Leaving an old career behind
• Pinpointing interests and skills
• Exploring different places to live
• Defining new, satisfying opportunities
• Finding meaningful ways to give back to your community
• Striking the right balance between work and leisure
From starting a dream business to shifting to the nonprofit sector to volunteering, Robin Ryan will help you create a plan and pivot toward a future as vital as it is truly rewarding.
Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram for Seniors for Dummies by ISBN: 9781119541417Publication Date: 2018-12-18Enjoy the top social media sites with ease and security Done correctly, social media is a way to connect friends, family, and the world while still maintaining security and privacy. Facebook, Twitter, & Instagram For Seniors For Dummies, 3rd Edition offers advice on how to enjoy the three most popular social media options while avoiding worry about who sees what you share. Written by social media expert Marsha Collier, this book walks you through establishing accounts, making connections, and sharing content including photos and video. You learn the settings to adjust on each platform to maintain privacy and filter out the content you don't want. This book also explains the subtle art of avoiding or blocking people on social platforms without jeopardizing your real-world relationships! Take control of what you share Connect with others Take and share your best pictures Use social media as a news source Social media sites are great fun once you learn how to cut through the clutter and this book shows you how!
Quick and legal will book by Make your own legal will, quickly & easily! If you want to create a will with the least amount of time and trouble, Quick & Legal Will Book is for you. It offers forms and step-by-step instructions to make a basic will that meets your needs. Find out how to: Name beneficiaries; Choose a guardian; Set up a trust for minors;Name an executor; Finalize your will; Change or revoke a will. The book provides all the forms you need on CD-ROM, including an all-purpose will, and customized wills for the following: Single person with no children; Single person with children; Married person with and without children.
Social Security, Medicare and Government Pensions by ISBN: 9781413323559Publication Date: 2017-02-27Learn about Medicare coverage, including Part D prescription drug coverage, and understand medigap insurance and Medicare managed care and what makes the most sense for you. And if you are denied for any medical treatment or benefits, this book teaches you how to file an appeal with Medicare, Social Security, or your state's Medicaid agency. Also learn how to claim disability benefits, veterans benefits, and federal retirement benefits. This edition updates benefit numbers for Social Security, Medicare, and SSI for 2017.
Macs for Seniors for Dummies by ISBN: 9781119607823Publication Date: 2019-11-12It’s never too late to become an expert on Macs―and this friendly, updated guide written specifically for the 50+ set is the easy way to do it! Featuring larger text and figures, Macs for Seniors for Dummies takes you through all you need to know to get the most out of your Apple computer. It makes it simple for you to stay in touch with family and friends, enjoy your favorite music, TV, and movies, and hang with the younger generation using the latest social apps and video games.
Beginning with which Mac to choose for your needs, you’ll learn about setting up your computer, understanding files and folders, getting the most from the latest operating system, navigating the desktop, and troubleshooting common problems. And once you’ve found your feet there, it’ll be time to get creative with home movies and photography, chat face-to-face live on video, communicate through email―the sky’s the limit!
Set up and customize your Mac
Make FaceTime calls and send emails
Store photos and files using iCloud
Play video, movies, podcasts, and games
Macs are for all ages! Show the Millennials in your life a thing or two and become a pro with yours today!
Atlantic County Senior Services
New Jersey Governor Phil Murphy mandated that all libraries close to the public in order to stop the spread of Coronavirus. All in-person programming has been suspended for the foreseeable future. In response, the Atlantic City Free Public Library has moved some of its programming online. Click here to view the library's online classes.
The library also offers a variety of online resources. Click here to access our premium e-resources.
Information and Assistance Call the toll free number - 1 (888) 426-9243 for information and assistance services for all age groups. Knowledgeable staff are available 8:00 am to 5:00 pm to provide information on such programs as PAAD, Senior Gold, Adult Day Care, Transportation, Home-Delivered Meals, and Caregiver Support Groups.
Low income Atlantic County residents, age 60 years and above are encouraged to take advantage of the farm market Produce Voucher program, coordinated through the Atlantic County Division of Intergenerational Services, that provides an opportunity to purchase locally grown produce using $20 worth of free vouchers, which can be used at participating farm markets from July through October. The Atlantic County Division of Intergenerational Services has received 1,000 vouchers from the U.S. Department of Agriculture which will be distributed on a first-come, first- served basis at the county's senior centers and several senior housing complexes. Please see website at https://www.atlantic-county.org/intergenerational-services/produce-voucher-program.asp for requirements
Fix-It-Program The Fix-It Program is available to any senior citizen 60 or older, whose safety is at risk due to the need for handrails and minor home repairs, enabling them to remain at home. Call 1 (888) 426-9243.
Legal Services Intergenerational Services has a contract with Cape-Atlantic Legal Services to provide free legal assistance to low-income elderly and disabled residents. It will assist the elderly and disabled with landlord/tenant issues, wills and living wills, food stamp appeals, domestic matters and consumer fraud matters. To schedule an appointment, call the agency directly at (609) 348-4200 or 800-870-7547.
Meals on Wheels (Home Delivered Meals) Home-delivered meals are available for frail individuals sixty years of age or older who are unable to leave the confines of home and cannot prepare their own meals. For further information please call (888) 426-9243
Senior Centers Atlantic County--Seniors sixty years of age and older can attend programs at any of the Atlantic City and County centers. The centers offer a variety of activities including crafts, line dancing, computer classes, self defense courses and bingo. The centers are open from 9:00 AM to 2:00 PM, and a lunch time meal is provided. Transportation to the centers can be arranged by calling one of the centers:
Jeffries Towers
227 N. Vermont Avenue
Atlantic City, NJ
(609) 345-7005
Herman Pogachefsky Center
1102 Atlantic Avenue
Atlantic City, NJ
(609) 345-5555
Ventnor
6500 Atlantic Avenue
Ventnor, NJ
(609) 823-7994
Transportation--All county residents who are 60 years of age or older, have a disability, or a veteran traveling to/from qualified medical centers, are eligible to receive transportation from the A.C.T.U. It is recommended that all "life essential" service requests be scheduled 7 days in advance of service date. Reservations are accepted weekdays from 1-4pm on a first-come first served basis by calling the County of Atlantic Transportation Unit at 609-645-5910.; next and same day trips are accepted when space permits.
Veterans Services The Veterans Services Officer provides assistance, referrals and case management services to military veterans and their family members regarding their legal rights and eligibility for services and service-related benefits. The Veterans Services Officer is located at the Vet's Center in Ventnor to help provide "one stop" shopping for veterans and their families. Please Call 609-487-6932.
Identification and Legal Services
Birth Certificates from the NJ Dept of Health Vital Satistics and Registry. To get a copy of a vital record, you must submit: Completed application, copy of the proof ofI your dentity, applicable Fee, and Proof of your relationship to the person listed on the vital record you are requesting.
County ID Cards County Photo Identification Cards are available to senior county residents, 60 and over in the Mays Landing office only at 5901 Main St. Mays Landing, NJ, 08330, 609-641-7847. Included on this card is your photo, name, address, date of birth, height, weight, eye and hair color, and signature.
Legal Services Atlantic County Intergenerational Services has a contract with Cape-Atlantic Legal Services to provide free legal assistance to low-income elderly and disabled residents. It will assist people with landlord/tenant issues, wills and living wills, food stamp appeals, domestic matters and consumer fraud matters. To schedule an appointment, call the agency directly at (609) 348-4200 or 800-870-7547.
Utilities Assistance
- Home Energy AssistanceThe Home Energy Assistance Program (HEA & LIHEAP) helps very low-income residents with their heating /cooling bills. To apply, fill out the Home Energy/USF/Weatherization Program application at http://www.state.nj.us/dca/divisions/dhcr/forms/docs/heaappl.pdf-- print and complete the application and submit it to local Community Action Agency. For more information please call the toll-free hotline at 1-800-510-3102.
- LifelineLifeline is a utility assistance program consisting of three programs: Lifeline Credit Program provides a $225 credit on electric and gas utility bills for eligible beneficiaries. Tenants Lifeline Assistance Program provides a $225 check to eligible tenants who have the cost of gas and electric utilities included in their rent. While Special Utility Supplement provides a supplement of up to $18.75 a month to recipients of Supplemental Security Income (SSI) in place of a Lifeline Utility credit or Tenants Lifeline Assistance payment. $225 to those who meet the PAAD eligibility requirements or who receive SSI. You may be eligible for Lifeline if you meet the following requirements: NJ resident, 65 or older, and Annual income for 2012 of less than $25,312 if single or less than $31,035 if married.
- Lifeline (Telephone)New Jersey Lifeline Service Providers: Assurance Wireless Phone Number: 877-378-1761 or www.assurancewireless.com: Safelink apply at www.safelinkwireless.com; ReachOut Wireless apply at www.reachoutwireless.com or call 1-877-870-9444. Other providers. like Verizon. only offer landline phones.
- NJ SharesNJ SHARES provides energy assistance to moderate and fixed-income households (if not qualified for Federal or Sate assistance programs) experiencing a financial crisis. Guidelines for Seniors and the Disabled: Applicants at least 65 are eligible for NJ SHARES if the maximum household income is $80,000 annually or $6,666 monthly.