Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The Atlantic City Free Public Library
The Enviropaedia covers a wide range of environmental sustainability issues with encyclopedia-like information. The site also offers a Database of environmental & other organisations involved in sustainable development.
EPA efforts in the area of sustainability practices and approaches include labeling green products and promoting green chemistry and engineering, managing materials rather than creating waste, using green infrastructure to manage storm water runoff, and supporting the sustainable design of communities.
Green Vehicle Guide (EPA)
Use this guide to choose the cleanest and most fuel-efficient vehicle that meets your needs. Low emissions and good fuel economy are both important for the environment.
The Green Guide
National Geographic's Green Guide offers environment friendly (green) product information, news, blogs, and a free weekly e-newsletter.
Sustainable Communities Network
"The Sustainable Communities Network is for those who want to help make their communities more livable." Provides links to resources on smart growth, economic sustainability, protecting natural resources, and governing community.
Sustainability from Encyclopedia of Earth
Defines the concept of sustainability, provides frameworks and discusses the term's roots in economics. Also provides a list of books for further reading.
It's Easy Being Green--Tips from the Web
Green Living Blogs
Green Living Guy
Blog from Seth Leitman, known as THAT GREEN LIVING GUY. He is the guy that answers questions “people are afraid to ask” about Going Green.
Leafygreen.info has strives to get the message out about green living. They offer honest reviews on eco-friendly products, based on actual use, and never exagerrated or greenwashed.
Easy Eco Blog
For those daunted by the prospect of changing a way of life, “Easy Eco Blog” offers a mostly painless solution that promises maximum impact with minimal effort; find user-friendly tips for greener living arranged by level of difficulty, explore the how, what and why of composting and get the latest news on cities leading the drive for zero waste.
Books and Audiobooks Not to Miss
All you need is less : the eco-friendly guide to guilt-free green living and stress-free simplicity by
"All You Need is Less is about realistically adopting an eco-friendly lifestyle without either losing your mind from the guilt of using a plastic bag because you forgot your reusable ones or becoming a preachy know-it-all whom everyone loathes. This whole eco-friendly thing seems to have evolved into a horrific cycle of guilt, shaming and one-upping, and as a result people are becoming exhausted and annoyed ' It doesn't have to be this way; it's possible to take easy baby-steps towards a more earth-friendly lifestyle without stress, guilt, or eco-shaming. Top eco blogger Madeleine Somerville is here with really original ideas on how to save money and the planet. Somerville has emerged as the voice of reason on urban homesteading that is stress-free, sanity-based and above all do-able".
Go green, spend less, live better : the ultimate guide to saving the planet, saving money, and protecting your health by
Go Green, Spend Less, Live Better is an authoritative, practical guide that details the money-saving side of greener, healthier, and simpler living. Bestselling author of It’s Easy Being Green and sustainable-living expert Crissy Trask provides a handbook for making better decisions about our homes, how we get around, what we eat, and how we behave as consumers, in order to achieve two desirable and important goals—to be better off financially and to do what is good for the planet. Laying out steps that will provide immediate results, Trask also offersexplanations of bigger commitments that take time to implement, but also produce much bigger savings. With her practical money-saving strategies and environmental know-how, Trask empowers readers to confidently pursue change, knowing their bank accounts will grow as a result. Go Green, Spend Less, Live Better shows how typical families can easily save at least $10,000—and as much as $30,000—in the first year alone by greening up some key areas of their homes and lives.
Plastic Purge by
Plastic Purge will make you smarter about the role of plastic in society and show you how to reduce the presence of plastic in your own life. Read this book: You’ll be healthier, and so will the planet. Although author Michael SanClements is an environmental scientist, he doesn’t write like one; Plastic Purge is lively, informative and even fun.
Library Website | Library Catalog | Contact the Library | Call the Library: 609.345.2269