Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The Atlantic City Free Public Library
Candidates, Parties, and Issues
Ballotpedia is the online encyclopedia of American politics and elections. Our goal is to inform people about politics by providing accurate and objective information about politics at all levels of government. For Election Day, be sure to check out their Sample Ballet
Project Vote Smart Vote Easy
Project Vote Smart is "a national library of factual information on candidates for public office from President of the United States down to state legislature. Information provided includes: backgrounds, issue positions, voting records, and campaign finance.
A nonpartisan, nonprofit “consumer advocate” for voters that aims to reduce the level of deception and confusion in U.S. politics. They monitor the factual accuracy of what is said by major U.S. political candidates in the form of TV ads, debates, speeches, interviews and news releases.
Evaluates factual truth in American politics. Reporters and editors fact-check statements by members of Congress, the White House, lobbyists, and interest groups and rate them on a "Truth-O-Meter."
Elections Leading News Resources
MasterFILE™ Premier contains full text for almost 1,700 magazines covering current issues (e.g. elections and voting), politics and more.
Newsbank -Check the Press of Atlantic City for coverage of candidates and issues specific to Atlantic City and County.
Register and Vote
Am I Registered and Where Can I Vote?
By phone, you can call the NJ Voter hotline at 1-877-NJVOTER (English AND Español). Find out if you are registered to vote in New Jersey by entering your Last Name, First Name, and Middle Initial, Month of Birth, and Year of Birth in the provided fields, and press the “Search” button. There is also a link here to check for polling places near you--Locate your polling place by entering your Street Address, Street Name, Zip Code, or City /County.
NARA: Federal Register: U.S. Electoral College
The National Archives and Records Administration (NARA) has created this informative and engaging website to people understand the history and modern day operation of the Electoral College. Here, visitors can explore Frequently Asked Questions, view a video that provides an overview of the college, and check out historical Electoral College results, back to 1964. The highlight of this website is the Make a Prediction section, which offers an interactive map that allows visitors to predict the result of the 2016 election by projecting the victor of each state and the resulting tally of electoral votes.
League of Women Voters--New Jersey
Here you will find a wealth of information about voting in New Jersey. Information is offered on Registering to Vote; Voting by Mail, including application; Changing Party Affiliation; Finding your Polling Place; Upcoming Election Information and Citizen's Guide to Government. If you have any questions, please call the League of Women Voters of New Jersey at 1-800-792-VOTE (8683) or email them at email@example.com.
Vote by Mail
If you are a qualified and registered voter in Atlantic County, you may apply to Vote By Mail by sending the County Clerk an official "Vote By Mail Ballot Application", available at http://www.atlanticcountyclerk.org/forms/vote-mail-ballot.pdf. This application must be received by the County Clerk no later than 7 days prior to the date of the election in which you wish to vote.
To register to vote, citizens may request a Voter Registration Form from the Atlantic County Superintendent of Elections. Requests may be made by telephone, in person or download the form through this page.
SUPERINTENDENT OF ELECTIONS
1333 Atlantic Ave. 4th Floor
Atlantic City, NJ 08401
Voter Registration Information--New Jersey
In order to register, you can download and complete a Voter Registration Application and/or Party Affiliation Form, available at https://www.state.nj.us/state/elections/assets/pdf/forms-voter-registration/68-voter-registration-english.pdf.
Then mail or deliver the Voter Registration Application and/or Party Affiliation Form to the Superintendent of Elections for your county. There is also a link here to obtain the statewide vote by mail application. The registration deadline to vote at the next election is 21 days prior to election day.
Voting and Elections--USA.gov
On November 3, 2020, people across the U.S. will vote for the next president, as well as other state and local offices. The U.S. Election Assistance Commission has resources for voters, including voter guides, registration information, voting accessibility, and information for military and overseas voters. Provides links to states' election offices.
Library Website | Library Catalog | Contact the Library | Call the Library: 609.345.2269