Would you like to participate in the library's 1000 Books Before Kindergarten Program?
Print out the attached reading log or simply write the titles down on a piece of paper at home. When the library re-opens you'll be ahead of the game. Directions are listed on the reading log.
Don't forget to include stories you read online. Virtual story times count, too!
In response to COVID-19 and library closures, the NJ State Library has partnered with BiblioBoard to launch a free e-book library of 172 graphic novels and comics available for children and teens in New Jersey.
No library card is required and there are no hold queues. If you are physically located in the state of New Jersey, you're in! This collection uses geolocation to provide access to any youth physically located in the state of New Jersey. The library includes a limited collection of simultaneous use e-books from leading children’s comics and graphic novel publishers and the San Jose Public Library Graphic Novel Archive from their Graphic Novel Writing Contests.
Through the end of June, EBSCO is making the following ebook collections available to the public:
Academic Search Ultimate
Business Source Ultimate
EBSCO eBooks Academic Collection
EBSCO eBooks Public Library Collection
EBSCO eBooks High School Collection
EBSCO eBook K-8 Collection
EBSCO eBooks Cricket Media Collection
Middle Search Plus contains full text for more than 150 popular, middle school magazines. In addition to the full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for nearly 200 magazines. All full text articles are assigned a reading level indicator (Lexiles). Full text is also available for thousands of biographies, historical essays and student pamphlets.
Primary Search, designed specifically for elementary school libraries and public library children’s rooms, contains full text for more than 60 popular, elementary school magazines. All full text articles are assigned a reading level indicator (Lexiles)
Free for remainder of school year. Families and teachers can sign up for free access to grade-specific digital editions of TIME for Kids and Your $ financial literacy magazine. Turnkey teaching tools, with worksheets and quizzes for families or teachers, are available.
TumbleBooks are animated, talking picture books that teach kids the joy of reading in a format they’ll love. TumbleBook Library takes existing picture books, adding animation, sound, music and narration to produce an electronic picture book. You can choose to read story books, or have them read to you. Features include read along, non-fiction, videos, and language learning; create your playlists; and puzzles and games.
Tutor.com is for everyone, students k-12, college students and adults. You can get live help from a tutor or use the many study guides available. The Adult Career Center offers help with resumes, citizenship classes, GED preparation, back to school resources and more!
Tutoring is available from 3 to 10 p.m. every day, including Sundays. This program provides online tutors from Tutor.com that connects students to expert tutors via the Internet. Spanish-speaking tutors are available to help students in math and science from 4 to 9 p.m. Sunday through Thursday.