Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The Atlantic City Free Public Library
Asian-Pacific Heritage Websites
Asian-Pacific American Heritage Month
May is Asian-Pacific American Heritage Month – a celebration of Asians and Pacific Islanders in the United States. Asian-Pacific encompasses all of the Asian continent and the Pacific islands of Melanesia, Micronesia and Polynesia (New Zealand, the Hawaiian Islands, and French Polynesia. The month of May was chosen to commemorate the immigration of the first Japanese to the United States on May 7, 1843, and to mark the anniversary of the completion of the transcontinental railroad on May 10, 1869, since the majority of the workers were Chinese immigrants. These resources and information are from the Library of Congress.
Asian/Pacific American Heritage Month Profile From U.S. Census Bureau
U. S. Census Bureau figures showed that the Asian American (either alone or in combination) increased 46% between the 2000 and 2010 censuses, which was more than any other major racial group.
Asian American Health
This information portal from the U.S Department of Health and Human Services Office of Minority Health, provides coverage on issues affecting health and well-being of Asian Americans in the United States. Covers major Asian populations, medical journals, communicating with Asian children about health issues, statistics, complementary and alternative medicine, and other health topics. Includes many related links.
2020 AAPI Heritage Month Theme “Commemorating Asian Pacific American Heritage Month"
Throughout this month, we will commemorate Asian Pacific American Heritage Month, paying tribute to the generations of Asian Americans and Pacific Islanders who shaped our nation's history—and who were shaped by it.
"An authoritative, one-stop information resource and sociological exploration of the historical, demographic, political, and cultural issues that make up today's diverse Asian American community. You can think of Asian-Nation as an online version of "Asian Americans 101."
CET-Resources: Asian American History
The resources here were selected as some of the best starting points to help you further explore Asian American history and culture online, in books, and through other media programs. This is the organization that sponsored the PBS series Ancestors in the Americas.
Famous Asian Ameircan Inventors
Highlights a few of the contributions of Asian American inventors.
Famous Firsts by Asian Americans
Includes information on Famous Firsts by Asian-Americans, from politicians to professional atheletes.
Japanese American Relocation Digital Archives
This website features digitized photographs of Japanese Americans interned during World War II, as well as images of places such as prewar neighborhoods and internment camps. In addition, letters, diaries and art reflect the experiences of those living in the camps.
Look for Asian music CDs in our music collection, they are marked with a "Q", and then the country, i.e. China or India.
Asian Pacific Countries
The Asia-Pacific region generally includes:
- People's Republic of China
- Hong Kong
- North Korea
- South Korea
- Marshall Islands
- Federated States of Micronesia
- New Zealand
- Papua New Guinea
- Solomon Islands
- Republic of China (Taiwan)
- United States Territories -
- American Samoa
- Northern Mariana Islands
- Sometimes included -
- India (member of the East Asia Summit)
- Mongolia (landlocked country in East Asia)
- Myanmar (Burma) (member of the ASEAN)
- Russia (the Russian Far East borders the Pacific Ocean)
U.S. Secretary Elaine L. Chao's Special Message for Asian Pacific American Heritage Month
China in the 21st Century by
Publication Date: 2018-04-09
In this fully revised and updated third edition of China in the 21st Century: What Everyone Needs to Know�, Jeffrey N. Wasserstrom and Maura Elizabeth Cunningham provide cogent answers to urgent questions regarding the world's newest superpower and offer a framework for understanding China's meteoric rise from developing country to superpower. Framing their answers through the historical legacies - Confucian thought, Western and Japanese imperialism, the Mao era, and the Tiananmen Square massacre - that largely define China's present-day trajectory, Wasserstrom and Cunningham introduce readers to the Chinese Communist Party, the building boom in Shanghai, and the environmental fallout of rapid Chinese industrialization.
Midnight in Broad Daylight by
Publication Date: 2016-01-05
Meticulously researched and beautifully written, the true story of a Japanese American family that found itself on opposite sides during World War II—an epic tale of family, separation, divided loyalties, love, reconciliation, loss, and redemption—this is a riveting chronicle of U.S.–Japan relations and the Japanese experience in America.
My Halal Kitchen by
Publication Date: 2016-07-12
Yvonne Maffei is the founder of the hugely popular cooking blog and Islamic lifestyle website My Halal Kitchen. Her new book, My Halal Kitchen: Global Recipes, Cooking Tips, and Lifestyle Inspiration, celebrates halal cooking and shows readers how easy it can be to prepare halal meals. Her cookbook collects more than 100 recipes from a variety of culinary traditions, proving that halal meals can be full of diverse flavors. Home cooks will learn to make classic American favorites and comfort foods, as well as international dishes that previously may have seemed out of reach: Coq without the Vin, Shrimp Pad Thai, Chicken Tamales, and many more.
The China Mirage by
Publication Date: 2015-04-21
In each of his books, James Bradley has exposed the hidden truths behind America's engagement in Asia. Now comes his most engrossing work yet. Beginning in the 1850s, Bradley introduces us to the prominent Americans who made their fortunes in the China opium trade. As they -- -good Christians all -- -profitably addicted millions, American missionaries arrived, promising salvation for those who adopted Western ways.
The Making of Asian America by
Publication Date: 2015-09-01
The Making of Asian America shows how generations of Asian immigrants and their American-born descendants have made and remade Asian American life, from sailors who came on the first trans-Pacific ships in the 1500 to the Japanese Americans incarcerated during World War II. Over the past fifty years, a new Asian America has emerged out of community activism and the arrival of new immigrants and refugees. No longer a “despised minority,” Asian Americans are now held up as America’s “model minorities” in ways that reveal the complicated role that race still plays in the United States.
The Nile by
Publication Date: 2014-06-10
The Nile, like all of Egypt, is both timeless and ever-changing. In these pages, renowned Egyptologist Toby Wilkinson takes us on a journey downriver that is both history and travelogue. We begin at the First Nile Cataract, close to the modern city of Aswan. From there, Wilkinson guides us through the illustrious nation birthed by this great river.
Don't miss the movies in Chinese, Hindi etc. in the foreign language films area!
On the margins of Tokyo, a dysfunctional band of outsiders are united by fierce loyalty, a penchant for petty theft, and playful grifting. When the young son is arrested, secrets are exposed that upend their tenuous, below-the-radar existence.
Gonjiam: Haunted Asylum [videorecording].
The crew of a horror web series travels to an abandoned asylum for a live broadcast. It soon encounters much more than expected as it moves deeper inside the nightmarish old building.
When a little girl is kidnapped by a trafficking ring, they soon find they messed with the wrong child. Her mother, a notorious former gang leader, is close on their trail and will go to any lengths to bring her daughter home.
Byomkesh pawrbo [DVD video]
Byomkesh Bakshi travails the dark jungles of Dooars solving an enigma of a ghost rider amidst a series of murders in north Bengal.
Library Website | Library Catalog | Contact the Library | Call the Library: 609.345.2269