Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The Atlantic City Free Public Library
LBGTQ Non-Fiction and Fiction Books
Rainbow Relatives by
Publication Date: 2018-05-08
Whether you have your own questions because you're preparing to come out to your kids, or you aren't sure how to explain to your kids why their uncle has a boyfriend or why their friend has two mommies, this book can help. With an entertaining and educational approach to educating yourself and your peers about the issues and topics surrounding the LGBTQ+ community, Rainbow Relatives will provide answers to your kids' questions and help you raise them to be open-minded and accepting adults. First and foremost, this book will help you approach the conversations you need to have and predict what you can expect from them. Author Sudi Karatas tells a variety of stories, such as that of a Mormon woman's transition from fighting against gay rights to becoming a crusader for them. Also included are the voices of filmmakers, actors, musicians, mental health professionals, and more. Through Rainbow Relatives, Karatas helps parents support, advocate for, and educate their children, relatives, and family friends.
Tomorrow Will Be Different by
Publication Date: 2018-03-06
"A brave, powerful memoir." -PEOPLE A captivating memoir that will change the way we look at identity and equality in this country Before she became the first transgender person to speak at a national political convention in 2016 at the age of twenty-six, Sarah McBride struggled with the decision to come out-not just to her family but to the students of American University, where she was serving as student body president. She'd known she was a girl from her earliest memories, but it wasn't until the Facebook post announcing her truth went viral that she realized just how much impact her story could have on the country.Four years later, McBride was one of the nation's most prominent transgender activists, walking the halls of the White House, advocating inclusive legislation, and addressing the country in the midst of a heated presidential election. She had also found her first love and future husband, Andy, a trans man and fellow activist, who complemented her in every way . . . until cancer tragically intervened.Informative, heartbreaking, and profoundly empowering, Tomorrow Will Be Different is McBride's story of love and loss and a powerful entry point into the LGBTQ community's battle for equal rights and what it means to be openly transgender. From issues like bathroom access to health care to gender in America, McBride weaves the important political and cultural milestones into a personal journey that will open hearts and change minds.As McBride urges: "We must never be a country that says there's only one way to love, only one way to look, and only one way to live."The fight for equality and freedom has only just begun.
To My Trans Sisters by
Publication Date: 2017-10-19
Lambda Literary Award Finalist - LGBTQ Anthology Dedicated to trans women everywhere, this inspirational collection of letters written by successful trans women shares the lessons they learnt on their journeys to womanhood, celebrating their achievements and empowering the next generation to become who they truly are. Written by politicians, scientists, models, athletes, authors, actors, and activists from around the world, these letters capture the diversity of the trans experience and offer advice from make-up and dating through to fighting dysphoria and transphobia. By turns honest and heartfelt, funny and furious or beautiful and brave, these letters send a clear message of hope to their sisters: each of these women have gone through the struggles of transition and emerged the other side as accomplished, confident women; and if we made it sister, so can you!
Girls Made of Snow and Glass by
Publication Date: 2017-09-05
"At sixteen, Mina's mother is dead, her magician father is vicious, and her silent heart has never beat with love for anyone--has never beat at all, in fact, but she'd always thought that fact normal. She never guessed that her father cut out her heart and replaced it with one of glass. When she moves to Whitespring Castle and sees its king for the first time, Mina forms a plan: win the king's heart with her beauty, become queen, and finally know love. The only catch is that she'll have to become a stepmother. Fifteen-year-old Lynet looks just like her late mother, and one day she discovers why: a magician created her out of snow in the dead queen's image, at her father's order. But despite being the dead queen made flesh, Lynet would rather be like her fierce and regal stepmother, Mina. She gets her wish when her father makes Lynet queen of the southern territories, displacing Mina. Now Mina is starting to look at Lynet with something like hatred, and Lynet must decide what to do--and who to be--to win back the only mother she's ever known...or else defeat her once and for all. Entwining the stories of both Lynet and Mina in the past and present, Girls Made of Snow and Glass traces the relationship of two young women doomed to be rivals from the start. Only one can win all, while the other must lose everything--unless both can find a way to reshape themselves and their story"
Juliet Takes a Breath by
Publication Date: 2016-01-28
Juliet Milagros Palante is leaving the Bronx and headed to Portland, Oregon. She just came out to her family and isn't sure if her mom will ever speak to her again. But Juliet has a plan, sort of, one that's going to help her figure out this whole "Puerto Rican lesbian" thing. She's interning with the author of her favorite book: Harlowe Brisbane, the ultimate authority on feminism, women's bodies, and other gay-sounding stuff. Will Juliet be able to figure out her life over the course of one magical summer? Is that even possible? Or is she running away from all the problems that seem too big to handle? With more questions than answers, Juliet takes on Portland, Harlowe, and most importantly, herself.
A + E 4ever by
Publication Date: 2011-09-01
"Asher Machnik is a teenage boy cursed with a beautiful androgynous face. Guys punch him, girls slag him and by high school he's developed an intense fear of being touched. Art remains his only escape from an otherwise emotionally empty life. Eulalie Mason is the lonely, tough-talking dyke from school who befriends Ash. The only one to see and accept all of his sides as a loner, a fellow artist and a best friend, she's starting to wonder if Ash is ever going to see all of her ... a + e 4EVER is a graphic novel set in that ambiguous crossroads where love and friendship, boy and girl, straight and gay meet. It goes where few books have ventured, into genderqueer life, where affections aren't black and white"
LGBTQ Legacy Leader Awards 2019
Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender and Queer Pride Month
Presidential Proclamation -- LGBT Pride Month, 2016
The Presidential proclamation says in part " Last year's landmark Supreme Court decision guaranteeing marriage equality in all 50 States was a historic victory for LGBT Americans, ensuring dignity for same-sex couples and greater equality across State lines. For every partnership that was not previously recognized under the law and for every American who was denied their basic civil rights, this monumental ruling instilled newfound hope, affirming the belief that we are all more free when we are treated as equals. LGBT individuals deserve to know their country stands beside them. That is why my Administration is striving to better understand the needs of LGBT adults and to provide affordable, welcoming, and supportive housing to aging LGBT Americans. It is also why we oppose subjecting minors to the harmful practice of conversion therapy, and why we are continuing to promote equality and foster safe and supportive learning environments for all students. We remain committed to addressing health disparities in the LGBT community -- gay and bisexual men and transgender women of color are at a particularly high risk for HIV, and we have worked to strengthen our National HIV/AIDS Strategy to reduce new infections, increase access to care, and improve health outcomes for people living with HIV."
LGBT Pride Month
LGBT Pride Month is currently celebrated each year in the month of June to honor the 1969 Stonewall riots in Manhattan. The Stonewall riots were a turning point for the Gay Liberation Movement in the United States. In the United States the last Sunday in June was initially celebrated as “Gay Pride Day,” while the actual day was flexible. In major cities the “day” soon grew to encompass a month-long celebration. Currently, celebrations include pride parades, picnics, workshops, symposia and concerts. The purpose of the commemorative month is to recognize the effect that lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgender individuals have had on history, on a local, national and international basis. President Barack Obama issued the 2013 LGBT Proclamation on May 31, 2013, calling upon the people of the United States to eliminate prejudice everywhere, and to celebrate the diversity of the American people.
Infoplease Celebrates LBGT Month
Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, and Transgender Pride Month is observed every June in the United States and in several other countries. Learn about famous firsts by gay, bisexual and transgender people, read about the history of the month, and find information about milestones in gay, bisexual and transgender history.
Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Transgender Pride Month from the Law Library of Congress
The Law Library of Congress compiled this guide to commemorative observations, including a comprehensive inventory of the Public Laws, Presidential Proclamations and congressional resolutions related to Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Transgender Pride Month Pride.
LGBT Pride Month: 12 Moments to Remember
Oprah spotlights a few notable moments in lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgender pop culture.
GLBT Historical Society
The GLBT Historical Society houses one of the world's largest collections of lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgender historical materials. The society's GLBT History Museum is the first full-scale, stand-alone museum of its kind in the United States.
LGBT Life Database
The LGBT Life Database is available to researchers in the reading rooms of the Library of Congress. LGBT Life Database contains the full text of more than 120 of the most important and significant LGBT journals, magazines and regional newspapers, as well as more than 140 full-text monographs/books.
LGBTQ DVDs must watch!
Every Act of Life [videorecording] by
With six groundbreaking decades in the theatre, four-time Tony-winning playwright Terrence McNally is a living legend, on stage and off. He launched the careers of some of Broadway's biggest stars, has been a pioneer in the fight for LGBTQ rights, has triumphed over addiction, has found love and inspiration at every age, and continually shows the power of art to transform society.
Boy Erased [videorecording]. by
Jared, the son of a Baptist preacher, is forcibly outed by his parents and forced to participate in a church-supported gay conversion program.
The Favourite [videorecording]. by
Early eighteenth century England is at war with the French. A frail Queen Anne occupies the throne, and her friend Lady Sarah tends to her ill health. When new servant Abigail arrives, Sarah takes her under her wing, and Abigail sees a chance at a return to her aristocratic roots. As the politics of war become time-consuming for Sarah, Abigail steps in to fill in as the Queen's companion. Their growing friendship gives her a chance to fulfill her ambitions, and no one will stand in her way.
Freeheld [videorecording]. by
Diagnosed with terminal cancer, decorated New Jersey detective Laurel Hester (Julianne Moore) wishes to leave her pension benefits to domestic partner Stacie Andree (Ellen Page). Denied by local county officials, Laurel receives help from hard-nosed colleague Dane Wells (Michael Shannon) and activist Steven Goldstein (Steve Carell), who unite to rally fellow police officers and ordinary citizens to support the couple's fight for equality.
ACLU LGBT Basic Rights and Liberties
For over 75 years, the ACLU has included lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender people in its mission of civil rights and civil liberties for all and they continue to work for anti-discrimination protections for LGBT people in employment, housing, businesses, and public places.
Gay, Lesbian, Straight Education Network
GLSEN strives to protect students from bullying and harassment, to advance comprehensive safe schools laws and policies, to empower principals to make their schools safer, and to build the skills of educators to teach respect for all people.
The largest encyclopedia of gay, lesbian, transgender and queer culture.
National Gay and Lesbian Task Force
The National Gay and Lesbian Task Force builds the political power of the lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgender (LGBT) community from the ground up by training activists, organizing campaigns to defeat anti-LGBT referenda and advance pro-LGBT legislation, building the organizational capacity of our movement and generating groundbreaking research through our Policy Institute.
The Human Rights Campaign - HRC
The Human Rights Campaign is America's largest civil rights organization working to achieve lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgender (LGBT) equality. HRC strives to end discrimination against LGBT citizens and so that we can become a nation that achieves fairness and equality for all.
Gay News from the Advocate
Library Website | Library Catalog | Contact the Library | Call the Library: 609.345.2269