This is the "Substance Abuse Resources" page of the "Substance Abuse" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

This guide provides some current, reliable consumer health resources. To view more information, please visit the library or browse the catalog
Last Updated: Jun 16, 2013 URL: http://acfpl.libguides.com/substanceabuse Print Guide RSS Updates
Substance Abuse Resources Print Page
  Search: 
 

Find Treatment

  • Addictions Hotline of NJ
    Dial 211 or 1-800-238-2333 to reach trained clinically supervised telephone specialists available 24 / 7 days. Calls are free and information is confidential.
  • Substance Abuse Treatment Facility Locator
    Looking for Treatment?
    Use the SAMHSA Treatment Locator or 1-800-662-HELP.
  • Alcoholics anonymous
    Alcoholics Anonymous® is a fellowship of men and women who share their experience, and strength with each other that they may solve their common problem and help others to recover from alcoholism. The only requirement for membership is a desire to stop drinking. There are no dues or fees for AA membership; we are self-supporting through our own contributions. AA is not allied with any sect, denomination, politics, organization or institution.
  • Narcotics Anonymous
    Offers recovery from the effects of addiction through working a twelve-step program, including regular attendance at group meetings. The group atmosphere provides help from peers and offers an ongoing support network for addicts who wish to maintain a drug-free lifestyle. NA’s approach makes no distinction between drugs including alcohol. Membership is free, and they are not affiliated with any outside organizations including governments, religions, law enforcement groups, or medical and psychiatric associations.
  • South Jersey Al-Anon
    Al-Anon Family Groups are a fellowship of relatives and friends of alcoholics who share their experience, strength and hope with one another in order to solve their common problems and help others do the same.
    The only requirement for membership is that there be a relative or friend with a drinking problem. Al-Anon is a non-profit, non-denominational, anonymous support group. Click on the link to Find a Meeting in South Jersey.
 

Premium eResources

Health Source Consumer provides access to 80 full-text consumer health magazines, including Harvard Health Letter, Men's Health, Muscle & Fitness, Prevention, Vegetarian Times, and many more.

Health Source Nursing provides access to almost 550 scholarly full-text journals, with an emphasis on nursing and allied health.

Reference USA Find U.S. doctors and dentists by name, address, phone number, years of practice, medical school attended, primary speciality, and board certification.

 

What is Addiction?

Substance Abuse--Best Starting Points

  • Addiction Technology Transfer Center
    Established in 1993 by the Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration, the ATTC Network is made up of 14 Regional Centers and a National Office which serve the 50 U.S. states, and the District of Columbia. The ATTC Network strives to improve the quality of addictions treatment and recovery services by facilitating alliances among front line counselors, treatment and recovery services agency administrators, policy makers, the health and mental health communities, and consumers.
  • Alcohol Studies Database
    The Alcohol Studies Database contains citations of over 80,000 documents indexed by the Rutgers University Center of Alcohol Studies. The primary focus of the database is on research and professional materials dealing with alcohol, its use and related consequences. While a growing amount of literature on other drug abuse has been added in recent years, this material represents only a small percentage of the database.
  • Encyclopedia of Psychology: Addictions
    Encyclopedia of Psychology: Addictions: Contains many links to articles and web sites on various aspects of addiction.
  • Go Ask Alice
    Columbia University Health Education Program offers the searchable Q & A service, Go Ask Alice with an archive of almost 2,000 previously-posted questions and answers. Topics include alcohol, nicotine and other drugs as well as emotional health, and general health.
  • National Institute on Alcohol Abuse and Alcoholism
    NIAAA leads the national effort to reduce alcohol-related problems by:
    Conducting and supporting alcohol-related research in a wide range of scientific areas including genetics, neuroscience, epidemiology, prevention, and treatment.
    Disseminating research findings to health care providers, researchers, policymakers, and the public.
  • National Institute on Drug Abuse
    NIDA's mission is to lead the Nation in bringing science to bear on drug abuse and addiction. This charge has two components; the first is the strategic support and conduct of research across a broad range of disciplines; and ensuring the rapid and effective dissemination and use of the results of this research to improve prevention and treatment and to inform policy as it relates to drug abuse and addiction.
  • Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration (SAMHSA)
    Includes full text publications and a rehabilitation center locator, as well as statistical reports; from the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services.
 

Books, eBooks & DVDs Not to Miss

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of drugs, alcohol & addictive behavior [electronic resource] - Pamela Korsmeyer (Editor); Henry R. Kranzler (Editor)
Explores the social, medical, legal and political issues related to drugs and alcohol and associated behaviors. Includes emerging topics and developments in the many fields of addiction studies.

Cover Art
Clean : overcoming addiction and ending America's greatest tragedy - David Sheff
Addiction is a preventable, treatable disease, not a moral failing. Based on the latest research in psychology, neuroscience, and medicine, Clean is a leap beyond the traditional approaches to prevention and treatment of addiction and the mental illnesses that usually go along with it. Clean offers clear, useful advice for parents as well as for addicts and their loved ones.

Cover Art
Inside rehab : the surprising truth about addiction treatment : and how to get help that works - Anne M. Fletcher
Anne Fletcher is a New York Times bestselling health writer who visited 15 addiction treatment centers to find out what really happens in rehab; her most critical finding is the discrepancy between the treatments being used at many rehab centers and the treatments recommended by leading experts. Inside Rehab also highlights what is working, spotlights state-of-the-art programs, and offers guidance for people seeking quality treatment for themselves and/or loved ones.

Cover Art
Recover to live : kick any habit, manage any addiction : your self-treatment guide to alcohol, drugs, eating disorders, gambling, hoarding, smoking, sex and porn - Christopher Kennedy Lawford
Recover to Live brings together all of the most effective self-care treatments for the seven most toxic compulsions affecting all countries today-alcohol and drug dependence, eating disorders, gambling, hoarding, smoking, sex, and porn. More than 100 leading experts share their research on how to determine if your bad habit is becoming a dependency, what treatments will work best, and how to help yourself or a loved one recover from addiction.

Drugs & alcohol, and your choice [videodisc]
There are all kinds of drugs. Some help people with medical problems and can be bought in any store, right over the counter. Other medicines must be prescribed by a doctor. The alcohol and energy drinks we see advertised everywhere? Those are drugs, too. Then there are illegal drugs like marijuana. Some drugs are helpful, and some can be hurtful, even deadly. What do all they have in common? They all change how your body works and they should all be taken seriously.

Bill Moyers. On addiction close to home [videodisc]
As seen on PBS. Bill Moyers tackles the complex issues surrounding addiction in this five part series. Featuring interviews with recovering addicts, scientists, and treatment professionals.

Local Detox and Outpatient Programs

This is juat a selection of some important helplines and hotlines. For more NJ Helplines, go to NJHelps, http://www.njhelps.org/helplines.html.

  • Treatment Agencies Atlantic County
    Provides contact information, including addresses, phone numbers, email and websites.
  • Alcoholics Anonymous--Local Meetings
    Call the 24 hour hotline, 609-641-8855 or use this website to find local meetings in the Atlantic City and county area.
    OFFICE LOCATION: 3153 Fire Rd.,1-C, Egg Harbor Twp. NJ
  • Atlantic Care Health Services
    Atlantic Care Health Services
    2009 Bacharach Boulevard
    Atlantic City, NJ 08401
    (609) 344-5714
    Website: www.atlanticare.org
    Provides outpatient substance abuse treatment and detoxification.
  • Harvest Counseling ServicesAtlantic City, NJ
    126 North Bartram Avenue
    Atlantic City, NJ 08401
    Phone: (609) 408-9488
    Primary Focus: Outpatient Substance abuse treatment services
  • Institute for Human Development (IHD)
    Institute for Human Development (IHD)
    1315 Pacific Avenue
    Atlantic City, NJ 08401
    (609) 345-4035
    Intake: (609) 345-4035x201
    Website: www.ihd-nj.org
    Provides Substance abuse treatment services
    including Methadone maintenance, outpatient and residential long term treatment.

  • John Brooks Recovery Center
    John Brooks Recovery Center
    1315 Pacific Ave
    Atlantic City, NJ 08401
    (609) 345-4035
  • Oxford House
    Started in the Washington, DC. area in 1975, Oxford House is a concept and system of self-run, self-supported group housing for recovering alcoholics and drug addicts. There are separate houses for men in women. Closet locations to Atlantic City are as follows:

    Oxford House North Shore
    355 North Shore Road
    Absecon, NJ 08201-1817
    609-241-6713
    Gender: WC

    Oxford House Boardwalk
    134 South Bartram Ave Gender: M
    Atlantic City, NJ 08401
    609-289-8134
  • Narcotics Anonymous --Local Meetings
    Narcotics Anonymous Meeting Search--search for meetings within 10 miles of atlantic city at http://portaltools.na.org/portaltools/MeetingLoc/ (note: these meetings are subject to frequent change). For updated information, call 609-390-0388 or 800-992-0401.
 

NIDA News

Loading Loading...
blank padding
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip