Jobs
One Stop Career Center
Need an employment specialist to aid you in finding a career? Fill out the New Jersey Workforce Development Virtual Services Center Request Form.
NJ Department of Labor
- Calendar of EventsStatewide event calendars for upcoming information sessions with employers, virtual recruitment events and on-site job fairs
- New Jersey Civil ServiceJob announcements and civil service testing dates.
- SkillUp NJ: Free Online LearningOnline learning platform designed to help people upgrade existing or learn new skills. The self-paced courses are accessible 24/7 from any computer with internet access.
Casino Job Applications
Casino Job Applications
- TropicanaSearch for jobs under "Tropicana." Limit your search to "Atlantic City" if you are looking for a position at the Tropicana Casino here.
- BorgataIncludes Applications for: Borgata and The Water Club
- CaesarsIncludes Applications for: Bally's, Caesars, and Harrah's,
- Golden NuggetFormerly the Trump Marina.
Job Search Sites
Job Search Sites
- Indeed.comThis job search engine includes millions of job listings. Job seekers may sign up to receive job alerts in their email, based on location, type of job, or company.
- Press of Atlantic CityJob ads from the Press of Atlantic City.
- Craigslist Job ClassifiedsA good source for local job listings and "gigs" in South Jersey.
Learn Keyboarding and Using a Mouse
- Typing.comLearn keyboarding and improve your job skills!
- Mousing AroundLearn how to use a computer mouse with this simple training.
- Introducing the MouseA basic tutorial that promotes skills for using a computer mouse effectively.
- Typing TutorFree online typing service.
Learn Computer Basics
- New User TutorialThis tutorial is designed to help people who have never used a computer before.
- GCF Learnfree.orgOffers free online classes on computer basics and Microsoft Office programs (i.e., Word, Power Point, Excel, etc.).
- Learn to Use a ComputerBBC: Absolute Beginner’s Guide to Using Your Computer – A basic introduction for anyone new to using a computer.
Premium eResources
Labor and Literacy Lab
Job Skills Lab (in-person)
Schedule:
Saturdays, 9:30am - 12:30pm
Location: Main Library's new Next Step computer lab
Staff assistance with:
- GED prep
- Job searching
- Resumes and cover letters
- Computer skills
- Setting up an email address, and more
By appointment only. To register, visit the Main Library Help Desk or call 609-345-2269 ext. 3060 for more information.
Atlantic City Works Training Program
Atlantic City Works Training Program
Atlantic City residents and Atlantic City Casino employees may be eligible to participate in the Atlantic City Works Program. The program provides training to Atlantic City residents who are unemployed or under-employed and Atlantic City Casino Employees who require training to help maintain your current job or obtain advancement.
More than 20 certifications and workshops available.
CLICK HERE TO COMPLETE THE ATLANTIC CITY WORKS TRAINING PROGRAM INTAKE FORM TO BEGIN THE PROCESS.
Government Job Search Resources
New Jersey Career Services
- NJDOL Career ServicesCareer Services is a quick and easy portal from the NJ Dept of Labor and Workforce Development. Use their Plan, Prepare, and Succeed model to learn more about the One Stop Center programs, unemployment, and to get help with resumes and cover letters.
- City of Atlantic City Job ListingsView available job listings for the City of Atlantic City.
- Atlantic County Women's Center (ACWC) Home To Work Program1201 New Road
Cornerstone Commerce Center
Linwood, NJ 08221
Displaced Homemakers Services
Phone: (609) 601-9925
Offers services related to the loss of income due to the sudden disability of a partner, separation, divorce or widowhood. Counselors are available to guide women back into the workforce. - NJ Civil Service JobsState, county, and municipal government job announcements including Firefighters and Law Enforcement applications.
- NJ Career NetworkThe New Start Career Network (NSCN), a program to serve New Jersey’s older, long-term unemployed job seekers.
- USAJobsOfficial job site of the U.S. Federal Government
- Atlantic County One Stop2 South Main Street
Pleasantville, NJ 08232
(609) 485-0052
By appointment only!
Unemployment Assistance
File for Unemployment
Are you facing UNEMPLOYMENT? Click HERE to file for unemployment with the NJ Department of Labor and Workforce Development. To file continued claim by phone for Atlantic City, call 609-441-7581.
Simple Resume Template
- Resume TemplateClick on the Blue "Resume Template" link above to open the resume template.
Resume Template
1. Open the "Resume Template" (a Microsoft Word document) by clicking the blue link above.
2. Replace the existing text with your own personal information.
3. Save your completed resume to a flash drive or email it to yourself as an attachment.
How to Create a Password
- Sample PasswordsCreate your own password using this guide
Click the blue link above.
How to Create a Password
Click on the Blue "Sample Passwords" link above to open the guide to creating passwords.
Creating a password for an employment application or for an email account can often be confusing and difficult. Our "Sample Passwords" guide can help you create a password that will work for most online profiles. Type and print your own password using this guide or save this document and email it to yourself for future use. Note: library staff can help you with this process, but cannot type for you.
Create an E-Mail Account and Upload a Resume to E-Mail
Create a Gmail account
Create a Yahoo account
These email accounts, the most popular, require a cell phone to establish. If you do not have a cell phone, use the service below.
What if I don't have a phone number or additional email to create an account?
- Gmail – Google will let you create an account, and skip the part about entering a phone number, although you must provide birthday and gender.
- Click “Create account“
- Follow steps (and skip phone number)
- Then, agree to Google’s Terms of Service and Privacy Policy
- Tutanota –
- Choose free subscription
- Provides recovery key
- Must be 16 years of age or older
- Note – By default, every message is password secured, and a password must be known to both the user and sender. To turn this feature off and send messages that do not require a password:
- Temporarily turn off: when sending an email, click the little red “lock” icon
- Always turn off: Settings>Email>Default delivery>set to “Not confidential”
- ProtonMail –
- Choose free plan
- Recovery email is optional
- Mail.com –
- Simply enter your name, desired email address, security question, password, and that’s it
- How do I upload my resume to an online application?To upload your resume to an online application, you first need to save your document as a PDF file or Microsoft Word file to the computer. It's best to save it in a place that's easy to find, e.g., the computer's desktop. Once it's saved in a place you can find, click browse on the application. If you saved it to the desktop, you will need to click on
desktop and search for your resume. Once you have located your resume, double click on your resume to upload it.
Employment Assistance for Ex-Offenders in Atlantic City
- Volunteers of America Delaware Valley Atlantic City Safe Return26 S. Pennsylvania Ave.
Atlantic City, 08401
609-541-2806
Assists ex-offenders find employment, housing, health care, substance abuse treatment, and training.
Resumes & Cover Letters
Simple Resume Template
- Resume TemplateClick on the Blue "Resume Template" link above to open the resume template.
Resume Template
1. Open the "Resume Template" (a Microsoft Word document) by clicking the blue link above.
2. Replace the existing text with your own personal information.
3. Save your completed resume to a flash drive or email it to yourself as an attachment.
Resume Help Online
Resume Help Online
- Resume Writing Guidance - NJ Department of LaborCheck out the content to learn how to increase the odds that your resume will make it past the screeners—and result in an interview.
- Introduction to and Expectations for Resumes - Purdue UniversityThis resume workshop from the Purdue Online Writing Lab (OWL), provides detailed explanations, as well as step-by-step processes, for creating an effective resume.
Labor and Literacy Lab
Job Skills Lab (in-person)
Schedule:
Saturdays, 9:30am - 12:30pm
Location: Main Library's new Next Step computer lab
Staff assistance with:
- GED prep
- Job searching
- Resumes and cover letters
- Computer skills
- Setting up an email address, and more
By appointment only. To register, visit the Main Library Help Desk or call 609-345-2269 ext. 3060 for more information.
Premium eResources
Use these resources in the library or from any internet connection with your library card:
Job & Career Accelerator will help you create a great resume or cover letter.
Tutor.com's Adult Center Career Help will give you access to a live tutor who can help you with your resume. Also take advantage of the Resume & Cover Letter Templates and Guidelines available.
Job Training, Computer Skills, Exams & Certifications
Coming Soon!
The Atlantic City Free Public Library is now offering in-person Computer Training. For more information visit the Library Help Desk or call 609-345-2269 ext. 3060.
Labor and Literacy Lab
Job Skills Lab (in-person)
Schedule:
Saturdays, 9:30am - 12:30pm
Location: Main Library's new Next Step computer lab
Staff assistance with:
- GED prep
- Job searching
- Resumes and cover letters
- Computer skills
- Setting up an email address, and more
By appointment only. To register, visit the Main Library Help Desk or call 609-345-2269 ext. 3060 for more information.
Premium eResources
Learning Express Library offers practice test, courses and ebooks in the following categories: Air Traffic Controller, Civil Service, Commercial Driver's License (CDL), Cosmetology, Culinary Arts, Electrical, Emergency Medical Services, Firefighter, Green Careers, Law Enforcement, Military, Nursing and Allied Health, Legal, Plumbing, Real Estate,Teaching, Test-Taking Skills Improvement.
Tutor.com: Tutoring is available for adults too! Live tutors are onine from 3 to 10 p.m. every day. Study guides are available at all times. Look in Test Prep Resources for guides to the: GED, ASVAB, Civil Service Exams, TOEFL, Nurse Entrance Test and more.
Local Resources
- ACCC Workforce DevelopmentTraining programs to help you move into a new career, offer training on state-of-the-art equipment. Classes are held at both the Atlantic City and the Mays Landing campuses. For questions, call 609-343-5655 or visit the link above.
- Stockton College: Continuing EducationCredit-bearing courses and certificate programs are also offered to meet the needs of the adult learner seeking new knowledge to expand career goals or sharpen current skills.
- Atlantic County One StopThe Atlantic County One Stop Career Center provides job search assistance, training and education assistance, specialized services, and more. For information on attending a System Orienation, call 609-485-0052 or visit the One Stop at:
2 South Main Street
Pleasantville, NJ 08232
(609) 485-0052
By appointment only!
Online Resources
- Accredited Continuing Education Programs DirectoryDirectory of accredited continuing education programs for associate, bachelor and master's degrees.
- BuildingSkills4WorkBS4W provides free online training and skill building using interactive lessons in real work situations. Create a free account to get started.
- New Jersey Career Assistance Navigator(NJCAN) is a free Internet-based system which provides accurate, comprehensive, and current, occupational, post-secondary school and financial aid information.
- GCF GlobalThe freedom to learn what you want, when you want, absolutely
free! Check out our Everyday Life, Basic Math, and Computer Training today!