Last Updated: Sep 26, 2013
- Lemon Law Dispute Resolution
New Jersey Office of the Attorney General
Division of Consumer Affairs
Office of Consumer Protection
Lemon Law Unit
Complete the attached application. Be accurate and thorough. You must attach a clear copy of all relevant documents, including the sales contract or lease
agreement, service or work orders and correspondence between you and the manufacturer, or its authorized dealer, relating to the problem(s).
- Better Businnes Bureau NJ
BBB makes it fast and easy for people to file complaints against all types of businesses-- online, offline, BBB Accredited Businesses or non-accredited businesses, and non-profit organizations.
- NJ Consumer Affairs
How to File a Complaint
First, give the business a chance to resolve the problem directly. If you are not satisfied with the results, please complete the State complaint forms. Be sure to include or forward readable copies of invoices, contracts, correspondence and other documents relating to your complaint.
- State Board of Medical Examiners-Complaints about Physicians
File a complaint online; or call the Board of Medical Examiners at 609-826-7100 and request that the form be mailed.
- Hospital Complaints in New Jersey
Use the Complaint Hotline at 1-800-792-9770: if complaint is made by phone, no name has to be given. Complaints may also be filed online, by fax or mail. If an address is provided with the complaint, a written response will be provided after the investigation.
Ebsco Host: Has the complete text of articles from Consumer Reports. Access Consumer Reports articles by using these links: Consumer Reports or Consumer Reports on Health. OR from the Advanced Search screen, limit your keyword search to the publication Consumer Reports.
- New Jersey Better Business Bureau
Check out a business or charity, find a BBB accredited business, or file a complaint.
- Nj Department of Banking and Insurance Consumer Assistance
For Inquiries and/or Filing a Complaint for a banking or insurance company, call 609-292-7272 or the Consumer Hotline, 1-800-446-7467. For Managed Care FAQs or complaints see www.state.nj.us/dobi/division_insurance/managedcare/ or submit a complaint form by mail/fax to: Office of Managed Care, Consumer Protection Services, Dept. of Banking and Insurance, P.O. Box 329, Trenton, NJ 08625-0329; fax-(609) 633-0807.
- NJ Division of Consumer Affairs
For help with filing a complaint, or to check on the complaint history of a business, call the Consumer Service Center at (973) 504-6200, or go to www.njconsumeraffairs.gov/ocp/complaints.htm.
- Occupational and Professional Licenses
The NJ Division of Consumer Affairs regulates over 80 professions and occupations. Check to see if businesses/ individuals are licensed before doing business with them, or to file a complaint.
The con : how scams work, why you're vulnerable, and how to protect yourself
No one thinks it can happen to them, but Americans are 40 times more likely to be defrauded than to have their cars stolen or their homes burgled. The first step to combating fraud is to understand it. What do scams look like? and Why are they effective? The next step is to take action. How can we protect ourselves and our families? This book informs and engages with accessible stories of ordinary people from all walks of life thrown into unexpected and disorienting circumstances. The book goes behind the scenes of real-world cons to examine the logistics and psychology that enable scams to succeed. Once readers gain a clear idea of what scams look and sound like and learn simple strategies to reduce personal risk, protecting themselves will be just as instinctive as putting on a seat belt.
This book shows that there are ways to repair your credit after personal problems or some calamity has made it impossible for you to pay your bills on time or even to pay them at all. This newly revised 10th edition takes a methodical and thorough approach, with step-by-step instructions and advice to fix even the worst credit record in the shortest possible time.
Living Well with Bad Credit
This book is a clear, and helpful guide to navigating everyday and large financial decisions; althouth geared towards people with low credit scores, it also offers useful information to all of us. We know that the cost of bad credit is expensive, so Living Well With Bad Credit is especially helpful with solid suggestions of ways to both save money and to be able to get hired, find decent housing, rent a car, start a business, go on a vacation and repair credit history.
What's your problem?
Yates effectively distills his years as the Tribune’s “consumer conscience” in a book that tackles a variety of thorny buyer-beware issues. Yates sympathizes with those given the circuitous company runaround when simply seeking problem resolution. Refreshingly, the author doesn’t mince words about today’s fiercely competitive marketplace. Companies are in business to make money, they routinely avoid confrontation and being nice only goes so far when aiming for real results. The author dispenses pages of practical information on how consumers can avoid being taken advantage of whether by circumnavigating circuitous call centers, initiating small-claims court cases or battling utility providers and banks. He provides cautionary counsel on too-good-to-be-true product deals, service contracts and automobile financing, exposes cunning scamming operations and, perhaps most importantly, provides a definitive listing of “consumer commandments.” Elsewhere, Yates directs readers to resources like junk-mail removal websites and offers advice on the most effective way to complain. Rather than solve consumer problems, as in his newspaper column, the guidebook supplies the necessary tools to empower consumers to help themselves.
- NJ Division of Consumer Affairs
Contact the New Jersey Division of Consumer Affairs at 1-800-242-5846 or visit ww.njconsumeraffairs.gov to file a complaint.
- Recycling and Disposal
How to recycle and dispose of various materials, from the Atlantic County Utilities Authority.
- Consumer Action Website
Includes the 2012 Consumer Action Handbook, which contains information on preventing identity theft, understanding credit, filing a consumer complaint, and filing for bankruptcy.
- Consumer Help - Federal Communications Commission (FCC)
FCC accepts inquiries, and informal complaints on cable, radio, satellite, telephone, television and wireless services.
- Consumer Product Safety Commission (CPSC)
To report an unsafe consumer product, call the hotline, 1-800-638-CPSC or visit SaferProducts.gov to report unsafe products so that others will know.
- Consumer Protection - Federal Trade Commission (FTC)
Ways to avoid scams and exercise consumer rights on a variety of issues. Also offers over 100 booklets on consumer rights.
- Federal Citizen Information Center
The Federal Citizen Information Center (FCIC) is a "one-stop source for answers to questions about consumer problems and government services." This website provides users with a single point of access for information from various government agencies. The site is easy to use, offering users both simple search interface and a comprehensive subject listing from which to choose. Also provides free offers, and links to dozens of government sites containing information on subjects ranging from product recalls to purchasing a home.
- Household Products Database - Health and Human Services (HHS)
Health and safety information on household products.
- Housing (HUD)
Consumer housing information and complaint forms for housing discrimination.
- National Fraud Information Center
This site from the National Consumers League’s Fraud Center helps consumers report fraud and offers advice on how to avoid becoming a victim. They also have an Online Fraud Report Form.
Recalls of unsafe, hazardous, or defective products.