Obituaries
Free Access to Obits from inside the Library.
Researchers are encouraged to use OLNI to find citations in The Press of Atlantic City. The Library has The Press of Atlantic City from 1895, with a few exceptions on microfilm. The Library also has Newsbank, a full-text searchable database of The Press, from 1988 to the present.
- The Press of Atlantic CityFull-text articles from 1988 to the present are available online for a fee.
- Professional ResearchersThis list of professional genealogists researching in the New Jersey area is provided by the Genealogical Society of New Jersey as a public service to the genealogical community.
- Genealogy Research in NJMyGenealogist.com employs genealogists who conduct research in New Jersey.
- Free Genealogy ResearchRandom Acts of Genealogical Kindness has a list of volunteers who agree to do certain types of genealogy look-ups. Volunteers have agreed to donate their time for free, you MUST PAY the volunteer for his/her expenses in fulfilling your request.
Local Genealogy Links
- Atlantic Heritage CenterThe library's card catalog offers over 85,000 references to books, newspapers, family bibles, photos, maps, and historical and genealogical documents.
- New Jersey Historical SocietyThe library collections contain manuscripts, reference books and rare books, photographs, maps, broadsides, pamphlets, mass-produced prints and other materials that document the cultural and historical heritage of New Jersey from the colonial era through the 20th century.
- New Jersey State ArchivesCurrent holdings amount to over 37,000 cubic feet of paper records and over 32,000 reels of microfilm. Located at 225 West State Street in downtown Trenton
- NJ Archives Searchable DatabasesSearchable databases include: marriage records, death records, legal name changes, Civil War records, World War I casualties, and Department of Agriculture photographs.
- NJ State Library: Genealogy and Local History CollectionCity directories, Sanborn maps, family genealogies, WWI Draft Registration for New Jersey, over 70 genealogy periodicals and much more.
- Archibald S. Alexander Library (Rutger's)In addition to the Libraries' own New Jersey holdings, the collection includes the papers of the New Jersey Daughters of the American Revolution and the papers of the Genealogical Society of New Jersey. Available material includes transcriptions of family Bible records, gravestone inscriptions, church records, papers and genealogical compilations on New Jersey families, and many other printed materials.
- National Archives at Philadelphia
- Historical Society of Pennsylvania
Premium eResources
Heritage Quest: United States Population Census returns, electronic books, periodicals
index for genealogy publications, and other online resources. Requires a valid Atlantic City Free Public Library card to access from outside the Library building.
Newsbank: full-text newspaper articles from The Press of Atlantic City (1988-present) and The Philadelphia Inquirer (1981-present). This database is only available inside the Library building.
The Online Local News Index (OLNI) is published by the Atlantic City Free Public Library and is continously updated. Full-text of the articles is NOT available through the index. If you would like to see the full-text of an article, please visit the Library to use the microfilm collections, print resources, or NewsBank.
Sanborn Map Company played a vital role in the development of fire
insurance map making in the late nineteenth and early twentieth
centuries. The company created hand-made and colored lithograph maps of
over 12,000 cities and towns across the United States and set the
standard for fire insurance maps of the era. Sanborn Maps are now used
to provide a detailed understanding of the physical make up of these
cities and towns. ACFPL has them for New Jersey. They are displayed in
black and white because these digital maps were created by scanning
microfilm, which was originally filmed in black and white.
Books Not to Miss
Heston Collection Hours
If you are interested in doing historical research about Atlantic City, consider using the Atlantic City Free Public Library's Alfred M. Heston Collection. Because some of the items in the Heston Collection are fragile or irreplaceable, the Heston Room is a closed-stack area with access provided only by Library personnel at certain times. Researchers must register and present a form of photo identification to see materials. Researchers must also agree to follow certain rules for the use of archival materials, which will be explained when the researcher arrives.
Wednesdays 2:00-4:30pm
Thursdays 9:30am-12:00pm and 2:00-4:30pm
Local History Materials
The Heston Collection maintains clippings files on topics related to Atlantic City and local history, as well as archival collections, books, and other unique resources. Please contact the Heston Collection staff for more information about these.
- Local History Biography Files
- Local History Subject Files
- Census RecordsFederal Population Census years available: 1840, 1850, 1860, 1870, 1880, 1900, 1910, 1920, 1930 (federal census returns are released 72 years after the date; 1940 census returns should be available in 2012)
Civil War Veterans and their Widows (special schedule from 1890 Federal Population Census)
New Jersey State Census years available: 1855, 1865, 1885, 1895, 1905, 1915 - Atlantic City Census 1885All database entries include the first and last name of every person listed on the census returns. The entries for Atlantic City include additional demographic data: age range, sex and race.
NJ Vital Records
For information on obtaining a copy of a vital record certificate of an event that occurred in Atlantic City (birth, death, marriage, or domestic partnership), please refer to the following websites.
- Vital Records in New JerseyFor an event that occurred after April 1878
- New Jersey State ArchivesFor an event that occurred after April 1848 and before May 1878:
- The City of Atlantic City Bureau of Vital StatisticsThe City of Atlantic City Bureau of Vital Statistics also has records on file for births (1903 – present), deaths (1921-present), and marriages (1921-present).

Loading...
