This is the "Natural Disasters" page of the "Natural Disasters" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Natural Disasters  

Last Updated: Jul 16, 2013 URL: http://acfpl.libguides.com/naturaldisasters Print Guide RSS Updates

Natural Disasters Print Page
  Search: 
 

Preparedness & Assistance

  • NJ Emergency Preparedness
    Information for the State of New Jersey on disaster preparedness and recovery for individuals, schools, businesses and municipal officials.
  • Federal Disaster Assistance
    Provides disaster assistance information from the U.S. Government. Details over 60 different forms of assistance from 17 federal agencies. Reduces the number of forms to file and shortens the time to apply.
  • FEMA
    Federal Emergency Management Agency
    U.S. Department of Homeland Security
    500 C Street SW, Washington, D.C. 20472
    (202) 646-2500
    (800) 621-FEMA

Donating to Relief Organizations

  • American Red Cross
    As part of a worldwide movement that offers neutral humanitarian care to the victims of war, the American Red Cross distinguishes itself by also aiding victims of devastating natural disasters.
  • Charity Navigator
    Charity Navigator evaluates the financial health of over 5,500 of America's largest charities, helping you decide where to send your donations.
 

Premium eResources

Science Reference Center: Search scientific journals and publications including: Earthquakes, Earthquakes & Seismic Waves, Tsunamis and more.

 

ebooks & encyclopedias: Search science publications including: World of Earth Science, Gale Encyclopedia of Science, Encyclopedia of Weather and Natural Disaters and many more.

Flood Elevation Maps Resources

  • Basic Flood Elevation Information
    Lookup address to see what the Basic Flood Elevation is for an address-- click the Hurricane Sandy tab, then “What is my base Flood Elevation (BFE)?”, Address Lookup Tool,” and type in an address to see which zone is applicable.
  • National Flood Insurance Plan
    This is the official site of the National Flood Insurance Plan.
    Toll free number: 1-888-379-9531.
  • NJ Flood Mapping
    This is the website for NJ Flood Mapping; gives specific information by county.
  • Governor's Office for Recovery & Rebuilding
    Governor's Office for Recovery & Rebuilding
    - Housing Assistance Programs: 1-855-SANDYHM
    - Business Assistance Programs: 1-855-SANDYBZ
    - Mold/Asbestos/Lead Remediation: 609-826-4950 or 609-826-4920
    - Mental Health Help Line: 1-877-294-4357
    - DOBI's Sandy Hotline: 609-292-7272 ext. 5
    - DEP's 24 Hour Hotline: 1-877-WARNDEP
 

Hurricane Sandy Causing Total Destruction in Atlantic City

 

Help for Hurricane Sandy Victims in Atlantic County

The Atlantic City Office of Emergency Management is providing displaced Atlantic City residents or those having other housing needs caused by recent Hurricane Sandy a hot line to address storm impacted residences.  The phone number for the hot line is 609-347-6865 but before calling residents are advised to have the following required information ready for verification: An ID with the address of the damaged home; a utility bill; tax bill or lease; insurance policy number. 

Information on temporary disaster relief employment is available at 877-682-6238 or e-mail SandyHelp@dol.state.nj.us. Jobseekers can also send their resume to FEMA-NJ-localhire-jobs@fema.dhs.gov to be considered for disaster relief employment opportunities.

The Press of Atlantic City has an article titled "Press it Forward: Our directory of who is providing relief for Hurricane Sandy victims", Nov 27, 2012, updated Dec 4, 2012 (http://www.pressofatlanticcity.com/news/breaking/press-it-forward-our-directory-of-who-is-providing-relief/article_7a048e5c-2bb9-11e2-bd50-001a4bcf887a.html) which provides a roundup of who is providing help throughout NJ and in Atlantic and Cape May Counties, covering both government and private agency help. 

For information about the new FEMA flood maps (not yet final), and to see how they will affect your flood risk, please see
http://www.region2coastal.com/sandy/table --you can type in address and get information for your location.  Please note that these maps have been revised and reduced the number high risk "Velocity" Zones, which would have required homes on pilings to guard against 3-foot waves.

 

Books and DVDs Not to Miss

Cover Art
Cascadia's fault : the earthquake and tsunami that could devastate North America - Jerry Thompson
Thompson, a journalist and documentary film producer, presents this frightening look at the Cascadia subduction zone its risk for major American West coast cities via tremendous earthquakes and devastating tsunami waves. Drawing from current seismology research and the effects of recent massive quakes in Chile, Sumatra and Japan, this book outlines the risks to this seemingly quiet section of the "Ring of Fire" and argues for better disaster preparedness as the only way to survive the coming disaster.

Cover Art
Extreme weather : a guide to surviving flash floods, tornadoes, hurricanes, heat waves, snowstorms, tsunamis, and other natural disasters - Bonnie Schneider
"Flash floods, tsunamis, earthquakes, hurricanes, mudslides, thunderstorms, and wildfires--these devastating events are happening around the world at an alarming rate. As CNN's meteorologist, Bonnie Schneider reports daily on these natural disasters, explaining when they're likely to strike, and telling viewers how to respond when they do. In Extreme Weather, Schneider distills that information into a guide for readers. She interviews experts from a wide variety of agencies--from FEMA to NOAA--to provide a comprehensive understanding of the science behind weather patterns and the latest thinking on how to act in dangerous conditions. Ranging from topics that cover every season and every climate, Schneider guides the reader on the best course of action during weather emergencies, including: *how to handle extreme weather scenarios in your car, outside, or at home *how to predict potential dangers when planning a camping trip or vacation *what you need to have at home to prepare for floods, earthquakes, or severe storms*how to create a family evacuation plan for different emergencies, and *making sure your pet is taken care of in time of disaster. Extreme Weather also provides details on what to have in emergency safety kits as well as how to make a family disaster plan".

Cover Art
Japan's killer quake [videodisc] - PBS
In its worst crisis since World War II, Japan faces disaster on an epic scale: a rising death toll in the tens of thousands, massive destruction of homes and businesses, shortages of water and power, and the specter of nuclear reactor meltdowns. It combines on-the-spot reporting, personal stories, compelling eyewitness videos, and exclusive helicopter footage for a unique look at the science behind the catastrophe.


Hurricanes

Floods

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip