Government Portals
- Contact Government, by TopicA browsable directory of contacts for key government agencies and departments.
While there are many federal information clearinghouses, this is an especially good one as it allows users to drill down by agency/topic to not only locate the relevant Web page, but to obtain a specific phone number, email or other contact to answer questions and locate the specific data. - Benefits.govBenefits.gov (formerly GovBenefits.gov) was launched to provide citizens with easy, online access to government benefit and assistance programs. However, the program's mission remains the same: reduce the expense and difficulty of interacting with the government while increasing citizen access to government benefit information.
- GovInfo.govThis is GPO's beta website that will eventually replace the Federal Digital System (FDsys) public website. Being in beta means this site is a "work in progress" that is open to the public in order to get feedback. This site provides free online access to official publications from all three branches of the Federal Government and allows you to:
Search for documents /publications using advanced search capabilities and the ability to refine and narrow the search.
Browse for documents/ publications alphabetically, by category, by Congressional committee, Government author and by date. - BusinessUSA.govBusinessUSA implements a "no wrong door" approach for small businesses and exporters by using technology to quickly connect businesses to the services and information relevant to them, regardless of where the information is located or which agency's website, call center, or office they go to for help.
- Disability.govDisability.gov is the federal government website for comprehensive information on disability programs and services in communities nationwide. The site links to more than 14,000 resources from federal, state and local government agencies; academic institutions; and nonprofit organizations. You can find answers to questions about everything from Social Security benefits to employment to affordable and accessible housing.
- USA.govThis is the official portal to all federal, state, & local government web resources & services--e.g. Benefits.gov, Disability.gov, Ed.gov, MyMoney.gov, Recreation.gov. Also includes the Spanish-language web portal to U.S. government services, GobiernoUSA.gov (http://www.usa.gov/gobiernousa/index.shtml).
President of the United States of America
Joe Biden was elected the 46th President of the United States on November 13, 2020, and sworn in on January 20, 2021.
Visit the White House online for more information on the Trump administration, to see the White House schedule, learn about recent legislation, view photos and videos, brush up on your presidential history and much more.
Federal Executive Branch
Helpful Government Publications & Websites
beta.SAM.gov
This online directory of grants and loans is mostly aimed at local governments and federally recognized Native American tribal governments. Still, individuals may be eligible for some of the assistance offered here, especially if they know how to write a grant proposal!
Electronic Code of Federal Regulations
The Electronic Code of Federal Regulations (e-CFR) is a currently updated version of the Code of Federal Regulations (CFR). The e-CFR is an editorial compilation of CFR material and Federal Register amendments produced by the National Archives and Records Administration's Office of the Federal Register (OFR) and the Government Publishing Office. The material in the e-CFR is updated on a daily basis.
Federal Register-Each day Federal agencies publish numerous documents in the Federal Register, including proposed rules, final rules, public notices, and Presidential actions. The print-based, official edition of the Federal Register displays information in a dense format (3-column PDF) that makes it difficult to read, or to process regulatory data in meaningful and innovative ways. The Office of the Federal Register posts this unofficial, HTML edition of the Federal Register on FederalRegister.gov to overcome the technical limitations of the official PDF edition and to demonstrate how an alternate version can effectively convey regulatory information to the public. This HTML version is presented in a unique web journal format known as “Federal Register 2.0,”
FedStats--Provides access to the whole range of official statistical information produced by the Federal Government without having to know which Federal agency produces which particular statistic. With convenient searching and linking capabilities to more than 100 agencies that provide data and trend information on such topics as economic and population trends, crime, education, health care, aviation safety, energy use, farm production and more, FedStats offers one-stop access to the full breadth of Federal statistical information.
US Government Manual, Current ed.-As the official handbook of the Federal Government, the United States Government Manual provides comprehensive information on the agencies of the legislative, judicial, and executive branches. It also includes information on quasi-official agencies; international organizations in which the United States participates; and boards, commissions, and committees.
Popular Federal Agencies
- Department of EnergyProvides a chart, by state, for Tax Credits, Rebates & Savings.
- HUD.govFind out about Avoiding Foreclosure; Buying a Home;
Homelessness; Housing Choice Voucher Program (Section 8)
Housing Discrimination; and Rental Assistance. - IRS.govFind tax forms, how to make a payment, and what to do if you can't pay now; Where's my Refund, and more.
- Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program (SNAP)Find out if you qualify for SNAP (food stamps).
Federal Legislative Branch
- Congress.govCongress.gov is the official source for federal legislative information, replacing the nearly 20-year-old THOMAS.gov site. It currently includes all data available on THOMAS.gov except nominations, treaties and communications. Congress.gov provides legislation from the 107th Congress (2001) to the present, member profiles, and information on the legislative process.
Federal Judicial Branch
The judicial branch is made up of the Supreme Court, Lower Courts, Special Courts, and court support organizations.
Supreme Court of the U.S. Official Website
U.S. District Courts These are the trial courts of the federal court system. The district courts have jurisdiction to hear almost all categories of federal cases, including both civil and criminal matters. There are 94 federal judicial districts, including at least one district in each state, the District of Columbia and Puerto Rico. (Printable Circuit/District map (pdf)). For New Jersey, please see US District Court of New Jersey. Also see the Courts Locator for a listing of all the federal courts websites.