ACFPL features an extensive collection of resources about African American history, accomplishments, issues, figures and more. This guide provides a sampling of the materials available on this subject to view more visit the library or browse the catalog.
Last Updated: Mar 5, 2013
African American almanac [electronic resource]
Provides a range of historical and current information on African American history, society and culture. Includes coverage of such topics as: Africa and the Black diaspora; film and television; landmarks; national organizations; population; religion; science and technology; and sports.
Gale library of daily life [electronic resource]: slavery in America
Illuminates daily life in slave society in America from colonial times to the end of the Civil War. Provides information on the business and regulation of slavery, the plantation way of life, work, family and community, culture and leisure, health and medicine, religion, resistance and rebellion, and slavery and freedom in the North.
American experience. Freedom riders [videodisc]
This inspirational documentary is about a band of courageous civil-rights activists calling themselves the Freedom Riders. Gaining impressive access to influential figures on both sides of the issue, it chronicles a chapter of American history that stands as an astonishing testament to the accomplishment of youth and what can result from the incredible combination of personal conviction and the courage to organize against all odds.
2016 Obama's America [videorecording] : love him, hate him, you don't know him
Based on the work of Dinesh D'Souza, 2016: Obama's America is the highest-grossing conservatively-slanted documentary of all time. It lays out what D'Souza believes Obama would do in a second term as President of the United States. He bases his conclusions on Obama's father's anti-colonialism and on Obama's purported psychological desire to fulfill his father's dream of diminishing the power of Western imperial states. The film is arresting in its presentation and sobering in its conclusions.
The remarkable celebration of the life and legacy of civil rights advocate and Supreme Court pioneer Thurgood Marshall, the first African American appointed to the nation's highest judicial bench. Filmed before a live audience at the Kennedy Center's Eisenhower Theater, this compelling one-man play written by Peabody Award and Emmy Award winner George Stevens, Jr. and directed by Emmy Award winner Michael Stevens stars the Emmy Award and Tony Award-winning actor Laurence Fishburne.
African Americans are Atlantic City's largest racial group. Many great
African American performers and entertainers, sports professionals, and
business professionals spent time in Atlantic City. Resources about
African Americans in Atlantic City are found in this guide on African American History in Atlantic City. Also see the new book The Northside; African Americans and the creation of Atlantic City.
Use these resources in the library as a guest or from any internet connection with your library card.
OAASC: Search for articles, images and more about African American History.
Biography In Context:get biographical information on famous African Americans throughout history.
The 2013 theme for Black History Month is " At the Crossroads of Freedom and Equality: The Emancipation Proclamation and the March on Washington", celebrating the anniversary of two important African American turning points - the 1863 Emancipation Proclamation and the 1963 March on Washington. Access more links by clicking on the websites below, and even more information by clicking on the above tabs on the Emancipation Proclamation and the March on Washington.
- 2013 Black History Month Theme: At the Crossroads of Freedom & Equality
The Association for the Study of African American Life and History dedicates the 2013 Annual Black History Theme to celebrating two key events in African American History--the Emancipation Proclamation and the March on Washington. On January 1, 1863, the Emancipation Proclamation set the United States on the path of ending slavery. On August 28, 1963, a century later, hundreds of thousands of Americans marched to the memorial of Abraham Lincoln, the author of the Emancipation Proclamation, in the continuing pursuit of equality of citizenship, and here that Martin Luther King, Jr. delivered his famous “I Have a Dream” speech. Just as the Emancipation Proclamation had recognized the coming end of slavery, the March on Washington announced that the days of legal segregation were ending.
- African American History Month 2013
From the Library of Congress, this collection of links to material in celebration of this year's theme which celebrates two key events in African American History--the Emancipation Proclamation of 1863 and the 1963 March on Washington. Includes links to collections, images, and audio and video sources.
- Black History Month from About.com
Americans have been celebrating Black History Month since February 1976. That year, Gerald Ford extended the usual week-long celebration of African-American history and culture to a month. Read more about the origins of Black History Month and get ideas for classroom activities and lessons for Black History Month.
- Black History Month from Gale Cengage Learning
These free resources on Black History Month feature biographies, timetable, and excellent links to other African American history websites.
- Black History Month from the History Channel.
Videos, speeches, photos, and timeline from The History Channel.
- InfoPlease Black History Month
To observe Black History Month, this Information Please site features articles on black history and biographies of notable African Americans in politics, history, entertainment, arts, and sports. It also provides information and links on colleges, statistics on population and earnings, a Civil Rights timeline, and literature.
- Africans in America
Companion website to the PBS series. Text, images, and maps provide an overview of Africans in America from 1450 to 1865.
- Slavery and the Making of America
Companion site to a Public Broadcasting Service (PBS) series "documenting the history of American slavery from its beginnings in the British colonies to its end in the Southern states and the years of post-Civil War Reconstruction."
- Slavery: The Peculiar Institution
This online exhibit from the Library of Congress American Memory Project contains primary source materials related to the African slave trade and the history of slavery in America.
- The African-American Mosaic: A Library of Congress Resource Guide for the Study of Black History & Culture
The African-American Mosaic is the first Library-wide resource guide to the Library of Congress African- American collections. This Mosaic surveys the full range size, and variety of the Library's collections, including books, periodicals, prints, photographs, music, film, and recorded sound.
- Changing America: The Emancipation Proclamation, 1863, and the March on Washington, 1963
In an exhibition that runs until September 15, the Smithsonian explores the accomplishments and limitations of these two events--the Emancipation Proclamation and the March on Washington, and their impact on American
history. See the exhibition online at
- African American Mosaic
The African-American Mosaic: A Library of Congress Resource Guide for the Study of Black History and Culture is a noted publication, and the first Library-wide resource guide to the Library of Congress African- American collections. Covering the almost 500 years of the black experience in the Western hemisphere, the Mosaic surveys the full range size, and variety of the Library's collections, including books, periodicals, prints, photographs, music, film, and recorded sound.
- African American World PBS
A compilation of the many excellent resources from PBS on African American history, including: Africans In America, The Black Press, Soldiers Without Swords, The Blues, Homecoming, Jazz, The Rise and Fall of Jim Crow, Scottsboro: An American Tragedy.
- African Americans in New Jersey
A history of African Americans in New Jersey from the colonial period through the 1980s. Originally published by the New Jersey Historical Commission in 1989, and published on the Web by the New Jersey State Library.
- African-American Inventors
This is a A-Z list of popular Black inventors for whom more extensive information is available, such as biographies, images, timelines, and other media.
- Encyclopaedia Britannica's Guide to Black History
Explore this guide to Black History and find biographies, historical timelines, and information on hundreds of topics including civil rights, African and African American literature, art, music, architecture, and sports. A collection of audio, video, and more.
- In Motion: The African American Migration Experience
This site, from New York Public Library's Schomburg Center for Research in Black History contains thousands of essays, books, articles, manuscripts, illustrations, and maps related to black migration during the past four hundred years. These migrations include: Transatlantic Slave Trade, Domestic Slave Trade, Colonization and Emigration, Haitian Immigration, The Western Migration, The Northern Migration, The Great Migration, Second Great Migration, and the Return Migration to the South.
- Martin Luther King, Jr Papers
All of Martin Luther King Jr's papers , including 200,000 documents, will be available online for the first time today, as the nation marks Martin Luther King Day. The King Center Imaging Project, financed and overseen by JPMorgan Chase, offers free public access to the papers at www.TheKingCenter.org/archive.
- Martin Luther King Jr.--Historic Speeches and Interviews
The purpose of this project was to catalog and make accessible on this Web site YouTube videos of historic speeches and interviews by or about Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr, including his famous "I Have a Dream" speech on August 23, 1963.
Devil in the Grove
Arguably the most important American lawyer of the twentieth century, Thurgood Marshall was on the verge of bringing the landmark suit Brown v. Board of Education before the U.S. Supreme Court when he became embroiled in an explosive case that threatened to change the course of the civil rights movement and cost him his life. In 1949, Florida’s orange industry was booming, built on the backs of cheap Jim Crow labor. To maintain order and profits, they turned to Willis V. McCall, a violent sheriff who ruled Lake County. When a white seventeen-year-old Groveland girl cried rape, McCall was on the trail of four young blacks who dared to envision a future for themselves beyond the citrus groves. By day’s end, the Ku Klux Klan had appeared, bent on lynching the young men who came to be known as “the Groveland Boys.” Drawing on a wealth of never-before-published material, including the FBI’s Groveland case files, as well as access to the NAACP’s Legal Defense Fund files, King shines new light on this remarkable civil rights crusader.
More Than Freedom: fighting for black citizenship in a white republic, 1829-1889
In More Than Freedom, award-winning historian Stephen Kantrowitz redefines our understanding of this era by showing that the fight to abolish slavery was part of a broader campaign to establish full citizenship for African Americans. More Than Freedom chronicles this epic struggle through the experiences of black and white activists, including both famous reformers like Frederick Douglass and Charles Sumner and lesser-known but equally important figures. These black freedmen called themselves "colored citizens" and fought to establish themselves in public life by building their own networks and institutions and by fiercely challenging slavery and prejudice. Even though these reformers ultimately failed to remake the nation in the way they hoped, their struggle catalyzed the arrival of Civil War and changed the social and political landscape of the Union forever.
The Amistad rebellion : an Atlantic odyssey of slavery and freedom
On June 28, 1839, the Spanish slave schooner Amistad set sail on a routine delivery of slaves. After four days at sea, the captive Africans rose up, killed the captain, and seized control of the ship. They attempted to sail to a safe port, but were captured by the U.S. Navy and thrown in jail in Connecticut. Their legal battle for freedom eventually made its way to the Supreme Court, In a landmark ruling, they were freed and finally returned to Africa. The rebellion became one of the best-known events in the history of American slavery. In this powerful and original account, Marcus Rediker reclaims the rebellion for its true proponents: the African rebels who risked death to stake a claim for freedom. Using newly discovered evidence, Rediker reframes the story to show how a small group of courageous men fought and won an epic battle against Spanish and American slaveholders and their governments; and shows how the rebels captured the popular imagination and helped to inspire and build a movement that was part of a great global struggle between slavery and freedom.
The Great Migration North, 1910-1970
Publication Date: 2011-09-
Provides a comprehensive overview of the movement of millions of African Americans out of the South during the twentieth century, including the political, social, and economic factors that drove their migration. Includes a narrative overview, biographies, primary sources, chronology, glossary, bibliography, and index"-
The price of the ticket : Barack Obama and the rise and decline of Black politics
In The Price of the Ticket, Harris puts Obama's career in the context of decades of black activism, showing how his election undermined the very movement that made it possible. The path to his presidency began just before passage of the 1965 Voting Rights Act, when black leaders started discussing strategies to make the most of their new access to the ballot. Some argued that black voters should organize into a cohesive, independent bloc; others urged a more race-neutral approach, working together with other racial minorities as well as like-minded whites; this has been the fundamental divide within black politics ever since. Obama made a point of distancing himself from older race-conscious black leaders, like Jesse Jackson--even though, as Harris shows, he owes much to Jackson's earlier campaigns for the White House. Unquestionably Obama's approach won support among whites, but Harris finds the results troublesome. The social problems targeted by an earlier generation of black politicians--racial disparities in income and education, high incarceration and unemployment rates, rampant HIV in black communities--all persist, yet Obama's election marginalized them. Written by one of America's leading scholars of race and politics, The Price of the Ticket will reshape our understanding of the rise of Barack Obama and the decline of a politics dedicated to challenging racial inequality head on.