This is the "ESL" page of the "ESL & Language Learning" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

ESL & Language Learning  

ACFPL has an extensive collection of ESL, Language Learning and World Language resources. This guide provides a sampling of the materials available on this subject. To view more visit the library or browse the catalog
Last Updated: Aug 22, 2014 URL: http://acfpl.libguides.com/esl Print Guide RSS Updates

ESL Print Page
  Search: 
 

Local ESL & Citizenship Classes

  • Atlantic Cape Community College ESL Non-Credit Classes  Icon  Icon
    Charles C. Worthington City Center: Atlantic City
    1535 Bacharach Blvd.
    Atlantic City, NJ 08401
    Please contact Barbara Kozek at (609) 343-4713 for beginning ESL classes.
  • Atlantic City Adult High School  Icon  Icon
    1400 Albany Ave,
    Atlantic City, NJ 08401
    (609) 343-7300 ext. 2234
  • Citizenship Classes
    Free Citizenship classes (and free ESL classes) are being offered by the Atlantic City Parent Resource Center and classes are held at the Sovereign Ave. school; please call 609-344-8809, x. 5081 for more information.
  • Literacy Volunteers Conversation Groups
    LVA Conversation Groups meet at the LVA office with a facilitator who encourages students to participate in English conversations covering many topics of interest including civics, health literacy, employment and family life. Students from different countries throughout the world are able to join together to practice their English skills in a supportive, non-threatening environment. Call the LVA office for dates and times (609)383-3377.
 

English Word of the Day

Loading Loading...
blank padding

Premium eResources

Language Learning Computer-Based Resources
Use these resources in the library as a guest or from any internet connection with your library card.

 Pronunciator: Pronunciator is the world's largest language-learning service, with 60 languages and 3,000 available courses. Learn how to actually speak a foreign language with the help of pronunciation analysis, virtual coaches, and simulated conversations. For both beginners and advanced learners, kids to adults. Includes interactive ESL for 50 non-English languages, too.


Mango: Offers over twenty foreign languages to learn.   Mango also offers ESL courses for those who want to learn English.

 

 

      

    Websites to Learn a Language

    • Activities for ESL/EFL Students
      Offers quizzes, tests, exercises and puzzles to help you learn English as a Second Language (ESL). This project of The Internet TESL Journal (iteslj.org) has thousands of contributions by many teachers.
    • BBC Learning English
      Designed to help teach British English as a second language using current events, British life and history, and extracts from literature. Words in the News presents current news stories using text and audio files, with vocabulary and pronunciation highlighted.
    • Breaking News English
      This site features lessons based on current news stories. Lessons include the text of the story, along with reading, writing and listening exercises. The Lessons and news stories can also be downloaded in MP3 format.
    • ESL Cafe
      Dave's ESL Cafe is one of the leading ESL/EFL sites in the world, for both students and teachers. Students have their own help center, idioms, insight into useful slang, and forums. Teachers get web links, job listings, activity ideas, forums, and more.
    • Live Mocha
      LiveMocha helps students learn a new language, practice with others, and share knowledge; this site is like MySpace for people learning a new language! Livemocha allows people around the world to help each other with language learning. Site requires free registration.
    • Meriam Webster's Learner's Dictionary
      Provides a list of 3,000 of the most commonly spoken words in English that should be known by anyone learning English as a second language. Once registered you can check off words from the list and place them directly into your My Learner’s Dictionary word list. Also offers a Learner's Word of the Day by e-mail feature.
    • Purdue OWL English As A Second Language
      Provides ESL resources, especially related to writing, for both students and teachers
    • U.S.A. Learns
      Listen & read lessons online. Some instruction also offered in Spanish.
    • Using English
      UsingEnglish.com provides a large collection of English as a Second Language (ESL) tools & resources for students, teachers, learners and academics. Browse the grammar glossary and references on irregular verbs, phrasal verbs and idioms, ESL forums, teacher handouts, and find useful links and information on English.
     

    DVDs and Audiobooks

    Cover Art
    Drive time English. Intermediate-advanced level [compact disc]
    Drive Time English: Intermediate-Advanced Level uses a four-step approach to improve English without the use of a book. This program includes eight hours instruction on eight CDs, with four intermediate CDs, and four advanced CDs that can be used anywhere and anytime, while commuting to work, running errands, or even while working out.

    Cover Art
    Inglés express : método acelerado
    Intended for use in teaching English as a second language

    Cover Art
    Getting Ahead in the U.S.
    This is an essential course for immigrants, since it provides instruction in vocabulary, pronunciation, and grammar, as well as advice on everyday life in the U.S. It features clear step-by-step instructions for finding a job, buying a home, enrolling a child in school, preparing taxes, and obtaining health insurance.

    Cover Art
    Ingles en 100 dias - Aguilar Staff
    In a few minutes a day, learn 1,000 essential American English words and phrases. "Alcanzarás un nivel avanzado dominando las 1,000 palabras y frases claves del Inglés Americano."

    Cover Art
    Ingles en un mes [compact disc] : audio CD pack
    Inglés en un Mes es un curso acelerado de inglés organizado de forma práctica y entretenida para que puedas aprender inglés en poco tiempo y por tu cuenta, descubriendo todo lo que debes saber para defenderte en este idioma, de forma rapida y eficaz. Cada una de las 24 unidades en que esta estructurada la obra contiene: Una pagina inicial con el nombre de la unidad y los principales temas que se enseñaran en ella, presentado cada vez por uno de nuestros maestros.

    Cover Art
    Inglés al minuto - Aguilar Staff
    "Inglés al Minuto" es un novedoso curso de inglés organizado en mini clases que toma un minuto explicarlas. En este practico empaque audiopack tipo Library Case encontraras: 300 mini clases de ingles para ser ensenadas en un minuto, presentadas en 1 libro encuadernado en 272 paginas con mas de 800 ilustraciones y 4 CD de mas de una hora cada uno, con el audio de las 300 mini clases, en casi 5 horas de instruccion a traves del audio del curso.

     

    ESL Classes at the Library

    Classes

    Classes are open to Library cardholders. Please register at the Help Desk with your valid ACFPL library card and call before to make sure class is being held. 609-345-2269.  Classes are held in the Main Library meeting room (second floor). 

    Intermediate ESL

    Mondays from 1 – 3:30;  July 7, 14, 28, August 4, 11, 18 and 25.   Starting in September, classes will be held on Tuesdays from 1-3-3:30.

    Listen, read, practice conversation, learn writing techniques, new vocabulary, pronunciation, and proper grammar. This is an intermediate class but other levels of students can also attend. 

    Classes are open to Library cardholders.  Please register at the Help Desk and call 609-345-2269 beforehand to make sure class is being held. Classes are held in the Main Library meeting room (second floor). 

       

      TOEFL

      Cover Art
      Kaplan TOEFL IBT premier 2014-2015 with 4 practice tests
      The TOEFL iBT tests your abilities in Reading, Writing, Listening, and Speaking. Kaplan’s TOEFL iBT Premier 2014-2015 with 4 Practice Tests presents the most important language skills and strategies needed to succeed on this test. Kaplan’s comprehensive guide gives you exactly what you will need to get ready for the test, including:
      4 full-length online practice tests with detailed answers and explanations
      Audio for Listening, Speaking and Writing sections with complete transcripts in the book
      Exclusive score-raising tips and strategies for each language skill: Reading, Writing, Listening, and Speaking.

       

      Books not to Miss


      Cover Art
      English grammar for ESL learners - Ed Swick
      Part of the popular Practice Makes Perfect series, this title helps ESL students build a solid foundation in English grammar. Practice Makes Perfect: English Grammar for ESL Learners offers a complete overview of English grammar using concise, easy-to-understand language. With the proven Practice Makes Perfect format, students can polish their English grammar skills in no time at all. Practice Makes Perfect: English Grammar for ESL Learners helps students: understand the different rules and elements of grammar; build grammar skills with more than 100 engaging exercises; broaden knowledge with sentence rewrites and creative writing prompts; and test overall comprehension with a review section.

      Cover Art
      English the American way; : a fun ESL guide to language and culture in the U.S. - Sheila MacKechnie Murtha; Jane Airey O'Connor
      Written as a guide for people who already have a basic understanding of English and want to improve their ability to speak it the way it is spoken in the U. S.

      Cover Art
      Everyday English; how to say what you mean and write everything right - Patrick Scrivenor
      This back-to-basics overview of the English language includes just what you need to know to make a great impression every day—in school, in life, online, and on the job. Each chapter, covering all the essentials from parts of speech to pronunciation to common pitfalls, includes concise, easy-to-find definitions and explanations, countless examples, fun facts, and tips.


      Cover Art
      Inglés para el lugar de trabajo = English for the workplace - William C. Harvey
      This book and compact disc program will help Hispanics who speak little or no English communicate successfully with job interviewers, employers, supervisors, and fellow workers in a mainly English-speaking work environment. Practical instruction starts with the basics of English pronunciation and an introduction to commonly used words and phrases. The last chapter helps learners to understand general business terms and phrases, including sales phrases, banking vocabulary, speaking on the telephone, using a computer, and more.

      Cover Art
      Side by side plus - Steven J. Molinsky; Bill Bliss
      Side by Side has helped over 25 million students worldwide succeed as language learners. Now, in this special edition for adult learners in standards-based programs, Side by Side Plus builds students' general language proficiency and prepares them for their life-skill roles in the community, family, school, and at work.

      Description

      Loading  Loading...

      Tip