This is the "Jobs" page of the "A.C. Casino Applications, Jobs & Careers" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

A.C. Casino Applications, Jobs & Careers   Tags: atlantic city casino applications, careers, changing careers, interviews, job search, job training, resumes  

Get all the information you need to choose a career, find a job, write a resume or cover letter and so much more! This guide provides a sampling of the materials available on this subject. To view more visit the library or browse the catalog.
Last Updated: May 18, 2013 URL: http://acfpl.libguides.com/Jobs-Careers Print Guide RSS UpdatesShareThis

Jobs Print Page
  Search: 
 

Casino Job Applications

 

Job Search--Start Here

Are you NEW to the JOB SEARCH process? Take a look at these guides that provide comprehensive listings of job search and career information resources and services on the Web.

Best Job Search Sites

  • Career Builder
    One of the largest employment network for employers, recruiters and job seekers. This site works with major newspaper markets to list jobs locally and nationally. Find jobs, post resumes and get advice on the job search process.
  • Craig's List Job Classifieds
    A good source for local job listings and "gigs" in South Jersey.
  • Glassdoor
    For those looking for a new job, real information about salaries and workplace environments can be nearly impossible to find. Glassdoor offers a free insiders' look at more than 28,000 companies with salary details, company reviews, and interview questions — all posted anonymously by employees and job seekers.
  • Indeed.com
    This job search engine includes millions of job listings from thousands of web sites, including company career pages, job boards, newspaper classifieds, and associations. Job seekers may also search for job trends and salaries, participate in discussion forums, and research companies.
  • LinkUp
    LinkUp lists jobs straight from company websites and then continuously validates that they’re still posted. You can also set up job alerts, and get RSS results of a search.
  • Monster.com
    Monster is now the largest online jobs database with more than 400,000 job opportunities, in the U. S. as well as internationally (now includes Hot Jobs). You can search by company name, location, discipline, industry, job title, or a combination of these.
  • Net-Temps
    Net-Temps is the leading job board for temporary, temp-to-perm and full time employment through the staffing industry.

  • Snagajob.com
    Leading source for hourly and part-time jobs.Search by zip code for local jobs near you.
  • VetJobs
    VetJobs is the leading Internet niche job board catering to the 10.5 million military veterans currently in the work force, as well as those transitioning from the military to the civilian workforce. VetJobs has received the WEDDLE's User's Choice Award every year since 2004, making it one of the Top 30 career sites on the Internet.
 

Premium eResources

Use these resources in the library as a guest or from any internet connection with your library card.



Job & Career Accelerator will help you get your job search into high gear.

Career Transitions: Explore careers, create a resume, find jobs and more. Get information on networking, interviewing, applying for jobs, salary negotiation and more.

Government Job Resources

  • Atlantic City Career Center
    View available job listings for the City of Atlantic City.
  • Atlantic County One Stop
    Pleasantville Office
    2 South Main Street
    Pleasantville, NJ 08232
    (609) 813-3900
    M-F 8:30 AM-4:30PM
    Public access to One-Stop computers for posting resumes and for jobs. Resource library with information on careers, many occupations, training opportunities, job search tools & appointments with Employment Interviewers.
  • Atlantic County Supported Work Program
    P.O. Box 1107, 1227 Drexel Ave.
    Atlantic City, NJ 08404
    (609) 343-2284 Atlantic City, NJ 08404
    Provides a structured transitional work experience and training in basic life skills and job search techniques to help ex-offenders, recovering substance abusers, school dropouts etc. obtain employment in the private sector. This work environment provides close supervision, peer group support and graduated stress. Need A Job!
    Call Vikki 609 343-2284.
    609 343
  • Atlantic County Women's Center (ACWC) - WomenSource Training Institute
    P.O. Box 311
    Northfield, NJ 08225
    (609) 646-4441 or (609) 646-1177
    Atlantic County Women's Center WomenSource Training Institue offers training, workshops and programs such as Child Development Associate certification, Domestic Violence Specialist training, and Parenting PLUS!, a comprehensive parenting education program.
  • Atlantic County Women's Center (ACWC) Home To Work Program
    1201 New Road
    Cornerstone Commerce Center
    Linwood, NJ 08221
    Displaced Homemakers Services
    Phone: (609) 601-9925
    Offers services related to the loss of income due to the sudden disability of a partner, separation, divorce or widowhood. Counselors are available to guide women back into the workforce.
  • Jobs 4 Jersey
    Jobs4jersey is a quick and easy portal from the US Dept of Labor. Jobs4Jersey’s OnRamp job search tool analyzes and compares your resume to the resumes of thousands of successful job-seekers in order to bring you successful job searches, and career transitions. OnRamp provides customized, real-time, job leads, giving you a competitive advantage over job-seekers using more traditional job search methods. In a hurry? -- upload or paste an existing resume onto OnRamp and it can analyze your resume and suggest additional skills and qualifications that you may not have considered. If you don't have a resume yet, then let OnRamp help; writing is not required – instead, OnRamp interviews you and suggests skills and job function descriptions you may not have thought to include that highlight your unique skills. OnRamp also ensures that your resume includes key words and phrases that employers look for in resumes.
  • NJ Civil Service Jobs
    Formerly DOP, now Civil Service Commission) View state, county, and municipal government job announcements including Firefighters and Law Enforcement applications.
  • Department of Labor and Workforce Development
    This site has extensive information available for job seekers, businesses and those seeking benefits.
  • New Jersey State Library Virtual Career Center
    Find resources to assist you with all your educational and employment goals. Specific Employment Resources provide career information targeted for specific populations.
  • American Job Center
    As the cornerstone of the American Job Center Network this site provides a single access point - open 24-7 - to key federal programs and critical local resources to help people find a job, identify training programs, and obtain skills in growing industries. Connecting Americans to online resources from across the federal government, nearly 3,000 American Job Centers, and hundreds of local training programs and job resources funded through federal grants, the proud partners of the American Job Center Network provide an easily-identifiable source for the help and services individuals and businesses need.
 

Books Not to Miss

Cover Art
Cracking the new job market : the 7 rules for getting hired in any economy - William R. Holland
"Cracking the New Job Market" shows how the rules for finding professional work have changed and delivers new job-hunting strategies that actually work. The key now is to sell yourself on the value you can create for an employer now, rather than focusing on past accomplishments. This new approach to getting hired requires new skills. Author R. Willam Holland, an HR insider, shows job seekers how to: gather information on what a prospective employer finds important; emphasize those skills, accomplishments, and qualities in tailored resumes and interview answers; identify the intersection between personal talents and what the marketplace needs; unlock the networking power of social media; and, negotiate the best possible offer.

Cover Art
I got my dream job and so can you : 7 steps to creating your ideal career after college - Pete Leibman
Recent graduates trying to obtain jobs face a discouraging job market and stiff competition for even the most entry-level positions. Yet with the right attitude and strategies, they can break into any organization in any industry and start climbing the ladder to success.
When he was only 21 years old, Pete Leibman landed his “dream job,” working in the front office of the NBA’s Washington Wizards. In I Got My Dream Job and So Can You, Leibman shares his proven and simple system for career success. He shows readers how to: Think big and identify what they want from their career; Network their way past corporate gatekeepers; Impress highly influential people in any field; Land interviews for “hidden” jobs; Sell themselves on paper, online, and in person; Get hired faster and with less effort than they thought possible.

Cover Art
Job searching with social media for dummies - Consumer Dummies Staff; Joshua Waldman
A guide to using social media to find a job that explains the benefits of using sites like LinkedIn, Twitter, and Facebook for networking, offers tips on creating an effective online profile, discusses how to develop a personal online brand, and includes other helpful job search strategies.

Cover Art
Knock 'em dead 2013: the ultimate job search guide. - Martin Yate
Martin Yate takes you on a journey of discovery that will change the course of your life. First the book offers proven strategies for obtaining your next job, and then provides advice on how to successfully navigate the twists and turns of your whole career.

Cover Art
The 2-hour job search : using technology to get the right job faster - Steve Dalton
The 2-Hour Job Search shows job-seekers how to work smarter (and faster) to secure first interviews. Through a prescriptive approach, Dalton explains how to wade through the Internet’s sea of information and create a job-search system that relies on mainstream technology such as Excel, Google, LinkedIn, and alumni databases to create a list of target employers, contact them, and then secure an interview—with only two hours of effort. Avoiding vague tips like “leverage your contacts,” Dalton tells job-hunters exactly what to do and how to do it. This empowering book focuses on the critical middle phase of the job search and helps readers bring organization to what is all too often an ineffectual and frustrating process.

Cover Art
What color is your parachute 2013 : a practical manual for job-hunters and career-changers 2013 - Richard N. Bolles
Career expert Richard Bolles has now written forty-one books all with the same title: What Color Is Your Parachute? A Practical Manual for Job-Hunters and Career-Changers. In order to tailor his authoritative guide to the current job- market, Bolles not only updates the book each year, but he also reconceives it, reinvents it, and rewrites it, so that one year’s edition is often vastly different from the previous year, and that is the case with the 2013 edition. Inventions in the book this year include a brand-new transferable skills grid, a novel way to discover what fields you would most like to work in, and a revamped version of his famed self-inventory instrument, the Flower Exercise. With new insights into resumes, networking, interviewing, salary negotiation, entrepreneurship, and social media, What Color Is Your Parachute? has everything you need to dust off your motivation and find your dream job.

 

Facing Job Loss

Are you facing UNEMPLOYMENT? Get information and instructions from the NJ Department of Labor and Workforce Development on filing a new or reopening an existing NJ Unemployment Insurance Claim.  OR File for Unemployment by Phone.  To file continued claim by phone for Atlantic City, call 609-441-7581, or file online.

I Lost My Job.com is an e-resource for people coping with and recovering from job loss, and provides both articles and links to job loss recovery resources. There are articles about coping with job loss, getting started with a job search, starting a resume or updating your current resume, and more.

 

Upcoming Classes

No Registration Required, just bring your valid ACFPL library card to attend any of our free computer training classes.

Job Skills Basics

Monday, June 3, 2013 5:00PM -7:30PM


Computer & Internet Basics
Tuesday, June 4, 2013, 1:00PM-3:30PM.
Monday, June 17, 2013 Computer & Internet Basics, 5:00PM-7:30PM.
Tuesday, June 18, 2013 Computer & Internet Basics, 1:00PM-3:30PM.
 
Microsoft Word Basics
Tuesday, May 28, 2013, 1:00PM-3:30PM

 Monday, June 24, 2013, 5:00PM-7:30PM

 

    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip