The College Navigator allows students and parents to search for colleges and universities of possible interest by a number of characteristics such as location and distance from home; programs and majors; institution type (public, private, 2-year, 4-year); institution size; cost; setting (rural, suburban, urban); and more. This is a very useful and easy-to-use tool for creating a list of colleges and universities for further investigation and possible attendance.
Information about thousands of colleges and universities, undergraduate and graduate programs, applications, funding, and more. Specific topics include distance learning, executive education, academic test preparation, financial aid, and summer programs.
"A college degree has never been more important-or more expensive. If you're not made of money, where can you get an amazing liberal arts education without your parents having to remortgage the house or cash in their retirement fund? Which degrees will allow you to fulfill your dreams and earn a decent paycheck? What do you really need to know if you're the first in your family to go to college? How do you find good schools that offer a well-rounded campus life for black or Latino students? From the staff of Washington Monthly comes a new kind of college guide, inspired by and including the magazine's signature alternative college rankings. The Other College Guide features well designed, engaging chapters on finding the best-fit schools and the real deal about money, loans, and preparing for the world of work. This essential higher ed handbook also highlights information on what to look for (and watch out for) in online programs and for-profit colleges and concludes with fifty profiles of remarkable but frequently overlooked schools. "
The International Student Handbook 2013 is the only book exclusively for foreign students! It provides information on 2,900 colleges, including each school’s “international profile.” It includes step-by-step guidelines on how to prepare for and apply to colleges in the United States, find financial aid and obtain a student visa.
"From the bestselling author of College Unbound comes an inspiring blueprint to help lessen parents' anxiety and prepare their college-educated child to successfully land a good job after graduation.Saddled with thousands of dollars of debt, today's college students are graduating into an uncertain job market that is leaving them financially dependent on their parents for years to come--a reality that has left moms and dads wondering: What did I pay all that money for?There Is Life After College offers students, parents, and even recent graduates the practical advice and insight they need to jumpstart their careers. Education expert Jeffrey Selingo answers key questions--Why is the transition to post-college life so difficult for many recent graduates? How can graduates market themselves to employers that are reluctant to provide on-the-job training?--and offers a practical step-by-step plan every young professional can follow. From the end of high school through college graduation, he lays out exactly what students need to do to acquire the skills companies want. Full of tips, advice, and insight, this insightful, practical guide will help every student, no matter their major or degree, find real employment--and give their parents some peace of mind".
Tutor.com: Prepare for the SAT, ACT, standardized tests in all 50 states, graduate school entrance tests and much more.
Learning Express: Offers resources that provide the preparation tools and tips every college-bound high school student needs for a smooth and successful admissions process.
The Obama administration unveiled a new online search tool aimed at helping potential college students and their families learn more about college campuses, including the financial aid offered and how much their graduates earn later in life. Although the new 'College Scorecard' will allow consumers to compare various colleges on a variety of factors, it will not provide any rankings like those provided by U.S. News & World Report.
Online Education (MOOCs)
Free online education known as “massive open online courses,” or MOOCs, offered through platforms like edX, Coursera, and Udacity. MOOC courses are open to anyone.
MOOC List--MOOC List is a directory of Massive Open Online Courses (MOOCs) offered by different providers.
MOOC List is a website where you can find free online courses (MOOCs) offered by the best universities around the world. You can browse by provider, university, country, type of certificate, and more.
Coursera--Established by two professors from Stanford, Coursera currently has 33 university partners. Includes open courses from: UC San Diego, UC Irvine, UC San Francisco, Stanford, Duke, Princeton University and more.To learn more about Coursera and its teaching & learning potential, view a presentation given by founder Daphne Koller, to UCSD. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=09tvsd3TGlk
edX--This MOOC platfrom was founded by MIT and Harvard, and is developed as open source software. Includes open courses from: MIT, Harvard, UC Berkeley, the University of Texas system, Georgetown and more.
Udacity--Udacity is a private education organization and this platform grew out of a Stanford course experiment. With industry giants—Google, AT&T, andFacebook, they offer Nanodegree programs and credentials, designed so professionals become Web Developers, Data Analysts, Mobile Developers, etc. Students acquire real skills through a series of online courses and hands-on projects.
Kaplan's ACT 2016 is completely revised for the updated ACT and covers every concept tested. It provides you with exactly what you need to know to score higher on this crucial exam. This study guide includes:
* 6 full-length practice tests with detailed answer explanations
* An online center with additional practice questions, video tutorials, and more!
* DVD with 12 video tutorials from top Kaplan instructors
* Tips and strategies for scoring higher from expert Kaplan ACT instructors and students who got a perfect score on the exam
This new edition features a customized study schedule based on the results of your individual diagnostic test results, so it is geared specifically for you.
THE PRINCETON REVIEW GETS RESULTS. Get all the prep you need to ace the SAT with 5 full-length practice tests, thorough SAT topic reviews, and extra practice online.
Techniques That Actually Work.
• Powerful strategies to avoid traps and beat the test
• Tips for pacing yourself and prioritizing tough questions
• Detailed examples for applying each technique to your advantage
Everything You Need To Know for a High Score.
• Expert subject reviews for each test topic
• Practical information about what to expect on the SAT
• "Hit Parade" of commonly-appearing SAT vocabulary words
Practice Your Way to Perfection.
• 4 full-length practice tests with detailed answer explanations
• 1 additional full-length SAT practice exam online
• Drills for each test section—Math, Critical Reading, and Writing
Prep Smarter. Not Harder. The College Board's redesigned SAT is coming in spring 2016, and there is nothing like practice to help build the necessary edge to increase your SAT score. Kaplan’s 8 Practice Tests for the New SAT provides more practice tests than any other guide on the market. With more than 1,500 questions and comprehensive explanations that guide you through how to get the right answer the expert way; Kaplan guarantees you’ll raise your score—or your money back!
Kaplan’s 8 Practice Tests for the New SAT features:
* 8 realistic full-length practice tests for the New SAT with detailed answers
* More than 450 math Grid-Ins and Multiple-Choice questions
* More than 400 Evidence-Based Reading questions
* More than 350 Writing and Language questions
* 8 essay prompts, complete with model essays and a self-grading guide
* Detailed explanations written by test experts to help you determine your strengths and weaknesses and improve your performance.
The College Board's new SAT is coming in March 2016! Face the redesigned SAT with confidence using Kaplan's New SAT 2016 Strategies, Practice and Review. This newly revised guide provides brand new practice tests, clear explanations of test changes, detailed concept review, and much more. Kaplan's New SAT 2016 Strategies, Practice and Review includes:
3 realistic practice tests for the new SAT including two full-length online exams
In-depth review of the new Evidence-Based Reading and Writing section and the new Optional Essay
In-depth review of all Math topics tested in the new SAT, including analysis of data, charts, and graphs.
Explanations of the new SAT scoring systems
1,000+ practice questions with clear, detailed answers
The College Board offers Accuplacer as a way to determine the skills of incoming students, and is primarily used by community colleges and technical schools. Accuplacer is a web-based assessment tool to determine skills in reading, writing, and math. It is untimed, but students can normally complete it in less than 90 minutes. All questions must be answered, and students cannot go back over a previous question once they answer it. Accuplacer may determine whether a student goes directly into a college-level course or a remedial class. This site offers free practice questions.
Follow the links below to register online for the SAT, view and send your SAT scores, and find all the information you need — including exam dates and fees — for the SAT, SAT Subject Tests™, PSAT/NMSQT, AP, and CLEP.
The SAT and SAT Subject Tests are offered several times a year. Most students take the SAT for the first time during the spring of their junior year and a second time during the fall of their senior year.
The 50 model essays presented in this book were written by successful Ivy League college applicants. Each essay is followed by critical comments that reveal both strong and weak points in its author's style and content. Also presented is detailed essay-writing advice and instruction.
"Demystifying the process of completing a college applicationWritten by two former admissions officers at top universities and current admissions coaches, this book is a must-have for preparing a winning college application. The authors reveal the mystery behind what college admissions officers are looking for and show applicants how to leverage their credentials, stand out in the over-crowded applicants' pool, and make a genuine, memorable impression. This is the book that will help the college-bound get off the "like many others" pile and onto the acceptance list. Includes instructions and examples for every component of the college application, from writing the essay to answering questions like "Why do you want to go to College X?" Shows how to avoid underestimating the importance of critical features on any application Includes the latest information on Common Application 4.0 and corrects outdated, holdover advice still stressed in many other books This book is filled with step-by-step advice that students and parents can use immediately and will refer to again and again".