Skip to main content
Banner Image

Affordable Care Act: Affordable Care Act

Enroll in the Health Insurance Marketplace

November 1, 2015: Open Enrollment starts — first day you can enroll in a 2016 insurance plan through the Health Insurance Marketplace. Coverage can start as soon as January 1, 2016. December 15, 2015: Last day to enroll in or change plans for new coverage to start January 1, 2016
After December 15, 2015, you can enroll in a 2016 insurance plan through the Health Insurance Marketplace only if you have a life event that qualifies you for a Special Enrollment Period.

Life events that may qualify you for a Special Enrollment Period

  • Getting married
  • Having a baby or adopting a child.
  • Losing other health coverage

  • Moving to a new residence

  • Gaining citizenship or lawful presence in the U.S.
  • Leaving incarceration.

You can apply for health coverage in the Marketplace 4 ways: you apply online, you must have a valid email address.  New Jesey did not create a state specific insurance marketplace, so NJ residents will use this federal site to select and enroll in a health insurance plan.  Please note that  since 36 states  are sending their residents to this federal marketplace,  there may be delays depending on the amount of traffic to the site.  

Help Center:  To apply by phone, call 1-800-318-2596, 24 hours a day, 7 days a week (TTY: 1-855-889-4325). A customer service representative will work with you to complete the application and enrollment process. 

Recent Changes to the website:

  • A new "Hardship Exemption" was created for individuals with true hardships (e. g. homlessness, being evicted or having shut-off of utilities) so that these people do not have to pay a penalty for not having health insurance.  Please refer to
  • A new ""window-shopping" feature that lets prospective customers see health plans and prices in their area, including previously unavailable details such as deductibles and cost-sharing, as well as provider networks.
  • A new "Reset" button allows people who were previously stuck in the system to do away with their old application and start over. To do that, you log into your account, select the application in progress and hit "remove." ; then close  and reopen your web browser, and log back in to start a new application. 
  • To help relieve problems during periods of high user volume, the website now offers a queuing system.  Consumers can request email notifications of when is a good time to come back.

Affordable Care Act: Public Laws and Bill Summaries

The bill summaries below are starting places, but do not contain the complete legislative history of the law.  

Health Care Reform--NYT


Affordable Care Act Key Features

The Affordable Care Act was passed by Congress and signed into law by the President on March 23, 2010.  On June 28, 2012, the Supreme Court rendered a final decision to uphold the health care law.

Subsidy Calculator

Health Insurance Marketplace

New Jersey has chosen to use the federal health insurance exchange, named the Health Insurance Marketplace, for health insurance rather than implementing a state-based exchange. The federal exchange is located at For Spanish speaking consumers, is also available.

Trusted Websites

Affordable Care Act from SCOTUSblog


Find Local Help--Get Personal Help Applying for Health Coveragee

The following locations have certified application counselors.

  • South Jersey Family Medical Centers, Address:  1301 Atlantic Ave, Atlantic City, NJ, 08401, Call 609-572-0000; Website:
  • Atlanticare (Healthplex) has application counselors, in Spanish also Address:  1401 Atlantic Ave, Atlantic City, NJ, 08401:  Call 888-569-1000
  • Center for Family Services; Call 877-922-2377 



Affordable Care Act FAQS

If you have questions, call  24/7 1-800-318-2596  or Chat Online at

Please also see

What is the Affordable Healthcare Act?

The Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act, or commonly referred to as Obamacare was passed in March 2010, with the goal of increasing healthcare coverage to more Americans. Read the full text of the law.

When can I apply?

The Open Enrollment period for 2015 coverage is November 15, 2014 to February 15, 2015December 15, 2014 is the last date to enroll for coverage that starts January 1, 2015.

Who can apply?

    You must live in the United States.

     You must be a U.S. Citizen or National (or lawfully present) See more information about Immigration status

     You cannot be currently incarcerated


What do I need to apply?

        Social Security Numbers (or document numbers for legal immigrants)

        Employer and income information for every member of your household who needs coverage. (Pay stubs, or W-2 forms)

        Policy numbers for any current health insurance plans covering members of your household.

        Completed Employer Coverage Tool for every job-based plan you or someone in your household is eligible for.

Where can I go if I have more questions?  Assistors will be available to help in filling out applications. Locate local help

For more information, call 1-800-318-2596 or visit

Where can I go to file a complaint about insurance in New Jersey?

You can visit the New Jersey Department of Banking and Insurance at: or call the department at: 609-292-7272.  


Books Not to Miss

Information for Small Business