The well-known Dr. Andrew Weil sponsors a site that contains a wide range of information on complementary and alternative medicine, including a popular ask Dr. Weil section, which also offers archives of previous questions.
This page is part of the National Institutes of Health's National Center for Complementary and Alternative Medicine (NCCAM) website. The page contains links to information for consumers on specific alternative medical treatments. Information is organized under the following headings: Topics A-Z, Herbs, and Clinical Trials.
The National Library of Medicine's MedlinePlus can help consumers locate authoritative health information on alternative medicine. Search MEDLINE for articles by scrolling to "Search MEDLINE for recent research articles on Alternative Medicine." Can also search for various alternative therapy topics including: cancer alternative therapy, herbal medicine, acupuncture and dietary supplements.
This book combines science and folklore for health, and features practical cures, medicinal herbs, healing foods, green housecleaning, sustainable cosmetics, alternative therapies, and lifestyle changes. Created with a nationally recognized advisory board of medical professionals and leading figures in natural healing fields,
Discover improved balance, strength, flexibility, and mobility at any age with gentle therapeutic Tai Chi-inspired exercise from America's premier Tai Chi and fitness expert, Scott Cole. Guiding you through a delectable continuum of breath, movement, Tai Chi, Chi Kung, stretching, and chair exercise, Discover Tai Chi for Balance and Mobility delivers easy-to-follow, effective exercises to help prevent falling, while improving overall balance, strength, flexibility, and mobility.
Do you have to tell your leg how to heal itself? No. Your body does this automatically, effortlessly. So why can't it "heal" excess fat? Mercola reveals the nine simple secrets to a healthier, thinner you. The results are amazing and the steps can be easy to implement.
Trusted natural health physician and bestselling author Tieraona Low Dog, M.D. provides a personalized approach to using nutritional supplements for your specific health needs, helping you navigate the complex and often confusing landscape of vitamins, minerals, supplements. Dr. Low Dog explains the basics about every essential nutritional supplement and guides the reader in creating a personalized supplement plan, tailored to individual genetics, age, gender, and lifestyle. Dr Low Dog evaluates current research, explains the relationship between food and supplements, describes how medications cause chemical imbalances in the body, and advises on how to judge brands and read labels. The author also engages and encourages readers to take charge of their own health and provides guidance to find the right combination of nutritional supplements to improve mood, strength, energy, and well-being.
Conventional medical science on the Chinese art of Tai Chi now shows what Tai Chi masters have known for centuries: regular practice leads to more vigor and flexibility, better balance and mobility, and a sense of well-being. Cutting-edge research from Harvard Medical School also supports the long-standing claims that Tai Chi also has a beneficial impact on the health of the heart, bones, nerves and muscles, immune system, and the mind. This research provides fascinating insight into the underlying physiological mechanisms that explain how Tai Chi actually works.
Dr. Peter M. Wayne, a longtime Tai Chi teacher and a researcher at Harvard Medical School, developed and tested protocols similar to the simplified program he includes in this book, which is suited to people of all ages, and can be done in just a few minutes a day. This book includes:
• The basic program, illustrated by more than 50 photographs
• Practical tips for integrating Tai Chi into everyday activities
• Introduction to Tai Chi's traditional principles
• Up-to-date summaries of the research literature on the health benefits of Tai Chi
• How Tai Chi can increase work productivity, creativity, and sports performance
56 South Main Street Stockton, NJ 08559 Phone: 609-397-858
Widely recognized as the area's leading center for integrated health care. As holistic practitioners, we emphasize your personal participation in your own health care and will help you design a personal wellness program best suited to you as an individual.