Skip to main content

Genealogy: Genealogy: Getting Started

This guide provides a sampling of the materials available on this subject. To view more visit the library or browse the catalog. For Atlantic City information view our Heston Collection.

Genealogy Websites

Premium eResources

Heritage QuestHeritage Quest: United States Population Census returns, electronic books, periodicals index for genealogy publications, and other online resources. Requires a valid Atlantic City Free Public Library card to access from outside the Library building.

Newsbank: full-text newspaper articles from The Press of Atlantic City (1988-present) and The Philadelphia Inquirer (1981-present). This database is only available inside the Library building.

The Online Local News Index (OLNI) is published by the Atlantic City Free Public Library and is continously updated. Full-text of the articles is NOT available through the index. If you would like to see the full-text of an article, please visit the Library to use the microfilm collections, print resources, or NewsBank.

Sanborn Map Company played a vital role in the development of fire insurance map making in the late nineteenth and early twentieth centuries. The company created hand-made and colored lithograph maps of over 12,000 cities and towns across the United States and set the standard for fire insurance maps of the era.  Sanborn Maps are now used to provide a detailed understanding of the physical make up of these cities and towns. ACFPL has them for New Jersey. They are displayed in black and white because these digital maps were created by scanning microfilm, which was originally filmed in black and white. This database is only available inside the Library building.

DVDs