On-site access to Atlantic City newspapers is available whenever the Library is open. To locate the date of an article from 1984 to the present, researchers are encouraged to use the Online Local News Index. Tip: do a subject search for the person's name - last name, first name.
The Library has The Press of Atlantic City from 1895 (with a few exceptions) on microfilm. There are also other area newspapers available on microfilm. The Library also has Newsbank, a full-text searchable database of The Press, from 1988 to the present, and this is available on-site only.
If you are not able to visit on-site, limited research assistance is available for a fee.
For information on obtaining a copy of a vital record certificate of an event that occurred in Atlantic City (birth, death, marriage, or domestic partnership), please refer to the following websites.
Heritage Quest: United States Population Census returns, electronic books, periodicals index for genealogy publications, and other online resources. Requires a valid Atlantic City Free Public Library card to access from outside the Library building.
Newsbank: full-text newspaper articles from The Press of Atlantic City (1988-present) and The Philadelphia Inquirer (1981-present). This database is only available inside the Library building.
The Online Local News Index (OLNI) is published by the Atlantic City Free Public Library and is continously updated. Full-text of the articles is NOT available through the index. If you would like to see the full-text of an article, please visit the Library to use the microfilm collections, print resources, or NewsBank.
Sanborn Map Company played a vital role in the development of fire insurance map making in the late nineteenth and early twentieth centuries. The company created hand-made and colored lithograph maps of over 12,000 cities and towns across the United States and set the standard for fire insurance maps of the era. Sanborn Maps are now used to provide a detailed understanding of the physical make up of these cities and towns. ACFPL has them for New Jersey. They are displayed in black and white because these digital maps were created by scanning microfilm, which was originally filmed in black and white. This database is only available inside the Library building.
The library maintains clippings files on topics related to Atlantic City and local history, as well as archival collections, books, and other unique resources. Please contact the Atlantic City Heritage Collections staff for more information about these.
If you are interested in doing historical research about Atlantic City, consider using the Atlantic City Free Public Library's Atlantic City Heritage Collections.
Because some of the items in the collection are fragile or irreplaceable, the Alfred M. Heston Research Room is a closed-stack area with access provided only by Library personnel by appointment only. Researchers must register and present a form of photo identification to see materials. Researchers must also agree to follow certain rules for the use of archival materials, which will be explained when the researcher arrives.
To request an appointment, contact the Atlantic City Heritage Collections staff by email or phone at least 1 business day in advance and receive confirmation of the appointment before arriving.
If you are not able to visit in person to conduct your researcher, you should consider sending a researcher. Here are a few places that provide researchers. ACFPL does not vet or recommend a particualar site or researcher.