Legal Resources
Codes & Statutes
- New Jersey LegislatureIncludes the New Jersey Permanent Statutes Database, the Chapter Laws from 1996 on, Legislative Bills from 1996 on, and Public Hearings from 1996 on.
- US CodeThis version of the U.S. Code is generated from the most recent official version made available by the US House of Representatives.
NJ Courts
- Atlantic County Civil Courts Building1201 Bacharach Blvd.
Atlantic City, NJ 08401
609-345-6700 - Mays Landing Criminal Courts Complex4997 Unami Blvd.
Mays Landing, NJ 08330
609-909- 8154 - NJ Superior Court Appellate DivisionAppellate Division Clerk's Office
P.O. Box 006, Trenton, New Jersey, 08625
Phone: (609) 292-4822 - NJ Tax CourtTax Court Management Office
P.O. Box 972, Trenton, New Jersey 08625-0972
(609) 292-5082 or (609) 292-6989
Trusted Legal Sites
- American Law Sources On-line (ALSO!)Provides a comprehensive and useful compilation of links to all on-line sources of American law that are available without charge. Also contains additional links to sources of commentary and practice aids that are available without charge (or at a reasonable charge from governmental and nonprofit providers).
- Congress.govLegislative information from the Library of Congress.
- Legal Information Institute (LII)Extensive materials on the law: brief summaries of law topics, with links to key primary sources; state and federal constitutions and codes; federal and state judicial opinions; federal, state, and international law by source or jurisdiction, and more.
State & Federal Courts
- Supreme Court of the United StatesOne First Street, NE, Washington, DC 20543
Phone: 202-479-3211
Premium eResources
Legal Information Reference Center Provides a wide selection of New Jersey (and multi-state) legal forms across the most popular legal areas. Includes real estate contracts, wills, pre-marital agreements, bankruptcy, divorce, landlord tenant and many others. Also included is a comprehensive attorney state directory and a dictionary of legal definitions explained in laymen's language.
Domestic Violence
- Domestic Violence Atlantic CountyAtlantic County Women's Center
Violence Intervention Program (VIP)
1201 New Road, Suite 240
Linwood, NJ 08221
Emergency Shelter
24 Hr. Toll free Hotline: 1-800-286-4184
Phone: (609) 646-6767
Office: (609) 601-9925 - NJ Coalition Against Sexual AssaultNew Jersey Coalition Against Sexual Assault (NJCASA) Hotline 1 (800) 601-7200
NJ Coalition Against Sexual Assault
2333 Whitehorse Mercerville Rd. , Suite J
Trenton, NJ 08619
Hotline: 800-601-7200
Phone: 609-631-4450 (Office)
NJCASA Mission is to promote the compassionate and just treatment of survivors and their loved ones; and to change attitudes as we work toward the elimination of sexual violence against all people. - Statewide Domestic Violence HotlineProvides a statewide 24-hour, seven-day-a-week domestic violence hotline, 1-800-572-SAFE (7233), to serve domestic violence victims and others seeking information about domestic violence.
- WomensLaw.orgA project of NNEDV, providing legal information and support to victims of domestic violence and sexual assault.
Find a Lawyer
The Atlantic County Bar Association offers a Lawyer Referral Service that connects clients with attorneys. If you need an attorney in Atlantic County, NJ, please call 609-345-3444. You can get general referrals, or referrals based on ocation and specialty.
- NJ Lawyer ReferralLawyer referral provided for counties in New Jersey.
- Attorneys.comAttorneys.com is a professional service (part of Martindale-Hubbell) that is free of charge and specifically designed to connect people with the right lawyer for their legal need. Whether dealing with an Auto Accident, a Divorce, Child Custody, Bankruptcy, Personal Injury, DUI/DWI, or Criminal Defense, attorneys.com takes the guesswork out of finding an experienced lawyer that you can trust.
- Lawyer LocatorFind individual lawyers and law firms by area of practice and
location; also find ratings by peers.
Legal Assistance & Legal Research
- South Jersey Legal ServicesSouth Jersey Legal Services
1300 Atlantic Ave, Mezzanine Flr.
Atlantic City, NJ 08401
(609) 348-4200
Provides free legal assistance to low-income New Jersey residents for their civil legal problems. - Atlantic County Law Library1201 Bacharach Blvd
Atlantic City, NJ 08401
Located on 1st Floor. Enter on North Carolina Avenue (West Entrance)
(609) 345-6700
Open Monday-Friday 8:30am -4:30pm
Collection includes Annotated New Jersey Statutes. - New Jersey Judiciary Ombudsman ProgramAtlantic/Cape May Counties
Kathleen Obringer
Phone: 609-594-3346
In the Judiciary, the ombudsman is a staff person who answers questions, addresses concerns from the public and is responsible for improving customer service in the courts. - U.S. Law Library of Congress--How Do I FindThe guides listed here can help you begin a legal research project by offering quick techniques and a selection of legal resources and tools. Guides include Administrative Law, Beginner's Guide to Legal Research, Guide to Federal Statutes, and Researching Judicial Decisions and each one is prepared by a legal specialist from the Law Library of Congress.
Opinions & Decisions
- Open JuristProvides access to published United States legal opinions, Code and legal resources without charge.
NJ Resources
- You and the Law in New JerseySite from Legal Services of New Jersey. Provides practical information on popular topics such as Tenant's Rights; Disability; Family and Relationships and more. Also operates a statewide legal hotline, at 1-888-LSNJ-LAW (1-888-576-5529).
- How to Request Public RecordsThis site is the state's official OPRA website, designed to offer information about public records and to help the public access them. In order to get access to the correct public record you need to determine which state agency has the records. This site provides an alphabetical listing of state agencies, plus a listing of topics of interest and services provided.
- Rutgers Law LibraryContains useful Quick Links under Resources for the Public to the following:
New Jersey Case Law
New Jersey Statutes
New Jersey Administrative Law Decisions
New Jersey Housing Law and Policy Digital Archive
New Jersey Digital Legal Library
New Jersey Internet Research Guide - NJ Legal Practice FormsSince these forms were created for lawyers, they do not include instructions. However, although the forms are intended for use by attorneys, self-represented litigants are also allowed to use them, where appropriate.
- NJ Office of Attorney EthicsThe Office of Attorney Ethics handles attorney discipline and offers an Ethics/Fee Arbitration Hotline at 1-(800)-406-8594. After entering the zip code where the attorney is located, calls will be transferred to the appropriate district ethics committee Secretary to request grievance forms; forms can also be printed here.
Making a Will in New Jersey
Do I need a lawyer to make a will in New Jersey? No. You can make your own will in New Jersey, using Nolo's do-it-yourself will software or online will programs. However, you may want to consult a lawyer in some more complex situations.
What are the requirements for signing a will in New Jersey? To finalize your will in New Jersey:
- you must sign your will in front of two witnesses, and
- your witnesses must sign your will.
Do I need to have my will notarized? No, in New Jersey, you do not need to notarize your will to make it legal.
However, New Jersey allows you to make your will "self-proving" and you'll need to go to a notary if you want to do that. A self-proving will speeds up probate because the court can accept the will without contacting the witnesses who signed it. To make your will self-proving you and your witnesses will go to the notary and sign an affidavit that proves who you are and that each of you knew you were signing the will. For more information, please go to the following url: http://www.nolo.com/legal-encyclopedia/new-jersey-make-will-31805.html.
Living Will in New Jersey
In New Jersey, a Living Will is called an Advanced Directive. Here is the form, Instructive Directive (Living Will) [pdf 28k]
Completing an Advance Directive
Question: Do I need a lawyer to complete an advance directive? No, you can complete an advance directive on your own.
Question: Does my advance directive have to be notarized? No.
Question: Do I need a witness when I sign my advance directive?
Answer: If you have your advance directive notarized you don't need additional witnesses. Otherwise, you can choose to sign and date your advance directive in front of two adult witnesses who must also sign and date the document.
Police & Correctional Facilities
- Atlantic County Jail5060 Atlantic Ave.
Mays Landing, N.J. 08330
(609) 645-5855 - New Jersey Department of CorrectionsSearch for inmates via their Offender Search Engine.
Constitution
Represent Yourself in Court
Represent Yourself in Court
- Represent Yourself in Court: Self Help Resource CenterThe services offered here include general information about representing yourself in court, what the court can and cannot do for you, contact information, brochures, forms and kits. The New Jersey Judiciary prepared these materials for individuals who choose to represent themselves in some legal matters.
- Legal ResourcesFor learning about the law from the NJ Courts. Topics covered include: Child support guidelines; Landlord tenant claims; Sentencing guidelines and Special Civil Part.
- NJ Legal Practice FormsSince these forms were created for lawyers, they do not include instructions. However, although the forms are intended for use by attorneys, self-represented litigants are also allowed to use them, where appropriate.
Divorce in New Jersey
LSNJLAW Divorce in New Jersey: A Self-Help Guide
(Clicking here will take you to the legal services of New Jersey web site)
Note: Divorce forms kits are also available in the Atlantic County Superior Court (law library 3rd floor) or the Cape May County Courthouse Law Libraries.
Please see this website for some FAQs http://www.judiciary.state.nj.us/atlantic/dissolution.htm