Skip to main content

Environmental Resources: Environment

This guide provides a sampling of the materials available on this subject. To view more visit the library or browse the catalog.

Earth Day

Since America's first official Earth Day on April 22, 1970, New Jersey has become one of the leaders in recognizing environmental problems and developing creative solutions. The state was the third in the country to consolidate existing programs into a unified major state agency to administer environmental and conservation efforts. Established by law on that initial Earth Day, the NJ DEP began managing natural resources and solving pollution problems. Since 1970, Earth Day has been celebrated annually on April 22nd, both nationally and internationally.  For more information on Earth Day in NJ, please see http://www.nj.gov/dep/seeds/earthday/geninfo.htm.

Premium eResources

Magazines & Journals (Ebsco): Full text journals include: Atlantic Monthly, Atmospheric Environment. Ecodate, Ecological Engineering, Environment, Environmental Policy and Law, Mother Jones, Renewable & Sustainable Energy Reviews, Scientific America and Worldwatch

 

Green File: offers well-researched information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment. This includes content on the environmental effects of individuals, corporations and local/national governments, and what can be done at each level to minimize these effects.

 

Books, DVDs, and eBooks Not to Miss

EPA Hotlines

EPA Hotlines  http://www.epa.gov/epahome/hotline.htm
This page lists the many EPA 1-800 hotlines that are available. Includes links to hotlines dealing with asbestos, hazardous waste, pesticides, acid rain, small business help and more.  Some of the most popular hotlines include the following:

  • Drinking Water Hotline  Phone: 800-426-4791; Hours: 10:00 a.m.- 4:00 p.m. EST, Monday - Friday.  Type of Coverage: An Information Specialist will answer calls.  Description: The Safe Drinking Water Hotline provides the general public, regulators, medical and water professionals, and media, with information about drinking water and ground water programs authorized under the Safe Drinking Water Act.
  • Pesticides Hotline Phone: 800-858-7378 E-mail: npic@ace.orst.edu. Hours: 8:00 a.m. to 12:00 p.m. PST, Monday - Friday.  The National Pesticide Information Center (NPIC) provides science-based information about pesticides and pesticide-related topics to help people make informed decisions about pesticides and their use.
  • Toxics Release Inventory (TRI) Information Center Phone: 800-424-9346 (select option #3 from menu) - Toll Free; 703-412-9810 in the Washington, DC Area; Hours: 10:00 AM - 5:00 PM EST, Monday – Friday.  Type of Coverage: Staffed by live Information Specialists.

 

ACUA Earth Day 2014

ACUA Earth Day Festival, Sunday April 24, 2016, 10am to 4pm, Rain or Shine
Haneman Environmental Park
6700 Delilah Road
Egg Harbor Twp, NJ 08234
609-272-6950

This 26th Earth Day celebration will feature lots of free, fun and educational activities for everyone, including fishing, live turtles, raptors and animals from the Cape May Zoo, and music. The celebration has many new exciting events in addition to old favorites. Over 100 vendors, crafters and exhibitors will be part of the celebration! 

Animal & Endangered Species Websites

NJ Environmental Websites