This is the "Health Resources" page of the "Baby Boomer and Senior Resources" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Baby Boomer and Senior Resources   Tags: baby boomers, elderly, old age, senior citizens, seniors  

Last Updated: Jul 7, 2014 URL: http://acfpl.libguides.com/babyboomerresources Print Guide RSS Updates

Health Resources Print Page
  Search: 
 

Find a Doctor or Nursing Home

  • Hospital Compare
    This site from the U. S. Department of Health and Human Services provides data about the quality of care at more than 4,700 hospitals around the country. Search by zip code or city and state to access information such as how well local hospitals handle conditions like heart attacks and diabetes.
  • Medicare Physician Compare
    Search by location, name, or specialty. In addition, if you only want to see providers who accept the Medicare-approved amount as payment in full, click on the button that says Yes, only show providers who accept the Medicare-approved amount as payment in full.
  • NJ Medicaid--Programs for Aged, Blind, and Disabled
    People who are aged, blind and disabled may be eligible for one of the Medicaid programs listed: New Jersey Care... Special Medicaid Program for the Aged, Blind, and Disabled; Medically Needy Section of Medicaid for the aged, blind or permanently disabled; Long-term care for the aged, blind and permanently disabled; Waiver programs for receiving services in the community.
  • Nursing Home Compare
    Provides detailed information about every Medicare and Medicaid-certified nursing home in the US. Search by name, city, county, state, or zip code; Compare Quality using the Five-Star Quality Ratings, health inspection results, and nursing home staff data.
  • Hospice Directory
    Hospice is a concept of care designed to provide comfort and support to patients and their families when a life-limiting illness no longer responds to cure-oriented treatments. Hospice care neither prolongs life nor hastens death. The goal of hospice care is to improve the quality of a patient's last days by offering comfort and dignity. Hospice addresses all symptoms of a disease, with a particular emphasis on controlling a patient's pain and discomfort. To locate a hospice, search by city and state.
 

New Old Age

Loading Loading...
blank padding
 

Premium eResources

Health Source Consumer provides access to 80 full-text consumer health magazines, including Harvard Health Letter, Men's Health, Muscle & Fitness, Prevention, Vegetarian Times, and many more.

Health Source Nursing provides access to almost 550 scholarly full-text journals, with an emphasis on nursing and allied health.

Reference USA Find U.S. doctors and dentists by name, address, phone number, years of practice, medical school attended, primary speciality, and board certification.

Health and Drug Information

  • NJ Division of Aging and Community Services
    The NJ Division of Aging and Community Services has an online publication, Statewide Benefits for Older Persons, 2011, located at http://www.state.nj.us/health/senior/documents/statewide_benefits/statewide_benefit_2011.pdf. Or call 800-792-8820 (toll-free within NJ) for more information. For more information on local programs, please contact your local Area Agency on Aging; Atlantic County Atlantic, (1-888-426-9243 or 609-645-5965).
  • AARP Pill Identifier
    Unsure what your pill is? Enter one or more fields , e.g. imprint, shape, color, to identify it.
  • Consumer Reports: Best Buy Drugs
    This is a free public education service from the nonprofit Consumers Union that will help you talk to your doctor about prescription drugs, and find the most effective and safe drugs that also give you the best value for your money.
  • Alzheimer's Disease Education and Referral Center (ADEAR)
    The Alzheimer's Disease Education and Referral Center is a current, comprehensive, unbiased source of information about Alzheimer’s Disease. The ADEAR Center is operated as a service of the National Institute on Aging. Please visit the website or call 1-800-438-4380 for more information.
  • Senior Health
    NIHSeniorHealth.gov is the Web site for older adults. NIHSeniorHealth makes aging-related health information easily accessible for seniors, family members and friends looking for reliable, easy to understand online health information. This site was developed by the National Institute on Aging (NIA) and the National Library of Medicine (NLM), both part of the National Institutes of Health (NIH). This site features authoritative and up-to-date health information from Institutes and Centers at NIH. Health topics include general background information, videos, quizzes and frequently asked questions (FAQs), and new topics are added regularly.
 

Books & Audiobooks Not to Miss

Cover Art
A short guide to a long life - David B. Agus (Read by)
"One of the world's leading doctors and bestselling author presents the simple rules everyone should follow in order to live a long, healthy, and productive life.In his #1 New York Times bestselling book, The End of Illness, Dr. David B. Agus shared what he had learned from his work as one of today's most prominent cancer doctors and researchers, revealing the risks he takes in a field begging for innovations that can prolong not only the lives of cancer patients but anyone hoping to live long and robustly. Now Dr. Agus has turned his analysis into a practical and fun illustrated health guide for everyday living. Hailed by Vice President Al Gore as having developed "a dramatic new way that could lead to greatly improving the quality of life for millions, starting right now," Dr. Agus believes that our foundation for optimal health begins with the daily habits we keep--and that we can build upon that bedrock with inexpensive, widely accessible drugs that have been proven to work while ditching false promises, such as vitamins and supplements. A Short Guide to a Long Life is divided into three sections (What to Do, What to Avoid, and Doctor's Orders) that provide the definitive answers to many common and not-so-common questions: Who should take a baby aspirin daily? Are flu shots safe? Are vitamins bad for you? What is truly "fresh" produce? Dr. Agus' eye-opening responses will help you develop new, effective patterns of personal health care so you can maintain your health using the latest and most reliable science."

Cover Art
Canyon Ranch 30 Days to a better brain: a groundbreaking program for improving your memory, concentration, mood, and overall well-being - Richard Carmona
Synthesizing the cognitive science behind memory, sleep, stress, and addiction, Canyon Ranch’s 30 Days to a Better Brain is the definitive guide to caring for your brain, whether you’re approaching your elder years or still in your quarter-life crisis. Guiding you through the anatomy of the aging brain, how stress and toxins affect your mind, and the importance of sleep, Dr. Carmona lays out a thirty-day nutrition, exercise, and medical plan to help you achieve optimal brain health. You’ll also find answers to all your questions, including how your health is affecting your brain, what foods to eat and what to avoid, whether or not supplements are necessary, what important medical tests to ask your doctor about, and how best to challenge your brain. Also included are techniques for practicing mindfulness, meditation, and spiritual contemplation.

Cover Art
AARP great jobs for everyone 50+ : finding work that keeps you happy and healthy and pays the bills - Kerry Hannon
As Americans live longer and healthier lives, the desire to work longer—for the income, the mental engagement, or the chance to give back—has grown. In Great Jobs for Everyone 50+, author and personal finance, retirement expert Kerry Hannon shows the way, with compelling stories from people who've been there. Presenting the nitty-gritty details of available job opportunities, wages to expect, typical hours, and the qualifications and savvy needed to get hired, the book is filled with practical advice on how to prepare both professionally and financially to start out on a new adventure. Motivational, inspirational, and practical, Great Jobs for Everyone 50+ explains how to find part-time, temporary, work-at-home, or seasonal employment in profitable, rewarding jobs that can bolster retirement income.

Cover Art
The smart woman's guide to planning for retirement : how to save for your future today / - Mary Hunt
According to a 2012 survey, 92 % of women of all ages in this country don't feel they know enough to reach their retirement savings goals. For the woman who doesn't know where to start or would like a knowledgeable guide who speaks her language, financial expert Mary Hunt offers a comprehensive but approachable resource for saving and planning for retirement. Whether she feels entitled to retire at age 65, hopes she'll be able to stop working someday, or is convinced she'll never be able to retire, every woman will find real help in these pages. With her signature no-nonsense, energetic style, Hunt assures women that it's only too late if they don't start now. She clearly covers every aspect of retirement planning during every season of a woman's life, giving women the confidence they need to shape their futures.

Cover Art
What makes Olga run?: the mystery of the 90-something track star and what she can teach us about living longer, happier lives - Bruce Grierson
In What Makes Olga Run? Bruce Grierson explores what the success of a ninety-three-year-old track star can tell us about how our bodies and minds age. Olga Kotelko is not your average ninety-three-year-old. She not only looks and acts like a much younger woman, she holds over twenty-three world records in track and field, seventeen in her current ninety to ninety-five category. Convinced that this remarkable woman could help unlock many of the mysteries of aging, Grierson set out to uncover what it is that's driving Olga. He considers every piece of the puzzle, from her diet and sleep habits to how she scores on various personality traits, from what she does in her spare time to her family history. Olga participates in tests administered by some of the world's leading scientists and offers her DNA to groundbreaking research trials. What emerges is not only an uplifting personal story but a look at the extent to which our health and longevity are determined by the DNA we inherit at birth, and the extent to which we can shape that inheritance.

Finding Free or Low Cost Insurance in NJ

  • Atlantic County Prescription Discount Card
    The Atlantic County Prescription Discount Card is available to everyone who lives in Atlantic County; there are No income requirements; No age requirements, and there is Unlimited use for the whole family. The card can either be printed out online, or picked up from any Atlantic County Library system branch.
  • Getting Extra Help with Medicare Prescription Drug Plan Costs
    Anyone who has Medicare can get Medicare prescription drug coverage. Some people with limited income are also eligible for Extra Help to pay for the costs (monthly premiums, deductibles, and co-payments) related to a Medicare prescription drug plan. Apply online at www.socialsecurity.gov/extrahelp; or Call 800-772-1213 to apply by phone Or Apply at your local SSA office.
  • Medicare.gov
    Medicare makes it easy for you to get information. You can find answers to general questions about eligibility, coverage, compare health and drug plans, and on Medigap policies on this Web site. You can also apply online for Medicare at this site.
  • Medicare Part B Premium Assistance
    Assistance for qualified individuals to pay Medicare B premiums--the Specified Low-Income Medicare Beneficiary (SLMB) and SLMB Qualified Individual-1 pay partial or full Medicare Part B premiums for eligible New Jersey residents who are not financially eligible for the Qualified Medicare Beneficiary program under New Jersey Medicaid (also known as New Jersey Care).
  • NJ Medicaid
    To be eligible for New Jersey Medicaid, a person must meet these requirements: resident of New Jersey, U.S. Citizen or qualified alien, and meet income standards. In addition, an individual must fall into one of the following categories: families with children up to age 18, people who are aged, blind or permanently disabled, pregnant women, or children.
  • Pharmaceutical Assistance to the Aged and Disabled (PAAD)
    The Pharmaceutical Assistance to the Aged and Disabled (PAAD) program, PAAD provides coverage for prescribed insulin and insulin supplies. NJ residents who are aged 65 or older and meet income requirements for 2012 of less than $25,312 if single or less than $31,035 if married may be eligible for this program.
  • Senior Gold Prescription Discount Program
    Senior Gold Prescription Discount Program (Senior Gold) is a State-funded prescription program with a different co-payment structure and income eligibility guidelines than those of PAAD. NJ residents aged 65 or older who meet the 2012 income requirements of $25, 312 - $35, 312 if single or between $31,035 and $41,035 if married may be eligible for this program.
  • PAAD, Senior Gold and the Medicare Prescription Drug Program Coordination Information
    New Jersey's Department of Health & Senior Services has created this Web site to help Pharmaceutical Assistance to the Aged and Disabled program (PAAD) and Senior Gold Prescription Discount program (Senior Gold) beneficiaries and caregivers learn more about Medicare Part D and what it means for them. Call the Hotline at 1-800-792-9745 for more information and resources.
  • State Health Insurance Assistance Program (SHIP)
    The State Health Insurance Assistance Program (SHIP) provides free help to New Jersey Medicare beneficiaries who have questions about their health insurance. Call the SHIP Information Center at 1-800-792-8820.

Health Classes and Support Groups

Classes (including CPR & First Aid), support groups, and screenings for healthy living are offered here.

  • AtlantiCare
    Listing of all classes and support groups; most are free. Registration is encouraged for more information call 1-888-569-1000 (Mon-Fri 8:30AM-5:00PM) or register online.
  • Shore Memorial Hospital
    Search for a variety of wellness classes at a reasonable cost. Some free health screenings and support groups are also offered.
 

Feedback Box

Was this information helpful?

How useful is this page?
(1 = Not Useful, 5 = Very Useful!)

Additional comments:


Your Email:


Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip